We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class”
Review of Hotel Arlberg Lech

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“top class”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Hotel Arlberg is one of the finest hotels we have stayed in.
One is made to feel so very welcome, food superb, staff attentive without being subservient. Rooms perfect.
Herr and Frau Schneider are superb hosts and cannot do enough to make their guests feel totally at home

Room Tip: All rooms are good and the suites superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words! With pleasure we shared them with our team.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes from sunny Lech. Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    12
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
70
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

It has been 2 years since I last reviewed this hotel and the ski area (see March 2012 reviews of Hotel Arlberg and Ski Arlberg) and both are better than ever !
SKI ARLBERG : The area has expanded further by adding Warth and Schroken to the already vast ski lift system. Warth is a real sleeper - most visitors from Lech do not ski the entire area, which is much larger than one thinks at first glance. The runs are quite good (if a bit short) and there is abundant off-piste opportunities for fresh easy powder skiing after a snowfall. Lots of easy slopes for beginners. If you go there, make sure you actually make it all the way to the village at Warth (it takes many lifts to get there) to appreciate the entire area.
A new lift has been added at Galzig in St. Anton, which is especially geared for children.
Rendl still has the best snow and the most sun.
Langerzug and The Weisser Ring are still among the ultimate ski runs in the world.
The complete Albona run in Stuben is wonderful.
There is still no doubt in my mind that this entire ski area is simply the best anywhere.

HOTEL ARLBERG : Once again, the best ! Everything about the hotel is as close to perfection as possible. The Schneiders have made even more improvements this year while maintaining the highest levels of charm, service, comfort, culinary achievement and "gemutlichkeit". One wing was completely renovated this year (all 3 floors) in the most beautiful and opulent modern, yet still very Alpinesque, style; the bathrooms are spectacular, as are all the rooms in this wing.
Bathroom amenities have been changed to the luxurious L'Occitaine brand (truly great).
The spa, gym, pool, dining areas and other services are all still first class.
The food has always been excellent, but for some reason, we thought it was better than ever this year; I salute the Chef and all the dining room (and Terrace) staff.
One cannot go wrong by choosing this hotel. I guarrantee it.

Incidentally, the fact that we had 2 weeks of full sunshine and good snow made this the best ski vacation that we have had in over 30 years.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgurudoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your overwhelming feedback and for the time it took you. Your comment has really pleased my family and me exceedingly and touched us deeply. With pleasure I shared your lines with our team.

We are all very glad, that we could make your stay with us again so memorable, relaxing and still something special.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon and sending you best wishes from sunny Lech,

Sincerely,
Hannes Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just returned from a week's skiing. This hotel is deeply comfortable and it's staff all amazing. From the moment we arrived we felt cossetted and, after a hard day's skiing, relaxed and revived. Our room (104) was huge and more like a suite with sitting area, dressing room and big bathroom, although a little noisy as it faced the main street (late night revellers and fast-flowing river). Food fantastic and plentiful. Only complaint would be that smoking is allowed in the bar/lounge, and there seemed to be no air-flow through, so this was a serious intrusion quite often, if there were lots of smokers. As smoking is permitted in all bars in Lech, it would be hard to avoid in any hotel in the village. This came as quite an unpleasant surprise and spoilt our enjoyment of having a pre-dinner drink.

Room Tip: Either South, North or West facing rooms will be quieter, with south facing getting the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your kind words! With pleasure we shared them with our team.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you also for your critical words regarding smoking at our bar. I really apologize, but unfortunately we do not have a strict anti-smoking law in Austria; it is strictly forbidden to smoke inside the rooms, in all our restaurants and in any other public indoor place except for the area directly around our bar. As soon as there is an official judgement we will change that fact immediately.
We do have a strong airing, to avoid an unpleasant feeling but as you considered right, if there are a lot of smokers it is not possible to avoid the smell completely.

Never the less, we would be pleased to welcome you again soon.

Sending you best wishes from sunny Lech. Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A beautiful hotel that doesn't miss a detail. We our a family of six and the staff made us feel like hotel was our personal chalet. The skiing in Lech is fantastic and the Arlberg is located adjacent to main lift. The food was delicious and service excellent. The bar area was a wonderful cozy place to have a drink with friends. Thanks for a great vacation!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McFamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. With delight we shared your lines with our staff. We are pleased that your holiday with us was so enjoyable and special.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon and sending you best wishes from sunny Lech,

Sincerely,
Hannes Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
233 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just had a wonderful week of skiing in Lech and the place we stayed in,contributed a lot to our experience. The hotel is fantastic, and the best about it for us,was the feeling we had - that we are at home! The smiles of the personnel, the nice spacious and cozy rooms, the personal touch... everything combined gave us a very warm feeling. On top, there is one nice feature, which we can recommend to any small, high end hotel - you do not need to sign your bills wherever you order something, be it at the bar or in the restaurants, you just order, enjoy, thank and go, no haste signing, checking etc. Why bother if you can do it all at the end.
Two goodhearted recommendations to the hotel itself:
1. Minibar in the room will be a good addition
2. The breakfast can be more spoiling - choices of fresh juices or smoothies, of some nice champagne are just some ideas.....

Room Tip: Book early in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words! With pleasure we shared them with our team.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you also for your recommendations, we are actually thinking about adding smoothies to our breakfast.

Best whishes from sunny Lech. Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Arlberg numerous times in both the summer and the winter over a period of nearly 20 years. Everything about about the hotel is perfect - location, rooms, spa and food - but the thing that makes the difference is the staff. The service is superb, personal and friendly, without being overwhelming and aloof as in some hotels. This reflects the personal care and constant attention of the Schneider family.

We will certainly be back - maybe this summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. With delight we shared your lines with our staff. We are pleased that your holiday with us is still something special.
Looking forward to welcome you again soon and sending you best wishes from snowy Lech.

Sincerely,
Hannes Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have stayed at several 5 star hotels in Lech over the last 6-7 years and this one is a stand alone winner by far ! The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful without being sycophantic and they go that extra mile (km) to make you feel at home. The food is absolutely superb, especially the evening 5 course dinners, which are well balanced and made with top quality ingredients. The staff in the restaurant, especially Stefen, look after you as if you are royalty and the bar is well run by Wolfgang who engages with everyone as if they are long lost friends. The Spa is brand new, spotlessly clean and a great place to unwind. The Schneider family have done a great job of running this hotel which should have 6 not 5 stars and long may it continue.

Room Tip: Try and stay in one of the new junior suites at the back of the hotel which are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinmarsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your kind words and for taking time to share them with us. The whole Arlberg team, my family and I are absolutely delighted that your stay was so enjoyable.

It is all about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best from snowy Lech.
Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 51 in Lech
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#7 of 51 in Lech
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 51 in Lech
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#9 of 51 in Lech
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Post Hotel
Gasthof Post Hotel
#26 of 51 in Lech
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arlberg Lech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arlberg Lech

Property: Hotel Arlberg Lech
Address: Tannberg 187, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#4 Spa Hotel in Lech
#4 Family Hotel in Lech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arlberg Lech 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Hotel Arlberg is located in the heart of Lech and lets you feel like coming home immediately. The warmth and friendliness of both, the host family Schneider and their staff is unsurpassed, not to mention the first class service. During summer you can enjoy the spacious sun terrace, the outdoor pool with amazing views around Lech as well as our local mountain - the Omeshorn. In winter all cable cars are within walking distance, so one can explore the world famous ski resort easily. With the senses spa you will find an exclusive spa area that will fulfill your highest expectations. Let yourself be spoiled culinarily in our dining room, at the traditional Stube or at the a la carte restaurant La Fenice. We are looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Arlberg Lech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlberg Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing