We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent in all respects” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gotthard
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent a week here in March for our skiing break. The hotel was spotlessly clean, warm (a little too warm) and very welcoming. The four course dinner menu changed daily and always included a vegetarian option. The breakfast buffet was amazing - so much choice and the best array of breads we have ever seen. The staff were polite, informative, helpful and friendly.

The hotel is situated close to the ski lifts (less than five minute walk), shops, bars and restaurants. Yet far enough away to be peaceful and relaxing. The family also have a wonderful bakery and cafe attached to the hotel.

Highly recommended, we are considering a spring/summer break there in the future as Lech itself is a lovely "Dorf" and great for walking in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    32
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
77
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Gotthard is our favourite hotel we have stayed here 5 years in a row & are booked for 2013, looking forward to our return already! Our whole family love it (21yr old, 18 yr old & a 13yr old). This year our family room had been refurbished to the highest standard, beautiful fabrics (Designer Guild), the bathroom & toilet very tasteful with a fantastic shower, we just wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lech.

The staff speak good English & are very welcoming. Nicole & Clements the owners are very hands on & can be seen working about the hotel most days.

We stay B&B taking advantage of the very flexible HB arrangement - just make sure if you want to eat in hotel you book in advance at reception.

The pool & spa area are beautiful & well maintained there is also a small gym. Free WiFi is available in your room just ask for code at reception. I can't think of anything I would change in this hotel but if I was really pushed maybe a kettle in the room would be good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella10262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel met or exceeded all our expectations. It is situated about 3 minutes walk from the cable car station and 5/6 minutes from chairlift; also the bus stop is directly outside the hotel for connection with Zurs, St Anton and Stuben.
The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. The food was superb at breakfast and Dinner. Our double room was very clean and spacious although the bathroom was rather small as mentioned in an earlier review. Our balcony faced south west and enjoyed lovely afternoon sunshine.
Would not hesitate to recommend and will certainly return.

Room Tip: If travelling in Spring time be sure to ask for a sunny aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Just returned from 1 week ski vacation in Lech. Hotel Gotthard had come highly recommended by friends in the UK and we were not disappointed. Our room was spacious, well appointed and connected to a junior room for our 14 year old son, a perfect arrangement for all! The staff were helpful, courteous at all times and spoke English very well. Unbeknown to us, a pair of our son's boxers found their way into the hotel laundry and were returned freshly washed before we had even missed them! We took the b & b option and the large buffet style breakfast was the perfect set up for a day on the ski slopes. We liked the fact, however, that you could choose to have the half board menu for the evening meal on a daily, pay as go basis. The pool and spa areas were spotless and we used them every day! The ski room was secure and the boot warmers a lovely treat. The hotel is conveniently situated in the beautiful village of Lech, close to to the ski lifts, shops and restaurants. The only negative thing we found was that the heating for the rooms could not be adjusted in the room and ours were a little hot at night. This could easily have been remedied by leaving the window open however, as our rooms were at the front this was too noisy for us, We have requested a room at the back for our next stay as we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful week at the Gotthard. All the reviews praising this hotel were spot on. We could not fault the location, staff, rooms, amenities or food. We only had half board on our first night but ate in the a la carte restaurant a further 3 nights. All meals were excellent. At breakfast we were spoilt for choice. We also sampled the sandwiches from the bakery which were of a high standard and great value. The pool and spa areas were clean and felt luxurious. Maid service was excellent. We can't wait to go back next year!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We decided on Hotel Gotthard on reading tripadvisor recommendations and we were delighted with our stay. The rooms are modern and the bed very comfortable - some people have said the bathrooms were too small but we found them fine as the WC was separate, the rooms were also nice and dark and not noisy if the door was shut - we did face the road so the view was from the side of the hotel. We did spend our first night facing the slopes in another hotel which did spoil it ever so slightly as the mountain veiws are exquisite. Our breakfasts were outstanding with gorgeous breads from the in house bakery, the dinners we ate on 4 occasions were also top class. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We ate out a few nights and can highly recommend Huis no 8 across the road from the hotel and also the horse drawn sleigh ride through the forest to Alpele restaurant - its what fairy tales are made of. We caught the taxi from Zurich and took the Alberg Express back - both excellent. We will most certainly be back for a couple ski week in the future. Do try the new Moet & Chandon new Ice Imperial on the slopes - simply sublime on a nice sunny day - Enjoy we did.

Room Tip: we had a side view room over quite a busy road so I would recommend the rooms that face the garden a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just spent 2 amazing weeks at the hotel Gotthard. We were not half board but ate in the a la carte restaurant some nights and then other nights out in other restaurants that the hotel kindly reccomended! Breakfast had a great choice for everyone, cereal, yohgurt, fruit, breads, pastries, cheese, ham etc. The staff are all brilliant and go out of their way to help you in any way they can. Rooms are lovely and the pool and spa area we very well kept and very clean, infact this is true of all of the hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend this hotel to anyone. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helloeverybody, Owner at Hotel Gotthard, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your reveiw. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday in Gotthard. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We are very lucky this year with a great, friendly crew.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 52 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#2 of 52 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#4 of 52 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#3 of 52 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#44 of 52 in Lech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#7 of 52 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotthard

Property: Hotel Gotthard
Address: Omesberg 119, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#8 Spa Hotel in Lech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#9 Family Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Gotthard 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at the Hotel Gotthard is really something to look forward to: just step outside and you'll find yourself in the middle of our wonderful Lech summer or winter. And everything you need is just a stone's throw away - lifts, boutiques, shops, restaurants and bars. All within a few minutes' walk. We're there for you from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. On coming through the door, an atmosphere of peace and relaxation greets you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, seekda GmbH, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotthard Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing