We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romanctig get away in a awful room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Haemeenlinna
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Awful awful! The Sokos hotel chain has goteen worse and worse. But this one was the least admirable! We asked a quiet room and got one next to the lift. Our room was ike a badly heated Sauna and the "air conditioning" ( read: old, crampy, noisy table fan) did not help at all. The floor of the room was shabby, it had almost worn out and the walls were dirty. I almost felt like I couldn't sleep in the bed because of the dirty lookin bed sheets.
An the breakfast!!!!! Always the same, in every Sokos hotel I have been to! Why can't there be anything fresh or some local delicacies. It wouldn't be any more expencive.
I will not stay in this hotel ever again! For over 100 € per night I can get so much more! Pitiable!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMasalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaakunaHML, Service manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding to our hotel. Sorry to hear that your stay was not all that good in our hotel. It was a hot summer so it is always difficult with no air-conditioning in rooms. Hopefully we will be able to improve all these things mentioned as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were four persons last weekend, that spent our 2 night at this hotel. We were very disappointed to several things.
- there were NO aircondition. And outside in the shadow it was about 30 degrees. The rooms were too hot, and it was impossible to sleep.
-the second morning, we liked to eat our breakfast outside. The outside terrace were divided in two section. One outside of the restaurant to the streetside. One to the same side, but near the lake. The second one had a sign "closed" - and we understood they could not deliver any service there, but we decided to be our own servants and carry the dishes back after eating.

The place - was the best the Vaakuna hotel could offer after a very too-warm room during night. We sat in the shadow, and enjoyed our meal, and spoke about the wedding we had visited the night before. Then on of the waitresses - showed up, and asked us to move to the other terrace. Because it was forbidden to sit there when it was "closed". Also a person reading a book had to move. We tried to tell her that we vere all grown up over 50 + and we were not drunk - we can swim, and we did not have even the idea to jump in the water. Only we wanted to eat our breakfast and drive 300 km home this second hot day.

She insisted very policiar, or militaryan - that we had to immediately move. I must say this was the last time I wanted to sleep in this hotel. Or in a Vaakuna hotel. The class to handle such things in really under all critics. The Vaakuna could have done much more to keep their guests satisfied and show thrust to their capability to eat at a table set near with other tables near water.

This waitres, did really destroy our feeling of Hämeenlinna, our lust to come again, and we do not think that this staff had a good culture-climate to work, when they had to be rude to clients.

We do not come there again. And for Hämeenlinna this was not good. A small town like this, need all what they can get from tourists.

My true meeing and I do have a bonus card to this hotelchain. I will not use it here. or to Vaakuna again. Never. I was sad and hurted for the rest of the day. If this is the "LaW" we do need to change the stupid rules. We do understand that kind of rules in a night when people are drinking.. but not in a morning for sauber people..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghwoman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Pros: My room at the 5th floor was very peaceful and quiet, and the bed was better than average - also there were several different pillows to choose from, which is always nice. The location near the railway station was perfect for me, as I came late at night by train.

Cons: Nothing special in general. I stayed in one person room, which was a bit worn out already - the closet door would not close properly etc. Breakfast is very ordinary.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstaSoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 28, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Finnish hotel chains tend to represent a decent, but somewhat dull standard. This Sokos hotel stood out, nicely situated at the mid-town castle lake.

It's restaurant was above standard with a really good a not too pricy menu. The hotel featured a playroom for the kids, a sauna with an after-heat cabinet with a view over the lake. They also had a free, closed and quiet room with a computer with internet connections, a small working space with options to print documents if you needed that.

Travellers will find the local railway station just across a small square from the hotel with fast trains connecting you just about everywhere across the Finnish railway network.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Andelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaakunaHML, Iida, vastaanotto at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 311jannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaakunaHML, Vastaanotto, Iida at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haemeenlinna hotels
1.8 mi away
Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko
Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko
#5 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cumulus Hameenlinna
Cumulus Hameenlinna
#3 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
74 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vanajanlinna
Vanajanlinna
#1 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotelli Emilia
Hotelli Emilia
#4 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Katisten Kartano Hotel
Katisten Kartano Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haemeenlinna
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna

Address: Possentie 7, Haemeenlinna 13200, Finland
Location: Finland > Tavastia Proper > Haemeenlinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Haemeenlinna
Price Range: $133 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive five story hotel situated lakeside at Vanajavesi; 90 km from Helsinki-Vantaa HEL Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna Finland/Haemeenlinna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing