We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among my favorite places in the world!”
Review of Hotel Arlberg Lech

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I always tell friends that if I found I had only 3 months to live, I would spend part of that time in Lech and the ONLY place I would consider staying would be Hotel Arlberg. Words can barely describe how wonderful it is--welcoming, professional staff; cozy lobby, bar and public rooms; amazing food in the restaurant and rooms that are large, well decorated and lend themselves beautifully to extended stays. I've promised Heir Scnieder that I will return again one day and I absolutely will!!!! This is truly one of my most favorite spots in the world!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank merizonsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 197 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Jewel of Lech - if you want to spend time in Austria during the summer then spend it at the 5 star Hotel Arlberg in Lech. We have just returned from our tenth fantastic summer holiday at this beautiful hotel owned by the Schneider family. We fell in love with Lech on our first visit and each year since it has continued to delight us. The hotel is exceptional because of the wonderful , friendly atmosphere created by all of the staff . You can sense the pride everyone has in the hotel and the service they provide – this is more than just a job. It is the commitment of the staff which makes this hotel stand apart from any other.
Throughout, the hotel is beautifully clean and the rooms each have individual characters which show taste in design and reflect the Austrian culture. Views of the surrounding mountains are breathtaking.
Breakfast choices are plentiful and the five course set dinner each evening is excellent. If there is something you do not like on the menu an alternative will be offered and prepared to your liking. You may also choose to eat in the wonderfully snug and traditional Stube. The spa area, which is stunning, the swimming pools and gym are all free to use after a healthy day trekking in the mountains or along the valleys and free daily walks are led by a local guide.
Friends ask why we keep going back each year to the same place – the answer is to try it and then you will know why so many people, not only us, return year after year to this fantastic hotel. We will be going back again next summer!

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in over the past ten years have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bucks776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words. The whole Arlberg team and I are absolutely delighted that your stay was yet again so enjoyable and that you let us be a part of your own holiday tradition for the last couple of years.

We look forward to seeing you again next summer.
Best wishes from sunny Lech,

Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

First time visit to Lech and the Alberg and it won't be the last. Lech is a lovely place and with Lech card which gives free access to all the cable cards and buses it is fantastic with so many options for walks you will never run out of options. The Alberg is 5 star so you expect good quality but what stands this hotel apart is the staff and food quality, the staff are so personable and friendly not stuffy at all, the family are about all the time and make you feel so welcome. The evening meal is a set menu which surprised me but I had only change a starter once, the food quality is quite amazing and should you not like the menu the staff offer you alternatives. The towels are changed twice a day, bed linen every other day, cleanliness 100%. if you want a hotel that means you don't have to worry about a thing then this is the one, we will book again without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite, which was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELLERYORK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words! It will truly be a pleasure to share them with our team.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us so much and we hope we can make your summer holiday in Lech a habit from now on. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Have returned for the last 20 years...and will be returning for another ....... An amazing hotel with amazing staff makes you feel home away from home .....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Having skied in the US & Canada for the last 10 years, we decided to return to Europe because of its excellent snow record this year. Where to go and where to stay were the big questions. Luckily we got it right first time. Lech is a beautiful village and the wonderful Arlberg Hotel is bang in the centre. The food and service at this hotel was superb and the rooms were quite delightful with a small sitting area, flat screen TV and a few English programmes. Every member of staff has been trained exceptionally well and there is a smile on everyones face, which reflects on the 'hands on approach' of the Schneider family who own the hotel and are constanty around. Nothing is too much bother, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Returning from skiing and enjoying an apfel strudel on the sun terrace was an unforgettable experience. If snow conditions in Austria are as good in 2013, then we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moley39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words! It will truly be a pleasure to share them with our team.

We certainly hope we can make skiing in Lech a habit from now on and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Lech, especially to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We returned for our 12th visit; service and the welcome as genuine and attentive as ever. The staff anticipate your every need without obsequiousness and the wonderful bar, spa, dining room are all exceptional. Whilst it is 5 star it is never stuffy and they take care of everyone from the newest arrivals to those returning for 30 or 40 years with equal ease. The R & F are discretely taken care of without fanfare. The price of course is high and the euro hasn't helped over the years for the US or dollar based visitor, but it represents family owned 5 star at its best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BermudaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear valued guest,

first of all thank you for your delightful feedback which we gladly forwarded to our committed team.

We look forward to seeing you again either this summer or next March.

Best wishes to the three boys and to sunny Bermuda,

Hannes Schneider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

It's hard to write a short and concise review of this hotel because what makes it the best are all the little and large details.
But first, read my review on SKI ARLBERG (under Arlberg attractions) and you will get the impression of what this hotel is like.
What makes this hotel the best in Lech (and probably in the entire Arlberg region) is the combination of all the following - and probably some things I take for granted and/or have forgotten:
LOCATION: right in the centre of the perfect little ski village, on the river. Literally ski-in, ski-out (if there is adequate snow) and very close to the lifts. Good south exposure. This location could not be better.
ROOMS: immaculate classical Austrian alpine decor with just the right touch of modernity and sophistication. Bathrooms in the better rooms are absolutely heavenly and wonderfully functional. Outstanding housekeeping (thanks Rosie).
FOOD: simply heavenly ! With 4 dining areas, there is something for everyone and the quality of the food is superb. The wine list is extensive and if you want a real treat, ask to see the super wine cellar. The set 6-course dinners in the main dining room are different nightly, delicious and beautifully presented. La Fenice is the gourmet Italien restaurant and is highly rated. The Stube is a fantastic fondue experience, the likes of which is hard to find anywhere and the host, Willi, is a master (ask for the special apricot-plum schnapps at the end of your meal). The Terrace is incomparable on a sunny warm day and serves wonderful daytime fare. And more-than-hearty breakfasts are just the perfect way to start a ski day, whether one takes them in the dining room or room service.
FACILITIES: extensive ! The Senses Spa is world class. The fitness room is small but excellent. The indoor pool is quite a good size and the perfect temperature. Indoor parking (free) is a major bonus and one which few if any other hotels have - with valet service if you wish. The outdoor hot-tub is a boon to apres-ski soreness. A children's playroom and supervised program is available. The Bar is cozy with the best barman in the country (if not the world), Wolfgang. The ski room is perfect. An on-site small shop has wonderful clothing and merchandise of a unique nature.
MANAGEMENT AND STAFF: this is the key. The Schneider family has been running this place for over 50 years and it just keeps getting better and better. They do not rest on their laurels. They are extremely hands-on and omnipresent. They are the consumate innkeepers in every way. They treat guests like family. Hannes and Christiane will go the extra mile to satisfy a guest's wishes. And the staff are dedicated and loyal professionals who exemplify their leaders' qualities; everyone, from the porters (these guys are terrific) to the dining room staff to the chambermaids to the front desk staff (special thanks to Michael) are polite, warm. friendly and take their jobs very seriously. Service is the credo here and one really feels it.
It is hard to find faults in this hotel. Some will complain about small or petty things such as the smoking in the Bar - but a rigid nonsmoking policy is enforced in all other public areas and in the rooms.
If you are a first time visitor, know that this is NOT a Hilton, but rather exquisite jewel of an Austrian alpine boutique hotel which caters to skiers and nonskiers alike.
Although we have never been there in the summer, it sounds and looks like a perfect mountain retreat for those who enjoy summer alpine activities.
Finally, as I always say, you get what you pay for and compared to other exclusive luxury hotels in the world, the Hotel Arlberg offers a huge bang for your buck.

Room Tip: A suite with a South-facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelgurudoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words. The whole Arlberg team and I are absolutely delighted that your stay was yet again so enjoyable.

It is all about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hopefully one day we may be able to afford a day with you as our tour guide ;-).

Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#2 of 53 in Lech
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#33 of 53 in Lech
88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#12 of 53 in Lech
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#24 of 53 in Lech
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#9 of 53 in Lech
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 53 in Lech
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arlberg Lech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arlberg Lech

Address: Tannberg 187, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lech
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#4 Family Hotel in Lech
Price Range: $371 - $1,535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arlberg Lech 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Hotel Arlberg is located in the heart of Lech and lets you feel like coming home immediately. The warmth and friendliness of both, the host family Schneider and their staff is unsurpassed, not to mention the first class service. During summer you can enjoy the spacious sun terrace, the outdoor pool with amazing views around Lech as well as our local mountain - the Omeshorn. In winter all cable cars are within walking distance, so one can explore the world famous ski resort easily. With the senses spa you will find an exclusive spa area that will fulfill your highest expectations. Let yourself be spoiled culinarily in our dining room, at the traditional Stube or at the a la carte restaurant La Fenice. We are looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Arlberg Lech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlberg Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing