We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class accommodation, food and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Thornton Hunt Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night as a special treat to ourselves. The room was lovely, very welcoming and clean.
The food was excellent and very good value for money. By far the best pub food we have had for a very long time.
Overall the whole experience was very enjoyable. We only wish we could have stayed longer.
We will definitely be booking again very soon.
Peter - Grimsby

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nettgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 82 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as a treat to ourselves - really glad we did!

From the moment that we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, the landlord and landlady were very friendly and we were given the impression that nothing was too much trouble.

The accommodation was of a very good standard and was extremely clean and tidy.

We ate at the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast - wow, this was probably the best food I have ever eaten, all locally sourced too!

Even if you don't stay here - do yourself a favour and pop in for a meal, you'll regret it if you don't!

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I sayed here for three nights in November on a work trip.

If you are looking to stay somewhere a little out of the way and a little more unique and homely than a hotel, I'd definitely recommend staying here. The owners are warm and friendly and the pub is cosy.

You would want to have a car if you stayed here - Thornton Curtis pretty much consists of the Inn and the old church across the road, and that's it.

I had dinner the first night I arrived, and breakfast each morning. The food was great - it was so nice to have a few days of homestyle cooking in a long trip away. The pub is clearly very popular, the night I had dinner they were having to turn people away as they were fully booked.

The room also had that comfortable homey feeling that you just can't get in a hotel. The room was spacious with a bed, desk, wardrobe and couch/sitting area. The bathroom was a little small, but clean and well maintained.

I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JadeandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

An attractive country inn with a menu to match. The quality of the food and beer is excellent. I had the nixed grill which needed a huge appetite to do it justice. The food was well-cooked and served hot. I was pleased to note that raucous peole yelling into mobile phones were absent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here as part of a London to York bike ride and it was exactly what I was looking for.

The helpful owners stored my bike in a securely locked garage and had already reserved me a table in the restaurant just in case I wanted to eat that evening.

This turned out to be very fortunate as the restaurant was quite busy which was a testament to the quality of the food being served. In addition there were several local ales on tap which certainly helped with the post ride recovery.

I stayed in a single room which was very clean and came with an en-suite bathroom. The accommodation was in a separate building to the main inn (separated by a couple of metres) which meant it was quiet and not disturbed by any noise from the bar.

The room rate was extremely reasonable and coupled with the great service I received I would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teepsterish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beamerpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamsDN396XW, Owner at The Thornton Hunt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Thornton Hunt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thornton Hunt Inn

Address: 17 Main Street | Near Ulceby, Thornton Curtis DN39 6XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Thornton Curtis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Curtis
Price Range: $85 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Thornton Hunt Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Freehouse set in an attractive Grade II listed building which dates back to around the Eighteenth Century. The Inn is situated in the quaint village of Thornton Curtis in the glorious North Lincolnshire countryside. Our extensive bar menu is mainly homemade encompassing local produce where possible. We have a varied selection of starters, main courses, omelettes, baguettes and wonderful homemade desserts in our Lunch Menu, Dinner Menu, Lite Bite Menu, Children's Menu and Sunday Roast Menu. We offer a wide selection of bitters, Timothy Taylor's Landlord real ale, lagers, stout, cider, wines, spirits, soft drinks and children's drinks. We look forward to welcoming you to our Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Thornton Hunt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing