We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fabulous hotel thoroughly recommended”
Review of Hotel Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gotthard
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Just spent a week skiing with my wife at this fabulous hotel in the wonderful village of Lech in Vorarlberg, Austria. We decided on this particular hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor and we were definitely not dissapointed.

The hotel has great facilities with a super swimming pool and spa area although we did think that it would be better to have a seperate jacuzzi in the spa area as well as the one at the end of the swimming pool....but only a personal prefference.

We chose the half board option including a 5 course meal every day with a choice of 3 main courses, one always being vegetarian. Breakfast was from the buffet with everything you could wish for including the most tasty scrambled eggs and ommelettes I have ever tasted. There were also so many varietys of bread freshly baked in the adjoining bakery ....dont visit if you are concerned about your weight , the cakes and pastries are irresistable.

There is a very cosy bar area with a fire although this is gas rather than the more traditional wood burning types found in many hotels.

The bedrooms are very comfortable with good sized beds and plenty of storage space for a complete wardrobe of ski wear including a cupboard to store ski bags and cases. The rooms were sometimes a little warm during the night even with the window open and the radiators turned off . The ski storage area was also very well laid out with plenty of heated boot pegs and a very good system for holding skis.

Like others who have reviewed this hotel, we were a little concerned about the position relative to the ski lifts but its only a fairly short walk to the main lift area. The walk to the Oberlech cable car at the other end of the village however is a little longer for any nervous beginner wishing to start on the relatively easier slopes above Lech.

The Hotel is however in a quiet area sufficeintly far (but not too far) from the Apre-ski bars.

All in all we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a skiing holiday in Austria..........

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaykay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 225 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2010

lovely hotel,comfortable bedrooms,beautiful spa/swimming pool,very clean,staff very pleasant as are the owners,Clemins and Nicole Walsh.
Ideally situated in lech for everything.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coleen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a wunderfull hotel with a very nice staff and personel. The parking inside is free, they even park your car there themselves if you want to. The rooms have a great view at the mountains and the city. Every day your bedlinnen is changed twice. The food in the restaurant is exquiusite ! Also in the Lecher Stube, at the side, the food is excellent. Try the Cheese Fondue and the Wiener Schnitsel. Take the free ski-bus to Zürs, Stuben or Stubenbach. In short : You get a smile from everybody in this fantastic hotel. Try it out.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skilover328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I came in the Gotthard in my teenager years with my grandparents. The breakfast is the best you can wish. I've been to many good hotels in the world but nothing can beat the Gotthard breakfast :) It's also perfect for lunch or a snack in the afternoon. The dinner in evening is also very good. Since a few years they have an indoor pool with a very large & welness area. Different sauna's, infra-red cabine, lounge area,... Staff & family are very friendly. Underground parking garage for your car. Playroom for the kids,...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skiingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We love this place! It is the second time we've stayed there. The front desk staff is wonderful - always smiling, always available, always ready to answer questions and help. The rooms are clean and birght with plenty of space to put your suitcase, store your clothes, etc. Besides robes and slippers and a large umbrella, there's a back pack for day hiking included as a room amenity! A service of the hotel is a hiking guide! The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit small, but there is plenty of shelf space to put your toiletries, cosmetics, etc on. There's no mini fridge, but we put our drinks on the balcony and they stayed sufficiently cold. We took the B&B option as there are a number of good restaurants in Lech to try. The hotel restaurant and cafe are very good too and a good option on a rainy night. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mizella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This was the most wonderful trip ever! I loved the quality of service, thier motto is "We are friends, We are family, We are home! That is exactly how they make you feel! And the countryside is absolutely amazing! I cannot say enough about the wonderful quality of the water, both drinking and bathing, they should find a way to bottle it! The air...so pure, the scenery remarkable! Nature at it's finest! The Family that runs the hotel is wonderful! Clemmons makes the best breads in the world, and he supplies 5 villages, he bakes for ALL!
The food was remarkable, The finest quality dairy, cheeses, butters, etc. Top notch, from grazing cows! And although Austria is known for thier schnapps, I absolutely loved thier wine, known only to that region of Austria! And I have to find somewhere to purchase the Teekanne English breakfast tea and Multivitamin juice! A wonderful morning reminder of this fantastic trip! I honestly cannot say enough about Hotel Gotthard! Everyone must visit Lech, Austria at least once in their lifetime, and you'll want to return year after year! Many of the guests at Hotel Gotthard do just that...they have guests returning for the last 50 years every year! I want to become one of those guests! I loved my stay! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LechLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Located on the main street a minute from the main cablecar. All staff very friendly , helpful and welcoming. Spa shop opposite for any shopping needs. Stayed in a junior suite with balcony, Austrian twin bed and very comfortable double sofa bed. Plenty of room for ourselves and 2 children. Good sized bathroom with 2 washbasins and again plenty of storage/space. Towels changed twice daily if necessary and nightly turndown service. Bathrobes and slippers provided. Food excellent - large buffet breakfast with hot and cold food including home baked bread from inhouse bakery. Excellent Dinner also with some buffet. Packed lunches (if you have room!) available but if you travel with Crystal Lakes and Mountains they are included. Welcome drink with the owners/staff one evening and an Austrian evening. On weekdays they have their own walk leader who is really good. Once weekly there is a mountain breakfast where you take the cable car up and walk a gentle 1 hour along/down to their mountain hut where the same hot and cold buffet breakfast is served. After breakfast there was a choice of walking down or continuing up high with the leader. Good pool/sauna area with an adults only spa area. One evening there was a slideshow organised by the Tourist information held at the hotel. Free bikes available too. There is also a childrens playroom with bits for younger ones and a climbing wall and table football. Village gives all hotel guests a local card giving free cable cars, chairlifts, local buses, 3 hole golf course, outdoor pool, minigolf, pitpat etc
A fantastic hotel - can`t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank familyb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#3 of 53 in Lech
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#1 of 53 in Lech
211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#11 of 53 in Lech
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#27 of 53 in Lech
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#5 of 53 in Lech
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#22 of 53 in Lech
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotthard

Address: Omesberg 119, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lech
#6 Spa Hotel in Lech
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#9 Family Hotel in Lech
Price Range: $186 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Gotthard 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at the Hotel Gotthard is really something to look forward to: just step outside and you'll find yourself in the middle of our wonderful Lech summer or winter. And everything you need is just a stone's throw away - lifts, boutiques, shops, restaurants and bars. All within a few minutes' walk. We're there for you from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. On coming through the door, an atmosphere of peace and relaxation greets you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotthard Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing