We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morans Oyster Cottage

Morans Oyster Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kilcolgan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $54
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Moran's Oyster Cottage Seafood Restaurant Galway, The Weir, Kilcolgan, Co. Galway, is a traditional thatched cottage that dates back over 250 years. Today Morans is run by the 7th generation of the Moran family in the business. It is renowned the world over for its superb seafood and Galway oysters which attracts people from the five continents, and is open all year round
clare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I recently ate here for the first time in May and its a fantasic place. It was a family event and it was for lunch. We ate outside as it was a beautiful day. We had lovely seafood all round our waiter was very helpful and quick which I love. Unfortunately I never got his name. But thank you. I will be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    184
    57
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traveller
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Adequate seafood in a pleasant setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was a lovely lunch, with friendly service, though quite expensive under the circumstances (recession, so many early bird/dinner deals available everywhere). I'd recommend ordering hot food only as the cold food is just a lesson on laying out cold seafood on a plate with some lettuce. The clams were delicious, though small in portion. The chowder was nice, not amazing. Oysters were delicious. Seafood platter was a little disappointing for the cost, especially as half the "platter" was taken up by two micre-wafer thin slices of smoked salmon laid across the plate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have had a few meals here over the past few years and it hasn't let me or my guests down! Good seafood and a fairly large menu to choose from. Lovely setting especially on a fine day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank irishtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockananna, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No place nicer on a sunny day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a great haunt on a summers day, relax outside with a cold drink and delicious plate of food or take shelter indoors and you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wow....a must do when in the Galway area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Went on a recommend from a conversation with a local in a high street bar in Galway.
If you don't know about this place you never will, it's a hidden gem.

Anything on the menu is great, a little pricy but with top food, chilled wine and a glass of Guinness lookin out over the river in the sunshine this is heaven.
Met a lovely couple Ronan and Lisa from Dublin a couple of real foodies who walked 40mins from the main road just to get there....yes it's that good,
Hope to meet them again sometime on a return trip......we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morans Oyster Cottage also viewed

 
Clarenbridge, County Galway
 

Been to Morans Oyster Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing