We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”
Review of Hotel Arlberg Lech

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

First time visit to Lech and the Alberg and it won't be the last. Lech is a lovely place and with Lech card which gives free access to all the cable cards and buses it is fantastic with so many options for walks you will never run out of options. The Alberg is 5 star so you expect good quality but what stands this hotel apart is the staff and food quality, the staff are so personable and friendly not stuffy at all, the family are about all the time and make you feel so welcome. The evening meal is a set menu which surprised me but I had only change a starter once, the food quality is quite amazing and should you not like the menu the staff offer you alternatives. The towels are changed twice a day, bed linen every other day, cleanliness 100%. if you want a hotel that means you don't have to worry about a thing then this is the one, we will book again without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite, which was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELLERYORK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words! It will truly be a pleasure to share them with our team.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us so much and we hope we can make your summer holiday in Lech a habit from now on. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Have returned for the last 20 years...and will be returning for another ....... An amazing hotel with amazing staff makes you feel home away from home .....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Having skied in the US & Canada for the last 10 years, we decided to return to Europe because of its excellent snow record this year. Where to go and where to stay were the big questions. Luckily we got it right first time. Lech is a beautiful village and the wonderful Arlberg Hotel is bang in the centre. The food and service at this hotel was superb and the rooms were quite delightful with a small sitting area, flat screen TV and a few English programmes. Every member of staff has been trained exceptionally well and there is a smile on everyones face, which reflects on the 'hands on approach' of the Schneider family who own the hotel and are constanty around. Nothing is too much bother, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Returning from skiing and enjoying an apfel strudel on the sun terrace was an unforgettable experience. If snow conditions in Austria are as good in 2013, then we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moley39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words! It will truly be a pleasure to share them with our team.

We certainly hope we can make skiing in Lech a habit from now on and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Lech, especially to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We returned for our 12th visit; service and the welcome as genuine and attentive as ever. The staff anticipate your every need without obsequiousness and the wonderful bar, spa, dining room are all exceptional. Whilst it is 5 star it is never stuffy and they take care of everyone from the newest arrivals to those returning for 30 or 40 years with equal ease. The R & F are discretely taken care of without fanfare. The price of course is high and the euro hasn't helped over the years for the US or dollar based visitor, but it represents family owned 5 star at its best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BermudaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear valued guest,

first of all thank you for your delightful feedback which we gladly forwarded to our committed team.

We look forward to seeing you again either this summer or next March.

Best wishes to the three boys and to sunny Bermuda,

Hannes Schneider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

It's hard to write a short and concise review of this hotel because what makes it the best are all the little and large details.
But first, read my review on SKI ARLBERG (under Arlberg attractions) and you will get the impression of what this hotel is like.
What makes this hotel the best in Lech (and probably in the entire Arlberg region) is the combination of all the following - and probably some things I take for granted and/or have forgotten:
LOCATION: right in the centre of the perfect little ski village, on the river. Literally ski-in, ski-out (if there is adequate snow) and very close to the lifts. Good south exposure. This location could not be better.
ROOMS: immaculate classical Austrian alpine decor with just the right touch of modernity and sophistication. Bathrooms in the better rooms are absolutely heavenly and wonderfully functional. Outstanding housekeeping (thanks Rosie).
FOOD: simply heavenly ! With 4 dining areas, there is something for everyone and the quality of the food is superb. The wine list is extensive and if you want a real treat, ask to see the super wine cellar. The set 6-course dinners in the main dining room are different nightly, delicious and beautifully presented. La Fenice is the gourmet Italien restaurant and is highly rated. The Stube is a fantastic fondue experience, the likes of which is hard to find anywhere and the host, Willi, is a master (ask for the special apricot-plum schnapps at the end of your meal). The Terrace is incomparable on a sunny warm day and serves wonderful daytime fare. And more-than-hearty breakfasts are just the perfect way to start a ski day, whether one takes them in the dining room or room service.
FACILITIES: extensive ! The Senses Spa is world class. The fitness room is small but excellent. The indoor pool is quite a good size and the perfect temperature. Indoor parking (free) is a major bonus and one which few if any other hotels have - with valet service if you wish. The outdoor hot-tub is a boon to apres-ski soreness. A children's playroom and supervised program is available. The Bar is cozy with the best barman in the country (if not the world), Wolfgang. The ski room is perfect. An on-site small shop has wonderful clothing and merchandise of a unique nature.
MANAGEMENT AND STAFF: this is the key. The Schneider family has been running this place for over 50 years and it just keeps getting better and better. They do not rest on their laurels. They are extremely hands-on and omnipresent. They are the consumate innkeepers in every way. They treat guests like family. Hannes and Christiane will go the extra mile to satisfy a guest's wishes. And the staff are dedicated and loyal professionals who exemplify their leaders' qualities; everyone, from the porters (these guys are terrific) to the dining room staff to the chambermaids to the front desk staff (special thanks to Michael) are polite, warm. friendly and take their jobs very seriously. Service is the credo here and one really feels it.
It is hard to find faults in this hotel. Some will complain about small or petty things such as the smoking in the Bar - but a rigid nonsmoking policy is enforced in all other public areas and in the rooms.
If you are a first time visitor, know that this is NOT a Hilton, but rather exquisite jewel of an Austrian alpine boutique hotel which caters to skiers and nonskiers alike.
Although we have never been there in the summer, it sounds and looks like a perfect mountain retreat for those who enjoy summer alpine activities.
Finally, as I always say, you get what you pay for and compared to other exclusive luxury hotels in the world, the Hotel Arlberg offers a huge bang for your buck.

Room Tip: A suite with a South-facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelgurudoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannes S, Inhaber at Hotel Arlberg Lech, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words. The whole Arlberg team and I are absolutely delighted that your stay was yet again so enjoyable.

It is all about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hopefully one day we may be able to afford a day with you as our tour guide ;-).

Sincerely,

Hannes Schneider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We certainly enjoyed our time at the Hotel Arlberg. The front dest staff was very helpful, very friendly. The hotel is decorated as to take you away from all the the cares of what is going on in your every day life. Our favorite place was the "hunting" room with the beautiful Moose and antlers. Can't say enough about the decoration of the hotel.

We were in Lech with our 17 (almost 18 year old son). We had to use two rooms and they were not adjoining. We knew this going in and were totally fine with it. Could be a challenge with families of small children. I might inquire to see if that option is available and can they guarantee it.

The meals were wonderful. We were there on a half board basis. Breakfast was delicious and the dinners were wonderful. I hope you go on a night they serve the chocolate mousse. We wish we had seconds. If there is something on the menu that doesn't appeal to you, you can ask them for another option. We didn't use the pool or the spa, but we did enjoy a few matches with the ping pong table while waiting for dinner. The slopes were great as well. We loved this hotel and hope to go back sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

On arriving on 23rd December 2011 for Christmas! And having booked 4 adjacent rooms back in February 2011 - through Ski Europe who as an agent had booked our trip through Inghams - we were staggered to find we did NOT have adjacent rooms. Both the hotel Manager and the hotel owner 'stated' that there was nothing they could do as all the other rooms were taken by people who had booked from the previous Christmas.

The Inghams Rep, who was there to greet us, made no attempt to do anything and when I phoned Ski Europe back in the UK, they had already gone on their Christmas break and had the affrontary to say the adjacent rooms were only ever requested, not guaranteed.

It would seem therefore that both Ski Europe and Inghams took our money under false pretences.

As every other hotel was full for Christmas we had no alternative but to accept the conditions. Our 2 young girls were in a room which was around the corner and down a long corridor from their mother. The third room was again in a different area on the same floor and the 2 adult boys with us had to take a room on another floor altogether.

Not the best way to start Christmas week - with no one accepting responsibility or helping us.

If the hotel was booked from the Christmas before then they, and Ski Europe and Inghams MUST HAVE KNOWN when we booked, that our rooms would not be adjacent and yet they still took our booking. If we had known this we would not have gone to this hotel.

Things proved even more difficult when during several night the girls were poorly with nose bleeds etc. and had to go to find their mother right known the corridor.

The hotel was very comfortable and immaculate. One room was beautifully decorated - modern and comfortable. Other rooms were not so new and more traditional but extremely comfortable.

The hotel made a number of mistakes with us.

A booking we made in the fondu restaurant was never made.
We were told the wrong price before we went to this restaurant but regardless, the owner charged us much more than we expected, when we did get to eat there and he made no apology for this.

We we were sent to the bus stop having been given the wrong time so missed the bus to St Anton. The hotel then provided us with a car to take us.

Every time the staff made a mistake they did try to rectify the fault.

On the whole the staff were delightful, friendly and attentive and our waiter Stefan, in the dining room, was extremely helpful although terribly overworked as there were never enough staff on duty.
Every dinner was 6 courses & always quite rich. Only one night in the week did we have fish.
The waiting time between each course was much too long, especially for children, so we devised quizz games to get us through.
The delays were either because there were not enough waiting staff or the kitchen was slow, often sending out dishes when other people did not have food.
Often the set dishes were unsuitable for children but we were able to order lighter meals as replacements.

The worst thing in the hotel was the bar where SMOKING is allowed!
We would meet there before dinner and often try to sit there after dinner too but the smell of smoking was so strong we often gave up and went to bed with our clothes reeking of smoke. How can this old fashioned habit be allowed in such a supposedly smart, 5*hotel?

We enjoyed our stay immensely mainly because we had superb snow conditions and the hotel was extremely comfortable with lovely staff.
But the whole time we were made to feel like 'outsiders' as we were continually told the other guests were all repeat bookings (& we had never been before)!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank madeleine_rijndorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#2 of 53 in Lech
247 reviews
0 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#23 of 53 in Lech
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 53 in Lech
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#32 of 53 in Lech
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#6 of 53 in Lech
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#40 of 53 in Lech
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arlberg Lech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arlberg Lech

Address: Tannberg 187, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#1 Spa Hotel in Lech
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#4 Family Hotel in Lech
Price Range: $600 - $1,106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arlberg Lech 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Hotel Arlberg is located in the heart of Lech and lets you feel like coming home immediately. The warmth and friendliness of both, the host family Schneider and their staff is unsurpassed, not to mention the first class service. During summer you can enjoy the spacious sun terrace, the outdoor pool with amazing views around Lech as well as our local mountain - the Omeshorn. In winter all cable cars are within walking distance, so one can explore the world famous ski resort easily. With the senses spa you will find an exclusive spa area that will fulfill your highest expectations. Let yourself be spoiled culinarily in our dining room, at the traditional Stube or at the a la carte restaurant La Fenice. We are looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Arlberg Lech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlberg Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing