We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, will come again”
Review of Hotel Sonnenburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonnenburg
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, will come again”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This year, we repeated our Oberlech trip to the same establishment. Sonnenburg, is simply wonderful. Excellent service through the restaurant, ski-room, spacious rooms, and staff is always extremely friendly and smiling. Dinner is exquisite, breakfast is rich, and lunch is simply delicious. Ski-in, ski-out. You can sit in your room, and watch your klds gather for skischule 10 meters away. SPA is clean, well maintained, with wonderful array of SPA gadgets/rooms. I think we'll go next year again, eventhough we also liked very much the Bergkristall, which is slightly behind Sonnenburg. Thanks Family Hoch & The Whole Team.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Batili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    33
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
91
36
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a truly a lovely place, well appointed with many extras, spotless, elegant and right on the slopes. The owners, the Hoch Family are always present and have spent lavishly on amenities: art, multiple saunas, a pool, (no hot tub but an ice-bath!?). The rooms in the adjunct building are accessed via a tunnel and are generous and super-clean. We did not stay in main building. The varying restaurant menu with half-board was superb, and there is no reason to eat elsewhere. Service culture is friendly and of the highest standard in the restaurant, front desk, in-hotel ski shop. It is 45 euro per person for a shuttle from Lech to Zurich airport but the service is only at 7 AM on certain days from Lech, so check first. Taxi for 3 is 350 euros and taxi to train in nearby town makes a 2 1/2 hour journey a 5 hour one. Skiing the weiss-ring around Lech, Zug, Zurs, Oberlech was wonderful. Piste all around with easy powder access.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Backhandslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our family of four including two young children loved our holiday at Hotel Sonnenburg, the staff are very welcoming and ensured everything was taken care of both leading up to and during the length of our stay. The ski school is located about 20 metres away from the hotel making it a very easy transition from breakfast to the slopes which makes it great for ski in ski out. Our daughter was entertained in the kids area and produced some wonderful Christmas Crafts. During the day when the sun is out sitting outside on the deck with a hot chocolate is magical. The food was excellent and the staff all very professional and accomodating . This was our 2nd visit to Sonnenburg and we are already looking forward to our third.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had a superb stay at the Sonnenburg.

We have been to Lech / Oberlech a number of times and love this ski region.

This was the first time we have stayed at the Sonnenburg, we were a large family with a baby and two children - the hotel manages the balance of 'Exclusive' yet embracing 'Children' in a superb way and without compromising the standard of the hotel.
Our room was ideal with a stunning view and a number of child friendly details that made our stay even easier. While our baby was too young to be placed in the hotel kindergaten, we did use a private nanny who could use the facility - it was superb for the little ones.
The staff are so friendly, the resturant was superb, the location amazing and the hosts were very relaxed and friendly.
Fantastic hotel and hope to return -

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateTonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltern am See, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Since 1988 we were guests at our favorite Hotel Sonnenburg. We used to be here during a congress 2 weeks before Christmas and enjoyed the special combination. buisiness and wellness. Our child learned skiing and swimming here. We loved the kitchen, the geat service. It is the perfect place to relax even if ther is only less snow. I loved to go swimming before breakfast and relax in the luxury wellness center after skiing. The familiar atmosphere is another reason to come again.

Room Tip: We loved to be in the Stammhaus with a balcony on the sunny side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Sonnenburg is a superb hotel at Oberlech, ideal for families or couples whos perfect skiing day look like this: Start in the morning in the middle of an excellent skiing area, relax in the luxury wellness center in the afternoon, enjoy a real stunning diner and close the day with a drink in a familiar atmosphere in the bar. You are surrounded by people who share the same idea and who do not want to hang out forever.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterinburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2012

It was our second visit to sonnenburg and we were surprised that this year they make a kindergarten. It is a very nice place with a lot of fun toys and books, good babysitter. It was really convenient for us because our children can eat in kindergarten separately from adults. The dinner for kids was at 6.00, for adults at 7. We like the room in landhause it is very comfortable and beautifull, very sunny. And the kitchen this year was really better than previous.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#13 of 51 in Lech
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 51 in Lech
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#7 of 51 in Lech
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#20 of 51 in Lech
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#5 of 51 in Lech
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnenburg

Property: Hotel Sonnenburg
Address: Oberlech 55, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#13 Family Hotel in Lech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#13 Spa Hotel in Lech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sonnenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Superior Hotel Sonnenburg is located in the most popular place in the Arlberg region: in the heart of (Ober)Lech am Arlberg, right next to the ski slope. This family hotel is well-known for its welcoming staff with their talents for foreign languages. This is just the right hotel for a family holiday, with the ski slope right in front of the ski room, ski school opposite the hotel and the practice slope and kids’ slope right next door. Culinarily, you can enjoy over 200 products at the breakfast buffet, a six course meal in the evening, crêpes, fondue, great steaks and much more. Get in touch with the Sonnenburg team – you will love this hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sonnenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenburg Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing