We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms but excellent service”
Review of Vanajanlinna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vanajanlinna
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Haemeenlinna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The image of the hotel was the reason why i decided to stay there. The nice bars and buautiful restaurant in the middle of countryside. At checkin staff was very polite and helpful which is not tipical of hotels in Finland. As i had left my glasses in the car they gave me a pair behind the counter so that i could fill out the registrationcard. My room was at a house ( ratsula) about 300 meters from the main building. This i knew in advance. I was shown from a map how to get there. After arriving to the correct building i was amazed by the beautiful entrance hall with antique furniture and big windows. As soon as i looked into the corridor where the rooms were i was disappointed by the looks of the doors. When i opened the door to my room i was still waiting to see something that i had felt in the entrance hall. To my disappointment the room was small, small windows high up in the wall. I felt like i had entered to a 3star hotel. Dirt in the room and the cleaning crew had left 2 mops on the floor next the the radiator. Furniture was worn and the bathroom tiles looked dirty. When i took a shower the showerfroor was croked and the water was also going to the floor next to the toilet and the sink. This meant that my wife would get her feet wet when doing her hair and makeup. Luckily we spent most of the night at the hotels restaurants and bars, where the service was excellent. We used the room only for sleeping and did not stay an extra minute inside. The chairs and tables in the lobby were so nice that we sat there talking with our friends before leaving the hotel. Breakfast was excellent and had a good variety and the quality was good. I would have wished that the staff could have walked around and poured more coffee/tea but as it was almost the end of breakfasttime they were clearing the tables for lunch. For the price we paid i think the hotelroom was very much overpriced. So when the rooms reach the same standard as the public areas we are willing to come back again. In the meanwile we will use other hotels in the area. They are not as good but the value for the money is in order.

Room Tip: If You need a quiet room You should book outside the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

We spent a weekend with four other couples at Vanajanlinna in late April. The expectations were higher than the reality that hit us once we arrived.

The main building itself is fancy and extraordinary by Finnish standards. We dont have too many of the similar style buildings in Finland. Something of a combination between luxurious hunting lodge and a small castle. Interior and design looks like and has the feeling of a good old manor house. Our rooms were very different in quality-wise, while some rooms were very modern and tidy, others had some "mileage" that you could definitely tell.

We did not use the golf option (also because the lanes were still closed just before May), but we did get to use dining and breakfast option as well as the sauna in the main building (there is another one by the lake). The sauna was good, but beer and longdrinks that were available for purchase were over 7,00 euros per bottle! Outrageous.

Dinner was good, but nothing fancy. I would definitely not label the dinner as fine dining, much rather a decent meal in slightly fancier setting. Also, some of the waiters were very courteous and nice while some younger ones clearly did not like of their chosen profession.

Unfortunately, "been there, done that" is close to the truth, I think the next time our group will choose another location for the weekend without kids.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Vanajanlinna is definitely worth a visit. Make sure you have a reservation for the restaurant, they have a lot of private occasions, weddings etc (e.g. Kimi Räikkönen). Hotel packages available for golf entusiastics for reasonable rates. 18 hole golf course is located in the very neighbourhood. Food and service in the castle restaurant are good, sophisticated dining in a historical castle which used to be a hunting castle for Rosenlew family, a remarkable part of Finnish aristocracy. The beautiful outdoor terrace is a perfect place for a predinner drink. Vanajanlinna is located in the city of Hämeenlinna. If you have time visit also the Vanajanlinna old castle and the special Museum of War history.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Great entity: old buildings and beauty parks, but do not look details inside.
They promise so much. We wote too much.

Our room was in building "Pehtoorila". Inside our room was poorly renovated.
It was also dirty in room. Spots on window and mirrow in room very dusty flowers on table etc..
Toilet was big, but there were brown spots on walls around toiletchair.
The door of bathroom was dirty.
Breakfest was very common. Chairs in restaurant were dusty.
We did not eat dinner in restaurant, because first evening we wanted to eat in room.
Our hamburgers with frenchfries were poor. Second evening we drove to Hämeenlinna to eat.
Colfcourse is great!! Dressingrooms in clubhouse are also great.
I am sure we come back to golf but we'll have accommodation in some other place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristiina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I expected Vanajanlinna to be luxurious and somehow distinguished manor house but was little disappointed. It is a big estate compared to other Finnish estates and yes there are high drawing rooms with sparkling chandeliers but something was missing. The rooms were big enough but not cozy. Toilet paper run out during my stay, and one from our group was not served dinner at all. The spa was closed the bar was the smallest ever!

Vanajanlinna is great for those who value peaceful atmosphere at the countryside and it's good for golf players. There are also lots of room for personal events such as wedding.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palooja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

There is some try in this hotel. It is a bit further away from the town centre, but the location or surroundings are nice. An old hunting villa on the lake. The main buildning has really air and great lake views. The food is also nice. A lot of the rooms are in annexes. My room was a spacious twin with quite narrow beds. A clean room, not bad but some holes on the walls etc. Not well maintained, perhaps. In the end, wouldn't mind visiting it another time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAJORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kahdessa erillisessä rakennuksessa tilavat sviitit ja päärakennuksessa tavalliset huoneet. Suosittel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkujari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haemeenlinna hotels
4.9 mi away
Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko
Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko
#5 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
129 reviews
3.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
3.5 mi away
Cumulus Hameenlinna
Cumulus Hameenlinna
#3 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotelli Emilia
Hotelli Emilia
#4 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
63 reviews
2.3 mi away
Katisten Kartano Hotel
Katisten Kartano Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haemeenlinna
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanajanlinna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanajanlinna

Address: Vanajanlinnantie 485 | Harviala, Haemeenlinna 13330, Finland
Location: Finland > Tavastia Proper > Haemeenlinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Haemeenlinna
Price Range: $163 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vanajanlinna 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Vanajanlinna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanajanlinna Finland/Haemeenlinna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing