We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great food & location. Kids club...........”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burg Vital Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burg Vital Resort
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great food & location. Kids club...........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for a week's hiking holiday with our kids, 6&4.
Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. One downside was that it was very hot in the room - under the roof in the chalet vital - it was impossible to get a breeze even with the windows wide open.

The kids club is nice - the lady in charge has a good way with kids and they loved going there. There was a great range of outdoor activities which were printed on a weekly plan, which meant we could plan our hiking for the week. (Days when they were staying in, we took the kids with us). Only problem is they don't stick to the plan - they change things at short notice, which was somewhat annoying. On one day there were too many kids, so a hike was cancelled in favour of arts & crafts. It was a beautiful day so we took the kids with us instead meaning we had to do a much easier route. Another day, my wife was recruited to help as again there were too many kids for the planned outing to the fishing pond. Elina needs an assistant and guaranteed access to a hotel minibus - the town 'hiking buses' are always packed - too packed for little kids.

The food was amazing - especially the 'Vital' menu and the breakfast buffet.
The coffee was not great - the filter is weak and bitter and the espresso comes from a WMF fully automatic. On the other hand there were so many amazing teas - especially the Chai, that I took a break from coffee, which was nice.
The serving staff and reception staff were excellent - very attentive without making you feel like you are some kind of temperamental dictator that might have them executed if they aren't grovelling.

The hiking guides stand around at breakfast to give advice and were excellent. You can hike straight from the hotel or take the lift from 2 mins away.

All in all, superb with a couple of easily fixable faults.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVH_Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Burg Vital Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear guests,
thank you very much for your kind rating. We are so happy to know, that you had a good time and felt very comfortable in our house.
We would be very happy to welcome and spoil you in our house again.
Burg Vital Resort*****, Family Lucian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    14
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
67
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Burg Chalet is very delicately decorated and is at the great location. Easy to start skiing, very good ski-room, very well logistic details. You can rent high quality equipments directly from there. Hygiene was perfect everywhere at the hotel.Food was enormously good, especially the breakfasts.The worst part was the music quality at the bars inside and outside.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Oksan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVH_Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Burg Vital Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests of our house,
it was a pleasure, that you have felt very comfortable in our house.
We are always anxious to make our surrounding attractively, according to the motto “feel at home”. Regarding your criticism in context with the music at the bar, we can truly assert you that we have reviewed this issue with our responsible employees.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our house and remain with sunny greetings from Oberlech
Burg Vital Resort*****, family Lucian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is really fantastic. We went there already 3 times and we will go back again. Location is excellent with a very nice view on mountains, the rooms are large and nicely furnished in modern/traditional style. Service is perfect (at the reception in particular). Food (breakfast and dinner) is very well prepared with tasteful products. And the wine list with a never ending selection gives you the opportunity to indulge yourself!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Polo67FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVH_Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Burg Vital Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests of our house,
it’s pleasing to get the acknowledgement of our regular guests that we are on the right way. It’s nice that you feel so comfortable. Furthermore we will work on our quality to pamper you again at your next stay.

For today we remain with sunny greetings from the snow-covered Oberlech
Burg Vital Resort*****, family Lucian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went back again after staying at two different 4 star superior hotels in Lech (Sonneburg and der Berghof). Hands down Brug Vital is a much better hotel.
Not much more to add from my prevoius review of 16 March 2010 save for service even better.
One point to add....my father came and he prefers more traditional food....if that is your preference the hotel has off menu options that are quite good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skisunpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVH_Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Burg Vital Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests of our houses,
Thank you so much, that you gave us the honor of spending your holiday in our house.
For us flexibility plays an essential role and we are always anxious to create your stay as enjoyable as possible. We are pleased that we could satisfy your father also in the field of culinary art.

With the pleasant anticipation to see you again in our house
we remain with kindest regards
Burg Vital Resort*****, family Lucian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
319 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

On our way to the Salzburg festival, we like to stop in Tyrol whether in the Italian or Austrian side. This was our first visit to Lech, or rather Oberlech, above St. Anton.
A modern, light-wood mountain-style hotel that welcomes you with a view of its indoor water-spa, Burg Vital was much more sophisticated than we expected, ignorant that we were.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious, the bathroom was modern with double sinks, bathtub and shower stall with separate toilets. As it was on the top floor we even had a decorative loft. Wi-fi, flat screen tv, pleasant products. Large balcony with great views.
We could not experience all the services (cooking, walks, etc) offered by the hotel and its spa (with their own medical doctors for diet, training, massages, etc) as we only stopped for one night (check their site, it is worth it).
Here is however an example of service that goes beyond the expected. We found the hotel through the restaurant that was recommended (18/20 by a famous guide, one star in another equally famous one).
We had therefore reserved dinner there. In the evening our hostess felt she had to explain why we were the only guests in the small, cozy gourmet restaurant (other guests were in the main dining halls): the restaurant was usually closed on that day of the week, but they had seen we were there only for one night and they opened just for us. Indeed, the charming chef came to ask us what our likes and dislikes were and he went on preparing a stunning meal based mostly on local offerings, in particular the herbs from the hotel own garden. Do not miss the local beef called Juhu !
As opposed to another such hotel in another lovely valley to where we had been for 3/4 years but had refused to serve us the gourmet meal even at the bar, in one of the lounges or in our room pretending they did not have our reservation and not enough food for two more guests- we had always eaten at that restaurant in our previous stays as the main one was rather mundane to be charitable (we will not return), Burg Vital now rates very high in our memories for the extra effort that was done so graciously.
The food quality and originality extends to the cooked breakfast specialties such as heart of smoked salmon with crisps of local polenta with fresh farmer cheese and herbs.
The hotel is very family friendly, there is a children's room with a nanny and we were not bothered by noisy children running around, it seemed very well organized.
Oberlech is very small but easily connected to the other slightly bigger villages down the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelistanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVH_Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Burg Vital Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guests of our house,
after you have chosen our resort for a stopover and spending a short time in our house we want to thank you so much for your compliments. Our ambience, our core competencies vitalKOCHEN, vitalSPORT and vitalTHERAPY in connection with the quality and friendliness of our team are playing the most important role for us.
Please visit our homepage to inform you about our highlights.
We would be glad to welcome you again as guests in our hotel.

For today we remain with sunny greetings from Oberlech
Burg Vital Resort*****, family Lucian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Just checked out about 3 hours ago and could not wait to write this review.

My wife, daughter and I just spent an incredible week at this hotel – THE PERFECT FAMILY SKI RETREAT

Starting from the big and on to the small, but important, details.

First and foremost location - Oberlech versus Lech. On all of my previous trips to Lech staid in Lech (Berghof, Arlberg, Almhof Schneider). For families Oberlech wins hands down: great views, peaceful, direct piste/ski school access, romantic, toboggan run at front door, decent après ski and only a short cable car ride to the stores and lively Lech après ski - my daughter loved the cable car ride down to Lech.

The hotel is an excellent mix of modern and traditional Austrian flair with an enormous feeling of light and space. Very important if you are a non skier spending considerable time in the hotel. Unlike a lot of more "traditional" hotels in Lech (i.e. Gasthof Post and Arlberg) has more of a "retreat" type versus darker/confined lodge feel to it.

The hotel is also very well suited for kids (unlike Gasthof Post and Almhof Schneider). More than 60pct of guests were families with children. We were there outside of normal school holiday periods.

The hotel boasts a very large sun deck with panoramic unobstructed views of Omeshorn and Rufikopf. When you are sitting in your deck chair looks like you can touch the peaks.

Right next to the Sun Deck (3 meters) is the children’s ski school area. Every day we got up, dropped our four year old daughter off and in between runs could stop off to watch her progress. Many non skiers ,or half day skiers, relaxing on deck watching their kids/grand kids begin their path on this wonderful sport. On several days we stopped for lunch and ate with our daughter. If you don't stay at hotel at least take in a lunch on the terrace

The rooms are modern/traditional light wood modern and large bathrooms and furniture with traditional but clean lines. We staid in a 65m2 Zirbensuite with floor to ceiling sliding windows looking out to the mountains – unbelievable view!! Room had two bathrooms, large sitting area with pull out sofa and separate sleeping room with sitting area and large bathroom, espresso machine and refrigerator. Very comfortable for 3 people with lots of closet hanging space.

Perhaps the two most distinguishing factors of this hotel are the food/service and Spa.

The hotel chef is well renowned (single Michelin Star) and the half board menu offers two fixed options "Traditional" and "Contemporary". As someone who likes to eat light and healthy the contemporary option was a welcome change to the heavy five coursers served at other hotels. It is also possible to mix and match from the two menus. For breakfast the spread was amazing - exotic fruits (passion fruit, mango, kiwis etc) a fresh squeeze orange juice machine, a carrot pressing machine, several types of bread and, rare for a four star, hotel cooked breakfast. The wine list was out of this World - better than just about any at any London Restaurant. The wine dellar has earned awards from The Wine Spectator.

The service was excellent taking the best of a friendly family hotel and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Although the family is on the premises they manage in a discreet manner. On some nights when we were tired waiters would serve our multi course meal in our room.

The Spa is out of this world and I have never seen anything like it. Hard to understand how the owners made a return on the investment in the Spa. Several different saunas, sitting rooms and an enormous solarium (200m2). In the main area of the hotel there is an indoor pool mainly used by families with kids (kids are not allowed in Spa area)

Speaking of kids from 10:00-2:00 and 3:30-10:00 pm there is a kids club so parents can sauna relax and eat together.

Some minor fine touches - Gluten free breads/pastries at breakfast as well as several “bio” cheeses, milk and meats, throughout spa, lobby and sun terrace there are several different teas available all day.

In terms of negatives (not for us but perhaps for others) – the hotel’s main clientele come from German speaking countries and some of the in room info materials were not in English and most of maid staff did not speak English (not that it matters). For me and my wife not a big deal as all the German, Austrian and Swiss clients were all very polite/classy and far more understanding of children than say a UK clientele; some of whom with the right amount of alcohol can make twice as much disruption as a child.

My only regret, perhaps writing this review and letting the genie out of the bottle of this hidden gem….. but a hotel like this deserves it!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank skisunpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVH_Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Burg Vital Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests,
what shall we add to your detailed posting? Thank you so much for your point of view and the description of our house. It makes us very happy that guests take the time to describe our house that detailed.
Concerning your point of criticism we can inform you that we have established all the information in the rooms in English and that most of our staff speaks English.

With the pleasant anticipation to see you again in our house
we remain with kindest regards
Burg Vital Resort*****, family Lucian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.6 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#6 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#21 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#13 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#3 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burg Vital Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burg Vital Resort

Property: Burg Vital Resort
Address: Oberlech 568 | 6764 Lech Am Arlberg, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burg Vital Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star Hotel Burg Vital Resort is situated a 2-minute walk from the Petersbodenbahn Cable Car Station of the Lech-Zurs Ski Resort(Ski Arlberg) and 10-minute walk from the centre of Lech. It features a spacious spa area with an indoor swimming pool, different saunas, a steam cabin and several relaxation rooms. The spacious, modern rooms come with free WiFi, a flat-screen TV with cable channels, a seating area, a minibar, a safe, and a private bathroom with shower or bath tub. Most rooms feature a balcony and a fascinating view to the mountains. The a la carte gourmet restaurant was awarded three toques by Gault Millau. It serves Austrian and international cuisine made with fresh, local products. Half-board includes a varied breakfast buffet and dinner with a choice of main dishes. Guests of Vital Resort Burg have access to a garden with a furnished terrace and a playground for children. A fitness room and a ski storage room with a ski boot dryer are also available. Homemade gourmet food products can be bought in a shop on site and also online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Burg Vital Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing