We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming cosy b&b on a winters night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buttercross Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a lovely small b&b with only a couple of rooms. The owners have been very thoughtful and guest-centred in the design of this place.The room I stayed in had everything you could possibly want (including emergency toiletries in case you had forgotten your own). There was fresh coffee, an incredible range of teas and home made cookies waiting in the room....not to mention the plate of home made Brownies in the dining room...

The whole place feels fresh, clean and new. The beds are very comfy, and the breakfast was excellent...It's superb value for money and I can't think of a bad thing to say! I will be returning next month!

Room Tip: If you are tall, you may want to avoid the rooms on the upper floor, as they are in the eaves of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajsmithso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thanks for your kind comments and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, looking forward to seeing you in Jan and will make sure you have Buttercross which doesn't have the sloping roof! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 125 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

I arranged this accommodation after much searching around this area, trying to find something comfortable and clean in a nice place. This area of the country had been chosen because myself and two old school pals had got back in touch and wanted to meet up somewhere geographically central for the three of us.

Right from the moment I made the booking Jayne was thoroughly pleasant and organised and made me feel like it was going to be a good place to stay. I arranged to meet with Jayne in the early afternoon and then Jayne gave me the keys for the other two who were arriving later.

The place itself is lovely. Huge amounts of attention have been given to the decor and it has a womans touch without being at all fussy. The rooms were spotless and each one had a smart ensuite with shower, and as a bonus there was also an additional communal bathroom with a nice big bath. (I confess I took advantage of that before the others arrived!). Handily, the well-provisioned rooms are also equipped with bathrobes, so wandering around after a bath feels quite alright.

In the lounge area there was a Christmas tree, which complemented the little trees that seemed to be climbing the stairs, and a selection of teas, bottled water, and Jayne's homemade chocolate fudge brownies, which were delicious. I ate more than my fair share, obviously. Before going off to the pub we advised Jayne we would like breakfast at nine and left our completed breakfast forms in the lounge.

The next morning after a comfortable sleep - perhaps with a slight bit of traffic noise but very minor - we all rendezvous'd for breakfast which Jayne had started cooking (nice and quietly) and despite a large meal the evening before we all soon polished off a marvellous cooked breakfast washed down with fresh filter coffee.

Leaving such a lovely place was not easy. We agreed to come back again in Spring - this could be a regular event!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

It was great to have you and your friends to stay; we are getting more groups of friends coming because of our central location, also the fact that we don't live on the premises makes it feel as though the place is all for you for your stay! I look forward to seeing you in 2013 for your next get together :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everything you could wish for from the moment you are welcomed by Jayne. Fantastic interior design, very well appointed bedrooms and public areas. Comfy beds,white cotton linen and plump pillows, fluffy towels & robes, power showers, luxury shower gels, emergency bucket for those things you may have forgotten, pretty vintage crockery, fresh ground coffee, fresh milk, selecton of teas, home made cookies and brownies. Comfy lounge with i pod / deck & magazines, a house bathroom if you prefer a deep bath to your en suite shower.
Good choices and well cooked breakfasts. Lovely location over looking the village green and buttercross. Several places to dine out within a couple of mins walk.
A real find, excellent value, superb in every way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu-Abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

So glad you found us and that your trip down from Scotland was worth it! Thanks for your comments, its great when people appreciate the detail in the premises - I hope that it makes a difference to your stay and makes it all the more memorable. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We are five best friends who are dotted about the UK and we have a girls' weekend away together twice a year. I happened to stumble across Buttercross on Google looking for somewhere different to stay that was in the middle of us all. And what a find!!

Jayne provides the most wonderful welcome to a wonderful B&B. I can't wax lyrical enough about how superb Buttercross is. Jayne is the most friendly and accommodating host one could wish for. Nothing is too much trouble for her. The little touches in this B&B are what makes the place so exceptional. The Lush bathroom goodies, home baked brownies and cookies, fresh coffee and beautiful furnishings are wonderful. All of the bedrooms are extremely comfortable and so well set out. Jayne even includes an extension lead in each bedroom to make sure one can blow dry their hair in front of a mirror!

Jayne's breakfast was delicious and everything was cooked to order. There's fresh milk for tea and coffees in the bedrooms and a fridge in the breakfast room to store that well deserved bottle of wine or two.

We won't need to search for anywhere else to stay now for our weekends away. It's Buttercross B&B all the way for us now. We will be booking in again in six months' time.

Jayne, thank you so much for a fabulous weekend. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NidNad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

It was lovely to have you all to stay and I am so glad that it suited your needs so well! Looking forward to seeing you again in 2013 and will try and sort our some activities for you too - there is plenty to do and see in Staffordshire! Thanks for your kind comments x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent one night here with friends on our bi-annual girls night away. From the start we were welcomed by Jayne with open arms and gorgeous home made brownies. The b&b is beautifully decorated and has a home from home from feel.
Jayne was very knowledgeable about activities available in the area and couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. After a peaceful nights sleep we were given a gorgeous breakfast and we were sad to say goodbye. We are already planning our next visit back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

It was a delight to see you and your friends and I'm so glad that it suited your 'girlie get together'. Looking forward to seeing you all again in 2013 x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A delightful B&B, very tastefully decorated and with amazing attention to detail.

Good location in a pretty village and several good pubs for food within easy walking distance.
Good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thanks Nigel and look forward to seeing you again in December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a real gem. Beautifully appointed with great attention to detail - a range of all sorts of teas, real coffee on your bedroom tray and Lush bath bombs! I wished I could have stayed longer. The breakfast was wonderful and Jayne made sure that I felt really at home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thanks Eleanor - hope you manage a return visit that doesn't involve business, then you can really relax and take in Staffordshire's activities. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buttercross Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercross Bed and Breakfast

Address: Market Place, Abbots Bromley, Rugeley WS15 3BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley > Abbots Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbots Bromley
Price Range: $123 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to put emphasis on giving you all the friendliness, luxury and comforts of home, leaving you free to focus on enjoying the many delights that Staffordshire has to offer. So whether you are walking, cycling, sailing, horse riding, playing golf, visiting stately homes/theme parks or simply relaxing; discover why your stay at Buttercross will be one to remember by exploring our web pages; and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing