We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub”
Review of The Bay Horse

The Bay Horse
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Catterick
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with our recent visit, there clearly is a lot of thought in the options on the menu in terms of smaller portions, kids meals etc. Nice home cooked food and good prices and great beer, we will be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theheadfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Ate here one evening while on holiday in Yorkshire. We thought it would be quiet on a Tuesday night but there were quite a few people eating and a good atmosphere.

The meal was served quickly, the portions were large and the food was hot. We shared a starter of mushrooms with garlic dip, the coating was a bit hard but they were tasty and plenty of them, even for two. I had New York melt chicken which was well cooked and not at all dry as chicken breast can often be. My OH had Steak pie which he said had the best cooked meat he had ever had in a steak pie. We didn't have room for a sweet unfortunately.

All in all pleasantly surprised, typical pub food well cooked and reasonably priced for portion sizes. There is parking at the door and the village itself is nice and would have had a walk round with our dog if the weather had been better. Would definitely go back if in the area again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank no1schnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“A mixed feast”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The last reviewer refers to food being a little pricey and that illustrated how subjective reviews can be for it depends on what the reviewer is used to. Prices are competitive, e.g. Sirloin steak at £9.50 is at least £5 cheaper than in the same type of pub in the west country. Yes, the beer is disappointing but that is due to the company owners rather than landlord, I suspect. On the other hand, house wine at £6.99 a bottle really is very reasonable. Over the years, I have wondered how they make any money, the tenant landlords, that is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Food was good but pricey. Service was a bit hit and miss, young waitress was very pleasant but the young waiter was not very friendly or helpful at all.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovegolfholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Average pub surrounding, menu better than food, a lot of it seemed bought in rather than home cooked. Food presented hot and reasonably cooked. Staff seemed to be reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Horse also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing