We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood chowder, brown bread and a pint of Guiness”

Morans Oyster Cottage
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Kilcolgan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $56
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Moran's Oyster Cottage Seafood Restaurant Galway, The Weir, Kilcolgan, Co. Galway, is a traditional thatched cottage that dates back over 250 years. Today Morans is run by the 7th generation of the Moran family in the business. It is renowned the world over for its superb seafood and Galway oysters which attracts people from the five continents, and is open all year round
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was there on a beautiful day, sat outside if I wasn't on my way from Galway I would have stayed for the day and tried as much of the menu as possible, Well worth the short detour or a quick drive for lunch from Galway. The cottage itself is like a museum

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cattvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We both had the lunch special, which was haddock.
Very basic and the food was not hot. Way overpriced for what we received.
I would not be recommending this place for a meal.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Mary2861WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We always visit Morans every time we are fortunate to visit Ireland and are never let down by their service and food. This time we enjoyed clams, mussels and fresh natural oysters accompanied with delicious brown bread whilst our son loved the cod and chips from their children’s menu. The seafood chowder we tried was perfect for a cold day and was fantastic - this was our first seafood chowder and hopefully every subsequent one will be up to the same standard of Morans as they have set the benchmark!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Peagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No question, the “Galway Flat” wild oysters were the best we ever had in any country. That, and a pint of Guinness – what better breakfast to enjoy?

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kutskurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Truly an incredible lunch stop off en route to Galway from Dublin. Well worth the slight detour. Could have chosen everything that was on the menu. Convinced that every choice would have been as superb as ours.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chiaranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morans Oyster Cottage also viewed

 
Clarinbridge, County Galway
New Quay, The Burren
 
Kinvara, County Galway
Kinvara, County Galway
 

Been to Morans Oyster Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing