We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming small Country House Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortingall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fortingall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
352 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Charming small Country House Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We have just returned from a short stay at Fortingall. We chose this hotel because friends had recommended it and we had also passed it on previous occasions and liked the look of it. My husband and I were looking for a relaxing and romantic escape prior to his departure abroad for three months, and we like to travel with our small dog. Situated in an Arts and Crafts Village about 6 miles from Aberfeldy, the hotel is an excellent base from which to discover the area, or like us, to do a Munroe. This time we climbed Shiehallion which is within about 10 minute's drive. The hotel is welcoming with small public rooms, library etc., with open fires, and the rooms have been refurbished to a high quality with flat screen TV's, bath robes and even shoe polish. The Arran Bath Products are a pleasant change from Moulton Brown too. Many of the original period features are still evident in the public rooms which are tastefully appointed.
The food was good, with a comprehensive wine list. We were particularly impressed with some of the New World Wines including several unusual dessert wines, although we would like to have seen the choice of a fourth pudding. (Perhaps a sorbet with seasonal fruit in addition to lemon tart, chocolate bomb and Cranachan - all delicious but perhaps not quite a wide enough selection). My husband is still raving about his Foie gras and Venison terrine and his duck main course.
We only had a couple of small niggles at Fortingall, and the main one was that the bedroom was rather small very noisy. We were unable to have the bedroom we wanted due to an electrical problem, so were shown a room at the rear. All night there seemed to be boiler/air conditioning type noises gurgling downstairs, and we wondered if any of the other guests had encountered this problem? Our other small gripe, was that the dining room carpet is pretty dirty and needs replacing. Otherwise, we were impressed with the hotel, and should we return again we would insist on checking out the likelihood of noises in the bedroom as this definitely coloured our stay somewhat as we did not feel as refreshed as we had hoped. The bottom line is that this hotel compares very favourably to two of our other favourite hotels - The Torridon and Inver Lodge, but be particular about where you sleep! Our other wonderful discovery on this mini-holiday was the Watermill in Aberfeldy. This is the most marvellous independent book shop, coffee shop and art gallery which is an exceptional find.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    63
    15
    9
    1
See reviews for
35
151
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We chose the Fortingall at the last minute as a base to attend the Blair Castle horse show, and we were very glad we did. It sits in a stunning glen and maintains the air and atmosphere of a true country hotel. All the staff were attentive and friendly, nothing being to much trouble. The room was immaculate and remained so during our stay. Whether you ate in the restaurant or bar/lounge, the food was exceptional, beautifully cooked and presented.
Although we only made it to Blair (it was a business trip) I would certainly use it as a base to explore central Scotland in the future. It was a pleasurable stay, and to use the old cliche, we will be going back to the Fortingall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed 3 nights for my 30th birthday and in order to do the Glen Lyon Munros. The hotel is lovely. Its a stunning building with lovely grounds.

Room - We had booked a Superior room for the occasion and I think we must have got just about the best room in the house. We were right at the front of the hotel with the window over the front door looking out over the fields. The room was very spacious as was the bathroom and immaculate. The fresh tea and coffee were great and there was even whiskey in the carafe. There was no problem having the dog in the room.

Food - where to start, some of the best food I have had in Scotland. The steak was superb and the breakfasts wonderful. Apparently the chef was new but that certainly wasn't a problem

Service - wonderful personalised service especially from Gavin and our waiter at breakfast

The bar "The Ewe" is tiny with only 2 tables but very cute and cosy for a drink after a long hike.

We will certainly be back for another special occasion

Room Tip: great deal for superior room on laterooms.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdenbeath
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Lovely room, good food and a glorious situation, well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCowdenbeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

I am not the type of person who takes the time to write reviews of places I visit, so in doing so for The Fortingall Hotel, trust me, this place is worth the effort. The staff are excellent under the ever attentive yet consumate professional Gavin. The room and the ensuite was very good, the bed, presentation, cleanliness etc, it could not be faulted. However, we were bowled over by the quality of the food in the bar and restaurant (we tried both) in the evening, which was on par with their breakfasts, one of the best I've had anywhere, period. The quality of the ingredients were complimented by skilled cooking which took this venue beyond any of the current ratings (2 AA rosettes for example) it may have. I am already interested in booking a short break at it's sister hotel in Oban, Barcaldine House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 911sse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Hi we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights dinner b&b on the 14th and 15th June 1011.

We were only popping in for a quick drink and after being greeted by Sarah we were given a guided tour, we decided to stay for one night (we actually stayed for 2 nights).

The staff are all well trained and very attentive to the customers needs, they have a flexible approach and all seemed to be genuinely interested in us and in providing the best possible service.

The chefs provide an excellent choice of food and were kind enough to come from the kitchen to discuss and recommend food on the menu.

Both my wife and cant praise the staff of this hotel enough, we do stay in a lot of hotels over the course of the year and The Fortingal Hotel has it all; great location, great venue, great food and most important of all......excellent staff.

well done Sarah and team.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james3649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We had a last minute stay, which proved the highlight of our holiday. Following an open canoe and wild camping trip on the Tay we were ready for a bit of luxury and we were not disappointed. All the food was just great, from the nibbles to the three part dessert and including the morning porridge served with maple syrup, creme fraiche and crushed pistachios. The young staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Our room, while fairly compact, wanted for nothing and the bed was very comfortable. The decor is understated and has a slightly Scandinavian feel in parts, crossed with traditional country house. Don't miss the Fortingall-o-poly game (similar to Monopoly!) in the sitting room or the Ewe and the Yew.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortingall
2.2 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
7.3 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
14.7 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortingall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortingall Hotel

Property: Fortingall Hotel
Address: Fortingall PH15 2NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Fortingall
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortingall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Fortingall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortingall Hotel Aberfeldy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing