We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage with perfect peace and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Burn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sitting area with log burning stove The kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The sitting area with log burning stove
The kitchen and dining area
The bedroom
Outside dining area
Cottage in winter
Thatched cottage at Fortingall
A sqirrell in the garden
Partridges in the garden
Autumn in Glen Lyon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fortingall, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison S
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage with perfect peace and beautiful garden”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Ideal for a short break or a longer holiday, this cottage is well situated for exploring Glen Lyon and has the benefit of being close to amenities in Aberfeldy. A combined living room/kitchen diner that anyone would be happy to call their own, comfortably but stylishly furnished with all essentials. Freeview TV, DVD and CD players, wifi with good speeds. The french windows leading out onto the patio allow a ringside seat of the local birdlife and squirrels, which was better entertainment than the TV and the perfect way to spend a rainy afternoon.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The bed mattress too soft.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise Y
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful cottage in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our third stay at Burn Cottage and we absolutely love it there. The quiet countryside is wonderful and it's only a short drive into Kenmore or Aberdeldy for food/activities.
The cottage itself is well looked after and very homely. We have now stayed in both the winter and summer time and can highly recommend it at both times of the year. We will be back again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pluisje02...
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed May 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We loved our stay at Burn cottage. The cottage is tastefully decorated, comfortable, and everything you need is there. There even was a hairdrayer in the top drawer of the dresser next tot he bed. I especially love the drapes with floral pattern in the bedroom. The living room was warm and cosy with the small fireplace in the evening. We saw 1 deer in the field below the cottage and a lot of birds. If we ever go back to this place, we would stay here again for sure.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinythin...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 7, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A fabulous cottage in a tranquil & peaceful setting within an easy drive of lovely villages & breathtaking walks. The cottage has been beautifully renovated & features French doors which overlook the very pretty garden. Warm & homely with some lovely touches; the single malt & shortbread biscuits were a most welcome surprise! Well equipped with everything you need, nice big entrance hallway, plenty of wardrobe space, lovely hot shower & a very comfy bed; slept like a log! Will hopefully return to this cottage & will be recommending it to friends & family.

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful wee cottage, ideal for a quiet retreat, which was exactly what I needed.

It is done to a very high standard and is extremely modern and comfortable. It is in a small settlement of what seem to be permanent residents, yet is totally private. (I liked the fact that there were locals nearby as I was on my own.)
The main living room / kitchen / diner is spacious and has doors to each side, a window and several velux windows, so it was extremely light and bright. Outside the patio doors there is a lovely rock garden which was a riot of colour. It was nice just to sit by the window and watch the visiting wildlife. It made me wish I knew something about birdwatching! There is also a grassy lawn, which would have been nice to sit on if it had just been a wee bit warmer, and turning area for the car. The bedroom is really pretty and has a very comfy bed, and it also has patio doors which open out onto the area which has the squirrel feeder.

I should mention that the approach is a bit tricky. It is uphill on some rough tracks, and in my wee Mini it felt a bit difficult. I wouldn't like to have attempted it in wet weather. Also, it is a bit of a trek to the nearest shop, so take what you need with you.

I was only there for a couple of days, so I don't feel as if I really got to know the area, but I can recommend Cluny House Gardens on the road to Strathtay. Beautiful gardens and friendly owners.

I look forward to going back to Burn Cottage.

Date of stay: May 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house is very light and very private
Liked least: The road in.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing