We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
196
77
19
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
196
77
19
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glen lyon yew tree open fire local musicians arts and crafts soup and sandwiches cosy bar bar lunch dining room beautiful glen fillet steak wonderful setting public rooms superb food bay window comfortable lounge every evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 305 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

When we arrived at this hotel we were disappointed as the room needed refurbishment and the hotel a little TLC. We were however greeted and treated better than in many 5 star establishments across the world where we have stayed.

The food is excellent and the staff are so very lovely. We got a good price for staying Sunday to Thursday. An offer on the website.

It well deserves its four star rating. If it were to charge more it would need work dong, but not to affect some of the truly lovely touches and character gained only by its age.

If you want a proper Scottish village break and something with individuality and character then give this a chance and I’m sure you’ll be glad you did.

The location is stunning and we were again blessed with good Scottish weather.

It’s one we will remember and only with good memories.

Thank you Fortingall for the experience and having us as guests.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AngieHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortingall, Owner at Fortingall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Great to get your feedback and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. That particular room is scheduled for a makeover this autumn but as you will appreciate finding the right time to close for these works tends to be quite difficult.

We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

We were in Fortingall for a wedding in the village hall. 10 of us travelled from London to stay at this hotel. We were charged £230 per night for a "DELUXE" room. I've stayed in a lot of hotels at this sort of price range and this was not luxurious. Firstly having travelled for 6.5 hours arriving (starving) at 1345 we were told that lunch was finished and there was no food other than crisps until 1800. Not ideal when the hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

The room was tired. The bed uncomfortable, sheets were not Egyptian cotton, there was no conditioner in the bathroom. The bathroom was old. I had to get housekeeping to bring a screwdriver to lift up the bath plug and the plug in the sink wasn't much better. Despite knowing that the whole hotel were going to the wedding (leaving at 1230 on Saturday), housekeeping finished at 1200 when we were all getting ready so many rooms where not made up.

The hotel wine list was fairly good but they seemed to only have one or two bottles of each wine so every time we asked for another bottle they said they had run out. The pub next door had also run out of the draft bitter by the Saturday morning.

I feel the hotel charged us a premium price for an average room because we were coming for a wedding. But then did nothing to accommodate our needs around the wedding.

The food at dinner was pretty good as was breakfast but they need to give the hotel a bit of TLC if they want to charge these prices. The hotel offers no extras like a spa, gym or pool. No room service. Just a pretty view.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lauren1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortingall, Owner at Fortingall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are a small 4 star family run Country House Hotel in the Highlands of Scotland. We lay no claim to Egyptian cotton or spas - but we do offer our guests a warm, homely and pleasurable stay.

Lunch - regretably at 2.20pm it was too late but the young man was told that we had scones, cakes and shortbread available. It is a shame that on your arrival you did not book for lunch.

The Yew Bar had run out of Timothy Taylor Landlord Ale - but there were plenty alternatives available.

As explained to you our wine delivery was consigned to the wrong hotel and the mistake could not be remedied until the following week - Fortingall is not the centre of London



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately we stayed only one night in this excellent hotel. We enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast, all of great quality. The room was very good and the owner and staff were great. Thank you very much!

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank diatimmermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

We've never stayed in the hotel as we live nearby but the restaurant is one of our favourites for dinner when we eat out. The quality of cooking is always top notch, especially the fillet steak. Soups and sauces are always packed full of flavour.

The hotel has lots of character and its always nice and relaxing to have a seat and drink in the lounge when deciding from the menu.

Service is always very attentive. As previous reviewers have mentioned, some of the newer staff are undergoing training so some things may not be as slick as they will be but to be honest that's never been an issue as everybody is always so friendly and polite.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DunEdinAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Service and quality of food and wine selection all very good. We all enjoyed ourselves here. Two evening meals and one lunch will go back again when in that area might stay a couple of nights. The manageres was training new staff and her attention to detail and the way she spoke to them was excellent.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jamespaton49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews