We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon”
Review of Der Berghof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Der Berghof
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Berghof for our honeymoon and we had the most amazing time. Food was excellent, service was fantastic and when I was ill one day I was given a hot water bottle by the owners, a lovely touch which reflects the hotel as a whole. The rooms were impeccably clean, the room serviced so discreetly and most importantly in a ski resort, there was lots and lots of hot water! Only downsides would be the pillows but we did ask for alternatives which were promptly provided. This hotel will exceed your expectations.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 239 which was the Omeshorn Deluxe I believe. It's been upgraded in decor since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind and appreciated lines. We are delighted to you have chosen Der Berghof for your honeymoon and that you enjoyed it so much. It would be our great pleasure to welcome you on another occasion again! With warm regards, Stefan Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 245 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Berghof is a lovely hotel. They really think of everything for your comfort - from the illuminated height adjustable make-up/shaving mirror to the heated rack for your ski boots. The food is very high quality and the service attentive and friendly. The location couldn't be better - it is above the village so is quiet but with a lift which takes you straight into the town centre where you only have to cross the road for the main slopes. It is our favourite ski hotel in our favourite resort.

Room Tip: The Omeshorn rooms are a good size with a seating area and large south-facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186361Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear guest, we thank you very much for your kind statement on Tripadvisor and much appreciate your feed-back. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and it would be our big pleasure to welcome you again. With warm regards, Stefan Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Hotel der Berghof is a member of the ' Chateaux & Hotels Collection ' , a community of passionate hoteliers and this passion is clearly mirrored in the luxurious yet intimate and homely environment of the hotel. Although I've previously stayed twice in a 5 star hotel in Lech, the 4 star superior Berghof exudes greater charm and friendliness. It's ideal for those who enjoy fine cuisine and excellent wine - although very few of us could afford some of the gems in the wine cellar ,i.e. Ch. Cheval Blanc 2006, Ch. Margaux 2006, Ch. Lafite Rothschild 2006. Thankfully, for those without deep pockets, there are many sublime Austrian wines at a fraction of the price for wine legends.

The quality of the hotel is also demonstrated daily by staff who are very efficient and provide service with a smile, sometimes even remembering your name. Upon arrival, within 5 minutes there was a bottle of good champagne and that set the happy tone for the whole week.

The spa with its 4 saunas also deserves praise for au naturel relaxation. There ' quiet room ' is a haven where falling asleep is easy after a tough day of skiing.

Like so many , I've become a Berghof fan and , as a ski enthusiast, look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barebum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear guest, we thank you very much for your great feed-back and the efford you took to quote this statement on Tripadvisor. Your words and lines are much appreciated and we have of course shared this with the whole Berghof Team. We are delighted to read, that your stay was such an enjoyable one. We cant wait to spoil you again at the Berghof! With kind regards, Stefan Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

First class hotel in first class ski resort. Excellent cuisine. Friendly and caring staff. Wonderful skiing holiday hotel experience in modern excellent surroundings. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your positive feedback on your stay with us last winter. We are pleased to read, that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look much forward to welcoming you again at the Berghof and remain meanwhile, with kind regards from Lech, Stefan Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Berghof on our trips for the past 7 years. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere; the staff are attentive, but lively and full of character. It is always a joy to stay there. Friends who have stayed there at our recommendation also say that were beautifully looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patnivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014
Google Translation

Geschätzter Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre geschätzten Zeilen. Es freut uns sehr, dass Ihnen Ihr Aufenthalt im Berghof so gefallen hat und wir würden uns selbstverständlich freuen, Sie bei Gelegenheit wieder in unserem Haus verwöhnen zu dürfen. Mit besten Grüßen, Stefan Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My only reservation about sharing my views of the der Berghof is that by doing so I may increase it's popularity and make it more difficult for me to get a room. My wife and I have stayed at der Berghof approximately twice a year for the past five years. It is now more of a home away from home. We have stayed at, or been entertained in, other hotels in Lech over the years - The Gasthof Post, the Kiristianna, and the Almhof Scheider - all are good but none as intimate as der Berghof. The food is excellent and inventive, the staff are remarkably thoughtful, the spa is especially good after a day on the slopes, and the whole experience is tremendously relaxing. Isabelle and Stefan take an interest in their guests and their comfort, and if you may also meet Stefan's dad Peter who can tell you about Lech in the old days before royalty arrived. In my perfect world, my family and I live at der Berghof from December to April. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Try to get an Omeshorn room, facing the mountain by the same name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoCarolinaAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest, it is lovely to read that you enjoy the Berghof so much and we would like to thank you for your very much apreciated feed-back which we are delighted to share with our team. We hope to be able to welcome you many more times with us to spoil you with our usual service. Meanwhile, all the very best from Lech, Stefan Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have stayed at Der Berghof three times now and intend to be guests for many years to come. As visitors tot he Arlberg region for almost 15years we have tried a lot of accommodation over the years but have to say that Stefan and Isabelle have managed to create something special.

Our visits have been with our two children aged 4 and 7. We stayed in a Seekopf / Hasenfluh combination and really could not have asked for more in terms of space, convenience, comfort and practicality. We have not stayed in the 'original' part of the hotel so can't speak to rooms there.

The location is excellent. The proximity to the two main lifts (one to Zurs, one to Lech) is very convenient and walkable with skis and children in 5mins. The main nursery slope for children and skischule is even closer.

The food is first rate, the staff are warm and children are not just tolerated but welcomed.

The spa and relaxation area is very good and, although there is no pool, there are plenty of very enjoyable post-ski relaxation options. The sauna, steam room and relaxation areas are all very modern and well appointed.

In terms of value, the Berghof is excellent for the price. There is no denying that accommodation Lech is expensive but the Burger family clearly take immense pride in the product they offer clients (many of whom seem to have been regulars for many, many years). When they describe it as a family run hotel this is no exaggeration. Stefan and Isabelle are always highly visible, quick to get involved and are seen taking their family meals in the restaurant most days. For a hotel of this size this sense a very positive message to their guests.

Overall, we can't say enough about the Berghof or the staff that make the stay so special. We are looking forward to next season already.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RyanOGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your very much appreciated feedback as well as for the involved time.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Berghof so much. You my rest assured that our service quality is our highest priority! It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again among our guests. With warm regards, Stefan Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 52 in Lech
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#1 of 52 in Lech
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#7 of 52 in Lech
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#9 of 52 in Lech
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#24 of 52 in Lech
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#8 of 52 in Lech
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Berghof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Berghof

Address: Dorf 161, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lech
#2 Spa Hotel in Lech
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lech
Price Range: $403 - $915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Der Berghof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berghof in Lech is a member of the renowned group "Idyllic Places" and has been a treasured destination for discerning guests throughout the world. A place where modern and traditional blend to a stylish ambience. Guests enjoy the privileged location of our house: in the heart of Lech yet still enjoying quiet surroundings. An exclusive elevator brings you directly from the village into the hotel in complete comfort. Lech is a place which has, despite its international flair, not lost anything of its immense hospitality as it also is with the Berghof where guests find their personal home away from home. In our stylish and serenely designed rooms, comfort and aesthetic bond in the most wonderful way. Enjoy selected culinary specialities while gazing over the fascinating mountain. Relax in our exquisite garden and inhale the crystal clear mountain air! Refresh and revitalise your body and mind in our luxurious SPA & Beauty "der bergquell". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Der Berghof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghof Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing