We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Fish & Chips.”

Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Linford's Traditional Fish and Chip shop is located at the centre of the historic market town of Market Deeping. The takeaway has been open since 1989 and in the summer of 2012 we opened a new restaurant. At Linfords we offer a selection of fish; cod (regular, medium and jumbo), haddock, plaice, huss (rock salmon) and scampi with weekly specials including lemon sole, hake, halibut and monkfish. Other options include sausages, pukka pies, fish cakes, burgers, chicken burgers, vege burgers, spring rolls, southern fried chicken, chicken nuggets and chicken tikka bites. All of our food is cooked in vegetable oil and all fish is sustainably caught.We also offer gluten free fish and chips on a Monday night from 4pm - 8:30.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An excellent Fish & Chips.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Have never had a poor meal. Every time my son and his family return to England from Hong Kong it is always their first meal. They even had a Fish & Chip meal at their daughter's christening so the the in-laws in Ireland could taste what he had been going on about. They agreed that its reputation was fully justified.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    45
    22
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best you ever tasted”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been eating Linfords fish & chips for years so really had to write our review. Put simply you will not better their food . Fish is battered perfectly and cooked in real beef dripping (the only way) chips are good and chunky and the mushy peas a treat.
Only ask for the large fish if you are really hungry as they look like whale & chips !
Take away and now a sit down restaurant which we have yet to try seems like all the bases are covered.
ENJOY.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bradjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top Class Chippy”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This chippy hasd won numerous awasds and as soon a you taste the food on offer, it is easy to see why !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NigelP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant Local Chip Shop”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food is always good, especially the chicken and chips - staff are always friendly and efficient.

It is good to support local businesses

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kingskingscliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shouldn't rest on its laurels”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Given this is our "local" fish & chip shop we have been here on quite a few occasions. Performance is consistently good in the main. Their fish is normally freshly cooked, as we choose haddock rather than cod, which is often ready. The taste is a bit better, but we haven't eaten cod since an employee of mine, who lived in Iceland for many years, said the local inhabitants there all avoided it. Apparently, cod is a scavenger species - we will leave it to your imagination where they scavenge and the effects of this and whether this is an urban myth or not. We'll just stick to haddock thanks.

Anyway, the fish is truly excellent, albeit that it could often be drained a bit longer to remove the last vestiges of cooking oil. The chips here are only average and Linfords miss a trick not improving them . Truth be told betters ones are to be had at the Boundary fish and chip shop a couple of hundred yards down the road. Offering a "free" slice of lemon with each fish order is a nice touch, though the lemon appears preserved, so we always use fresh ones from the fridge at home.

If Lindfords wanted to be the real market leader they broaden their menu and add some premium grade chips - how about hand-cut fat chips, or using a premium frying fat?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dive-Travel-Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips also viewed

Market Deeping, Lincolnshire
 
Market Deeping, Lincolnshire
Market Deeping, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing