We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent location, bad food, utilitarian room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Theodul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Theodul
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent location, bad food, utilitarian room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is in a decent location and is perfectly "adequate" as a place to sleep while skiing. The problem is that it is not what it says it is. The food is horrible and even the apples in a bowl at reception were rotten. After 4 inedible meals and bad after skiing cake we politely complained and stopped eating there - although we remained obligated to pay for the half-board. It was clear other people were dissatisfied with the food.

The room is utilitarian but it lacks every possible amenity including glasses for water, a mini bar, adequate towels (towels were so old and thin that they were useless), enough pillows for our family (we were only given 1 per person even after asking for more.) The bathroom smelled of urine from the moment we arrived. I inspected the maid's cleaning cart and there was only one bottle of spray on it and it was in an unmarked bottle.

The hotel was not child friendly in many ways. They asked a guest to take their baby out into the cold outside because she was crying (nobody cared but the proprietor), the spa does not allow children under 16 and dinner was served after 8 pm. When we asked for food earlier they acted like they were giving us the moon and only handed the kids a bowl of bad spaghetti with a tablespoon of bolognaise (no salad, etc.) Finally, every brochure for the hotel waxes poetic about a "child's room." My children went down there and thought it was a joke. All that was in the basement playrooom was an old television that had a fuzzy screen, gross beanbag chairs and there were no games. All the other hotels we visited had video games, toys, other games, cool TVs, furniture, etc.

If you are looking for an adequate room in a decent location and you do not care about anything else, this is the place for you. We are absolutely dumbfounded as to how this hotel is rated #4 on Tripadvisor......

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    12
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed as a family on a week's ski trip and were treated to fantastic hospitality, great and varied food menu and wonderful service.
The hotel is family run, extremely friendly and ideally placed.
Kids were happy
We loved it and would have no hesitation in going back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHarald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We just spent one night for a 2-day ski holiday. When we arrived we received a warm welcome from Philipp. He took care of our bags, our skis, and showed us to our room and later that day spent a good 20 mins with me reviewing the ski map to find the best slopes to take my beginner and anxious friend skiing. I can't begin to tell you how precious that information was to me because I wanted to make sure my friend was going to have a positive and safe experience. The next day we proceeded as he suggested and we had no regrets. As for the hotel here is my assessment.
PROS: cozy and very clean room with lots of storage space which comes in handy in the winter (ski outfits, coats, bulky clothes,etc). The ski room is very comfortable with lots of sitting room to put your boots on and an easy access in and out. The dinner served at the restaurant was very good and just the right amount to satisfy your appetite without filling you up so much that you feel uncomfortable. Breakfast has all that one can wish for; excellent muesli, vast selection of breads and cereal, scrambled eggs, etc. The soup or cake served between 3 and 5pm as well as the box of chocolates in the room are a nice touch. The staff speaks excellent English and readily available. Indoor parking is free of charge and just around the corner from the hotel. We did not use the Wellness so I can't comment on it. I also liked the fact that it was far enough from the centre of Lech where there is not as much noise.
CONS: A short walking distance from the first chairlift to the hills for those who would prefer to be right next to the hills or the chairlift. Still, if you come down the gondola that is past the church and you want to head back to the hotel you can still avoid a good part of the walk by hopping on the bus which is what we did at the end of the ski day.

Room Tip: We had room 20 which is a corner room that offers a great view of the mountains and part of the vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZurichPizazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from our annual ski trip to the Alps. The Hotel Theodul in
Lech, Austria provided us with the the warmest memories and service. The Family Walch greeted us daily and with their staff always saw to our needs. The atmosphere was always one of being in a home, not a hotel. Austrian hospitality was felt at every turn. Breakfast and dinner each day was a delight. The hotel is just a pleasant short walk to the ski lifts and the village center. Ski and boot room facilities, with boot warmers, made the start of each ski day very easy. A last-minute change of plans on departure saw the owner and staff quickly jump into action arranging necessary connections. I have not seen such personal attention in all my years of travel abroad. We would absolutely look forward to returning to the Hotel Theodul in Lech on a future trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutry, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

So many positive things to say! Rooms are very cosy, good size with many wardrobes, super friendly staff and owners, always happy to help, welcoming you each time with a very nice smile; excellent cuisine was served in the restaurant, very delicate and inventive 4-course menu. Considerable flexibility shown from the restaurant concerning the Halfboard, we could decide last minute if we joined or not. Buffet breakfast was rich. Big skiroom. Very nice spa although always crowded between 4 and 5pm. Memorable stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmercier66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Hus Hörili which is not actually at the hotel but are fully equiped flats owned maintained and rented out by the hotel just a couple of 100 meters from the hotel.

The check in at the hotel was very friendly as was the check out. Other than this we did not have a lot of contact with the hotel staff apart from the people cleaning our rooms.

The chalet we stayed at was sufficient but could have been so much better.

The rooms are big enough but no real effort was spent making something out of the rooms. Everything was basic.

The kitchen was ill equipped with just enough plates to get you trough a one course meal, not enough pans (I had to go and buy one myself) and a fridge which is too small if you want to do some real cooking.

The parking is at 200 meters which makes you drag all your skiing gear to and from at least twice a day.

There is a sauna available but this one needs to be reserved and someone has to come over to switch it onThis is only practical if you want to plan everything days ahead.

The hallway is simply too hot with temperatures between 25 and 30°c. Walking up and down the stairs in winterclothing is not a pleasant experience.

The terrace is small with no sunshine (at least not in wintertime)

Other than that the rooms are OK, The bed- and bathrooms are acceptable, everything is well maintained.

But, the way the rooms are now, this is not the right value for the money you spent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I spent a memorable 4 days at the Theodul In Austria. All reviews are right, great location, friendly family atmosphere, helpful, layed back, comfortable beds, great views from balcony. Good yummy breakfast. Very simple and natural.
I found this hotel a great place to prepare yourself to the hundred walks Lech and the surrounding villages have for nature lovers like me. The Welch family is actively involved in the numerous activities you can do. Martina use to guide me every morning through my itinerary of walks, and grant me with a beautiful smile. Her chidlren where either on their bikes, or behind the desk helping you in any way possible they could.
I will return to Lech again, there is too much beauty in this region of the Alps that i did not see, and Theodul is a perfect place to start!

Room Tip: Double rooms and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Langoustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#9 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#3 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#6 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#44 of 51 in Lech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Theodul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Theodul

Property: Hotel Theodul
Address: Omesberg 332, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#15 Spa Hotel in Lech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Theodul 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar 4 star hotel in the heart of Lech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Theodul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theodul Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing