We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome for coffee on a wet Sunday”
Review of Fortingall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fortingall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. Coffee and scones served beside an open fire on a cold wet day - heaven! Many thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NeilAitkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We drove through lovely Glen Lyon, near Loch Tay, recently and stopped at The Fortingall Hotel to see the old yew tree. Lulled by the fairly standard pricing at other beauty spots in the area, we omitted to ask for a wine list. Big mistake! Three medium size glasses of white wine cost us £20.85! It was good wine but if you don’t wish to pay £6.95 for a casual drink, be vigilant there.

It was also served with a surly ill-grace most unlike the warm hospitality we received elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortingall, Owner at Fortingall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Fortingall has an extensive wine list - suits most tastes and pockets however under the new ownership there are two wines on offer by the glass . These are as follows :

1. A Serle Noir Viognier .France 2010 - a dry fragrant white wine which is very popular with guests .

2. A Valdivieso Merlot . Chile 2011- a tasty fruity red wine

Both are priced at £4.50 per glass .


The reviewer is welcome to call in and sample the above wines together with a complimentary dram of 18 year old Dewars whisky from our famous local distillery in Aberfeldy .

Kind Regards,

Mr R. Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We visited for dinner on the recommendation of the B&B we were staying at near Aberfeldy. The village and drive were lovely on a late June evening and the hotel looks welcoming from the outside. We opted for the bar rather than the restaurant which was a good choice, mainly because the restaurant (and hotel I suspect) were completely empty and there were at least another couple in the bar. The food was very well presented and really good quality - we both had a warm goat cheese salad to start followed by one haddock and one bream, both exceptionally well cooked. The menu was extensive enough and not badly priced with mains at £12 - £18. The service was friendly but, like so many places in Scotland we found, had Eastern European staff which doesn't add to the Scottish charm you would expect from this type of rural hotel.

All in all, much to recommend it but it was clear the earlier than requested booking time was to let staff go early (and for the waiters to begin painting the walls in the hotel!) not because of any rush.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights. Expensive, but on balance worth it for a special occasion. Staff are benign and ready for a bit of a laugh. Food very good, fresh herbs, beautifully presented. Love the cosy fire, library, peppermint tea made with fresh peppermint leaves, restful atmosphere. Village is very pretty, Glen Lyon beautiful and worth spending lots of time in. Recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlanders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great place, lovely rooms and an excellent setting in Glen Lyon. We had a room at the back of the hotel (slightly noisy from the kitchen extractor fans) with plenty of space and all amenities on hand including a decanter of whisky for late night tots!
Food was excellent in the bar and in the dining room - steak and beef to die for, fresh halibut and lobster and excellent desserts.
Some little quirks with the staff from overseas but they were quite endearing and very eager to please and the service was excellent at all times.
A great stay in a lovely hotel in a superb location.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is quieter with great views but a little more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Had a good pint here while travelling home from walking in Glen Lyon.The attractive old hotel is a real gem with a small cosy bar with open fire.There is parking at the front and a table and chairs to soak up the rays in this perfect setting.P.S would love to stay the night here for a short walking break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigKirrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The location is lovely in a tranquil valley just a few miles west of Aberfeldy and right beside one of the oldest trees in Britain - a venerable 5,000 year-old yew.

Our reasonably-sized bedroom (Bolfracks) at the rear of the hotel had a dual aspect and was tastefully and well furnished, mainly in soft greens/beiges, with two leather tub chairs, a tweed-upholstered chair and a matching tweed headboard, a free-standing wardrobe and a chest of drawers. The en-suite bathroom was spacious, although the WC was a macerating Saniflow which could be noisy. There was a welcoming tray of tea and real coffee. The downside was a constant humming noise from somewhere nearby: a kitchen extractor fan perhaps or a washing machine..we did mention this. We had also expected drinking water in a jug but it was empty so we ended up having to drink water from the tap.

There is a small, cosy library providing newspapers and games which is a pleasant sitting area. There seem to be two bars: the lively Ewe Bar which is open to non-residents - and which was, as we discovered to our cost, very close to our bedroom, down a secondary staircase outside our room - and another adjacent to the two dining rooms. We ate in the airy Arts and Crafts dining room with its own fireplace, simple barley-twist tables and ladder-backed chairs. The other 'Yew' dining room was a newer and less characterful extension.

Our dinner had high and lows. The home-made bread was delicious. Our starters were 'salmon' served 'three ways' and a terrine, which still had its plastic film around it. We then had lamb and venison, both of which were served to our liking. We then waited over an hour for our desserts, as did an other couple. To give the staff credit, they did apologise after we questioned the delay (apparently there was a large group eating in the bar) and a gesture was later made to our bill, with which we were happy.

We would have accepted the protracted dinner and left happy had we slept well. At 5.30 am, we were woken to noises of footfall above our room, then noises on the staircase outside our room and of car engines in the car park outside our room. We presumed these noises were caused by staff. The mechanical humming nearby continued too.

This hotel is not cheap: around £200 B&B for two people. While I am prepared to believe that the dinner service we experienced was a 'blip' caused by lack of staff and while I also expect that some bedrooms are not subject to the noises that we experienced, we will be careful, if we return, to make sure that we book into a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stilzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortingall
2.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
923 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
14.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,094 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
257 reviews
16.9 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortingall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortingall Hotel

Address: Fortingall PH15 2NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Fortingall
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Price Range: $165 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortingall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fortingall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortingall Hotel Aberfeldy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing