We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good for seafood”

Morans Oyster Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kilcolgan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $58
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Moran's Oyster Cottage Seafood Restaurant Galway, The Weir, Kilcolgan, Co. Galway, is a traditional thatched cottage that dates back over 250 years. Today Morans is run by the 7th generation of the Moran family in the business. It is renowned the world over for its superb seafood and Galway oysters which attracts people from the five continents, and is open all year round
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good for seafood”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I visited Morans with friendly recently. Down through the years since 1970, I have dined here from time to time. Management changed, extensions were added to cater for more customers, but one thing which has not changed is the high quality of the seafood platter, the homemade brown bread, the good taste of guinness And selection of good white wines. We had an excellent meal, and I will be back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seanpearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    194
    60
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Organic salmon just melts in the mouth.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stopped by for an evening meal in this lovely establishment. Had organic salmon and crab meat salad. Was delicious. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best seafood I have ever had!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The last time I visited Morans was over 20 years ago. It was brilliant then and it is remains fantastic now (October 2013). I have never tasted oysters as fresh and delicious as here. I was further impressed by how well my gluten free diet was catered for. I have never had proper fish and chips before due to having coeliac disease but not only was I served with a generous serving of cod in a gluten free light and crispy batter with dill but also home made gluten free soda bread. I certainly won't leave it 20 years before my next visit. Great food, excellent service and a dash of nostalgia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GavinPerrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Ives
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Coffee Break !”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Went here on the way from Galway to Athlone, heard about it from a fishing programme on tv. When we arrived the restaurant was closed, but while looking around the owner came out & asked if he could help. When I explained why we came he said to come inside & made us all coffee with biscuits, he couldn't do enough for us. It's in a lovely area & will go there again if in the vicinity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggot6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, Ca, USA
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Another wonderful experience - 20 years later!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We dined here twenty years ago on our first trip to Ireland. It was such a memorable experience, that we went out of our way to dine here again on our most recent trip to Ireland. It did not disappoint - oysters, garlic crab claws, lobster were fantastic-- excellent service, wonderful host and great atmosphere. We even dined in the same room, same table - and old photos show that things haven't changed at all (except for the shade of the paint on the walls) in this section of the restaurant!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morans Oyster Cottage also viewed

Kinvara, County Galway
 
Clarenbridge, County Galway
 

Been to Morans Oyster Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing