We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Lech; high service, friendly staff, good kitchen, clean rooms”
Review of Hotel Haldenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Haldenhof
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We (Dutch family, 2 children) stayed first week of March '12 for 1 week in Haldenhof, our first time in this hotel. We booked a family room on the 3 floor. This room offers a separate room for the children. Good beds, the room is big enough, very good cleaning the whole week, 2 TV's (1 with dvd player!). The rooms are quiet; next to us were also 2 children but we haven't heared them at all. The bathroom was also ok.
We booked halfboard and the menu was every day more then good. The breakfast is also simply perfect. All the members of the staff are very friendly and the offered service level really is 5*. The bar/lounge is cosy and the hotel is absolute child friendly but it isn't a trully familyhotel so not to many children. For example; all the children can eat at 18:00hr so no little children during the dinner. This hotel is well managed by the 2 owners who are there all the time. Thelocation is just perfect; about 100mtr from the centre, 1 minute walking. Probably one of the best hotels in Lech..?! We will come again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 219 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

Each March for the last 35 years, a group of us get together for a week of skiing skiing in many of Europe's premiere resorts. The attention, service and good humour of the
staff/ management of the Haldenhof made this one of our finest week's. if you have a food allergy, they make sure you are attended to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohayomountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in here.

-Lots of attention to detail; warm hosts; top class service
-Rooms felt cosy, great views of the mountains, very clean, high-quality, free wireless internet
-Breakfast was incredible. We had fruit, oat, bread, egg and all kinds of things every day.
-Mid-day snacks included soup and delicious desserts
-Dinner was a special experience every day. It tasted like home-made food, traditional dishes, high-quality ingredients
-5-minute walk to the lift, right in the middle of everything

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Varinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed as a couple end feb 2012. The family owners manage a highly professional and friendly team who go to some trouble to make sure you have a good stay. Our room, one of the smaller in the hotel, was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We would have liked a higher shower as the one over the bath was a little cramped but adequate.
Facilities, particularly the lovely spa are great quality.
The hotel has a very traditional feel which is not what we'd normally pick but felt in keeping with the alpine setting.
Breakfasts were buffet style with lots of fresh fruit and cereals as well as lovely bakery items. They cooked boiled eggs freshly on request.
Dinners were four or five courses long. We would have preferred a simpler style of cuisine with perhaps some choice (eg pasta dishes) but accept that the rather more formal style was what the majority of guests in the hotel prefer.
Lastly, for skiers, there is a well equipped boot room but we chose to leave our equipment (free of charge) at the sports shop next to the lifts.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

There are so many good things to say about this hotel that I don't really know where to start!!
It's a family run hotel, excellent service, great food, location is also great! Best of all? It really feels like your second home!!!
We were a group of 8 adults and 12 noise, happy and very talkative kids! I was worried about the outcome, small hotel with too many kids?!
Not a single thing to worry! They prepared a special kids menu every day, also it was served earlier, what made possible for us, adults, to have a quiet and nice dinner every night! Also because they have a (small) kids playroom! Fantastic!
The owners are fantastic!!! Really special people! Always there trying to help us in every possible way!!!!
The down side? Difficult to say!
Maybe for us the down side was that our room was one of the smallest one and we really would like next time (yes, we are definitely thinking about coming back!) to have a shower, not only a bathtub.
Also in the playroom sometimes we could feel it a little smokey...can't really say where people were smoking so the smell would come to the room!
But anyway, nothing really spoiled our vacations! We had an amazing time in Lech with our friends!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anahissnauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Lets get one thing straight - this is an excellent hotel: It is spotlessly clean, the food is excellent, the staff are very professional and there is a wide range of spa facilities. I have indeed given it the full 5 stars (or should that be cirlces?). My only reservation is that it was all a bit too much up market or a little stiff/formal - which I shall explain further and caveat.

My wife and I were at the hotel for skiing, well OK my wife skis, but I am a snowboarder, which was one of the first issues. I was the only adult snowborder there - a couple of the teenagers also were borders, but none of the adults. Initially there was a little snobbery towards me for that (not from the owners!), even though I am NOT some wild type with tattos and piercings, I just happen to board!

Most of the people staying there were well to do/middle aged folk, . There were lots of Doctors and Dentists and Business types. Once they got to know us, the conversation flowed, but it was a little stilted at first.

The dinners were 4 or 5 coarse meals and on Sundays there is a gala dinner where the owner of the hotel gives a little speech (as does his father - the previous owner). Excellently cooked, no complaints there, Ingredients over the week included Pheasant, Veal, Venison and Halibut.

The decor is very much hunting based and very Austrian. The walls are covered with the skulls of various animals (most of whom have been shot by the owner's father).

Please note I am not saying any of this detracts from the quality of the hotel, but we will confess to being feeling slightly conspicuous in jeans and t-shirt rather than shirt and tie with trosuers or evening frock when it came to meal time. If you are more of a kick back and slob out after your skiing person then this may not be the place for you - although it has to be said, probably Lech isn't the place for you.

If you like your skiing more upmarket then this gets thoroughly recommended. Many of the guests return year after year, so Micheal and Claudia are definately doing something right.
If I go back to Lech i would definately return. If you are going to Lech, then this really is an excellent hotel - but take something smart to wear for the meals!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Hard to beat on every level. Welcoming and friendly staff and management. Great food and a wonderful spa. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#3 of 53 in Lech
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#1 of 53 in Lech
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#7 of 53 in Lech
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#12 of 53 in Lech
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#26 of 53 in Lech
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#24 of 53 in Lech
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haldenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haldenhof

Address: Tannberg 347 | Lech am Arlberg, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#1 Green Hotel in Lech
#2 Family Hotel in Lech
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#4 Spa Hotel in Lech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Price Range: $208 - $817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Haldenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE HAVE WHAT YOU NEED RIGHT NOW: PURE RELAXATION ... The Schwarzler family would like to warmly welcome you to the Haldenhof in Lech am Arlberg! Experience and enjoy to the full an unsurpassable holiday with us at our world famous holiday village of Lech. If you want just a little MORE OF EVERYTHING then you are at the right place with us at the Haldenhof hotel. We look forward to making your stay here in Lech unforgettable ... See you soon at Haldenhof! The Schwarzler family and the Haldenhof-Team NEW: - HALDENHOF e-Mountainbike & e-Touring-Bike FREE RENTAL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Haldenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haldenhof Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing