We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!”
Review of Der Berghof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Der Berghof
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

great accommodation, outstanding food! heavily recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

the best experience ever, highest possible review. don't even think about it - just go

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Berghof is an outstanding hotel in the heart of phenomenal skiing in the Alps. I stay at many fine hotels regularly for business and can say that the experience here was second to none. This trip was a family vacation and everyone had a great time and excellent experience at the Berghof. The rooms were clean, spacious and very well appointed. My wife and I had a room conveniently adjoining to our kids room. All of the meals were first class including a phenomenal breakfast buffet spread with almost anything one could want, and multi-course gourmet dinners with fine dining selections for any tastes, all prepared to perfection. The hotel is virtually beside (less than a 2 minute walk to) multiple lifts or gondolas for the ski hills. The spa includes multiple options from a steam room and relaxation room to various saunas depending on personal preferences. The spa was a great way to unwind after an action-packed day on the slopes. The staff were all very friendly and extremely attentive to our every whim. We would unconditionally recommend the Berghof to anyone considering a family vacation in Austria.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vernon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

For our Ski Vacation this year, we stayed again at the Hotel Berghof in Lech am Arlberg. I would have difficulty to find anything negative to say. The location could not be better: you have an in-house elevator which gets you down to street level, 50 yards from the main street and less than 200 meters from the ski area and ski rental shops. Yet the hotel is overlooking the town and ski areas. The rooms were very nice and clean, the service was good and friendly, and the food was first-class - on many nights with very pleasant and sufficiently soft piano music. What else could you want in a hotel. Yes and there is a spacious spa area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dankwart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at der Berghof. Best regards from Lech
Isabelle & Stefan Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have been staying at the Berghof for the past 15 years - the hotel is an absolute delight and under the management of the young Burgers continues to go from stregngh to strength. Lech is a fab ski resort and we would not consider staying at any other hotel. The food is the highlight and this summer the kitchens are to be extended and renovated. The hotel has an ongoing refurbishment programme and every year sees some upgrading. There is a wonderful new spa to relax in after a hard day on the slopes. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Omeshorn rooms are brilliant with south facing balconies and extra seating are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Yes, we try to do our best to make der Berghof a very special little place in the heart of Lech :-))

Would be our pleasure to welcome you again next winter.
Kind regards form Lech (still covered with over 2m of snow...)
Isabelle & Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

It was only this year that my husband and I realised we have holidayed at the Berghof for ten years. The Alberg resort and the skiing is amazing, but in truth that is not why we go back. It is the hotel that really makes it feel like an incredible break. The owners are nothing short of brilliant, they work so hard to make the experience enjoyable and employ only the best staff. The rooms are great, well thought out (you never have that - where am I going to hang all my stuff up - feeling). The attention to the design and fittings is more than I have seen anywhere in the world. The food is excellent, without being too intense and the Spa and Gym are there with the best. Also, they continue to invest in the hotel, every year we go, something is new, which is one of the reasons it is so remarkable. I am normally a big critic of hotels, as we travel a lot but I could not recommend the Berghof highly enough to guests.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the village are always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DubaiGirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your rating. It's always a pleasure to have you among our guests. Next week, when our winter season ends, we already start with the construction of our new kitchen and back of the house, which is also very important. So, when you come next winter you might not see any changes, but you'll definitely recognise them, as with the new kitchen we will further improve the quality and choice of our evening meals...

best wishes to you
Isabelle & Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was our first time at the Berghof in Lech and it was an absolute pleasure. The staff were friendly and could not do enough to assist. They even found us a ski guide at the last minute which is almost impossible in Lech. The hotel had a lovely ambience; the food was delightful; the cocktails great; it was so nice to have a buzzy attentive bar area; the rooms were bright and spacious; the only thing lacking was drawer space in the bedrooms but it was not a big problem. Having previously stayed at a ski in ski out hotel the access from and to the Berghof was no problem it being literally 2 minutes from the ski lifts. We have already pre booked for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collywobs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Inhaber at Der Berghof, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. Yes you are right, we know about the limited storage space in some of our rooms. We are currently adding additional drawers underneath the beds. But we are not yet done with that in all our rooms. That's why we offer the possiblity to have stored away all empty bags and suitcases during your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again next year :-))
best regards
Isabelle & Stefan Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#1 of 53 in Lech
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#26 of 53 in Lech
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#12 of 53 in Lech
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#24 of 53 in Lech
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#34 of 53 in Lech
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#5 of 53 in Lech
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Berghof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Berghof

Address: Dorf 161, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lech
#3 Spa Hotel in Lech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lech
Price Range: $529 - $970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Der Berghof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berghof in Lech is a member of the renowned group "Idyllic Places" and has been a treasured destination for discerning guests throughout the world. A place where modern and traditional blend to a stylish ambience. Guests enjoy the privileged location of our house: in the heart of Lech yet still enjoying quiet surroundings. An exclusive elevator brings you directly from the village into the hotel in complete comfort. Lech is a place which has, despite its international flair, not lost anything of its immense hospitality as it also is with the Berghof where guests find their personal home away from home. In our stylish and serenely designed rooms, comfort and aesthetic bond in the most wonderful way. Enjoy selected culinary specialities while gazing over the fascinating mountain. Relax in our exquisite garden and inhale the crystal clear mountain air! Refresh and revitalise your body and mind in our luxurious SPA & Beauty "der bergquell". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Der Berghof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghof Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing