We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach and Horses

Coach and Horses
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coach and Horses is a traditional village pub in the picturesque village of Abbots Bromley serving traditional and not so traditional home cooked food. Having recently been totally refurbished to a very tasteful standard it is a fabulous place to visit.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Coach and Horses is a great pub/restaurant set in a lovely village location. The menus are varied and interesting, with a tempting specials board. We visited recently to celebrate a special birthday and the food was just first rate. The "prawns pilpil" and "scallops, prawns and chorizo" were a huge hit with our party, as were the steaks and enormous mouthwatering pies. The food says homecooked and it actually tastes like it! We enjoyed it so much we have just returned for a sunday lunch and, again, we were not disappointed. The lunch was fab, lovely fresh veg, generous slices of meat and all the trimmings. Perfect.
Also must mention the staff. Everyone is genuinely lovely, so friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Can't wait for next visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Suze311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    64
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional freshly prepared food and homemade puds @ exceptional value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It would be fair to say the homemade fish pie is the nicest I've ever tasted and I will certainly be recommending it to my friends and family as I will the place..

The coach and horses really stands out set in a beautiful Staffordshire village, it's quirky original features and friendly warm welcoming atmosphere is so inviting.!

The food is amazing and affordable and the beautiful tempting home made desserts are such a tease!!

The owners and staff are friendly and can't seem to do enough for you.

The coach and horses comes highly recommended, and I can vouch for that!

Will I be going back?...have already rebooked! :-)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovemynomnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday Luch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited the newly refurbished restraunt for sunday lunch, we were not disapointed. The roast was first class, very hot and plenty to go round. Obviously we have booked to go there again. The staff were very friendly and helpful without being pushy. The restraunt has been very tastefully refurbished and other facilities were spotless. As we were sitting there the restraunt was filling up nicely so we are not the only ones who know thier secret. Well done

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All refurbished”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

A lovely homely pub, friendly staff give a warm welcome, good food & genuine Tapas if you just want a casual dining experience. The new decor is superb, well worth a visit and set in a very pretty village!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorriedStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tapas - What a Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My friend, Pisces Man was given the task of organising some where to go as we hadn't seen each other in a couple of months

Well he found this place and what an excellent surprise. He said he checked out trip advisor reviews so you could tell this was a proud moment for him as he done his research. :-)

It was a traditional but well decorated pub with aspects of modern too.

We looked at the menu and decided on tapas at £2.50 per dish. We ordered all 6 dishes and nachos for approx £4 and spanish prawn starter for £5.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and said we would go again.

It I had any negative comment it was that the 250ml wine was expensive at £5 and I think a touch too much garlic in the dishes, it is now 19.48 the next day and I still have a lingering taste. Definitely no smooching for me! lol

However, Pisces Man here is the formal recording that you requested that you made a decent choice of place to go - the company was as entertaining as ever ;-)

Already recommend to my friend today ., just warned about the garlic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

Cheadle, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing