We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want our money back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hastings Beach Houses
Ranked #94 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Central QLD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We want our money back!”
Reviewed April 23, 2010

My boyfriend booked a villa at The Hastings for a trip we have planned. When the accommodation no longer suited our needs and with over a month until our trip, we asked to cancel the booking. Management told us that we could only cancel the booking if we forfeited $100 of the $180 deposit we payed. After trying to negotiate with no compromise reached, we put in a complaint with the department of fair trading. We are still waiting to get our money back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelbyloo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123GOQld, Manager at The Hastings Beach Houses, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
This review is partially correct however, it is very harsh and unfair.
The guest did book accommodation and pay a deposit which is standard procedure for all bookings.
The guest did subsequently cancel the booking and no reason was given nor requested.
The guest was aware of our companies cancellation policy [like all similar properties these policies are displayed on our website].
Our cancellation policy is basically 'industry standard' and whilst the penalty for a cancellation can vary relevant to the 'notice' period, most have a simple 'fee' for cancellations and ours is $100. There is nothing unusual about this.
It is not correct that the guest was not offered any alternatives. I have ascertained from staff that this guest was offered to "change" their dates at no cost but declined to accept that offer.
My enquiries with staff revealed that the guest then threatened to make an offical complaint to the Office of Fair Trading [OFT] if we did not refund their money in full.
The guest then made good on their threat and we were questioned by officals from the Queensland OFT. The OFT investigation was quite thorough and we had to prove the facts as we have explained them in this review.
There is a very real cost to taking enquiries, making bookings, receipting monies and then cancelling them and refunding the balance of the deposit [the payment of wages to staff being just one].
The OFT believes that a cost of $100 for a cancellation is a fair and justifiable cost for a business to impose.
As such, the Office of Fair Trading took no action.
We accept that a cancellation fee is best avoided, we have cancelled hotel bookings ourselves due to unforseen circumstances and paid a cancellation fee however, it should not be a cost to the business and it is normal/standard business practice to do so.
In our view, this complaint is grossly unfair and as it has been proven that the guest's complaint is unsubstantiated, the review should be removed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

This is certainly not your super fancy hotel but a far as value for money location in Noosa you probably cant beat it.

The rooms are a little tired and run down but Hasting st is literally a stone throw away.

If your looking for something reasonably cheap without comprimising location then this place is for you...

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed at six locations on our recent visit to Aus, our stay in Noosa was sadly disappointing. Noosa was not what we expected although we learnt after our stay that it used to be how Port Douglas still is (fantastic, go there!) . Our stay was tarnished by the standard of our accomodation, The Hastings was very tired, needs updating, the appartment was dirty, there were crumbs on the sofa, the bathroom was grubby and we felt most uncomfortable during our (thankfully) short two day stay. Swimming pool looked most uninviting. The beach was good though, but that was all. Hastings Street was extremely busy with traffic trawling up and down constantly. Very expensive resort, not worth it.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dottyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I rang The Hastings, seeking some accommodation for when we visit for a friends 50th birthday party, and the lady who answered was rude and abrupt, as they didn't have anything suitable, and couldn't get me off the phone fast enough. I had thought they wouldn't be able to help us, but it seemed like such a nice place that I rang just to see. I figured that we'd at least go there for our regular beach trip later this year, but there is no way I would stay anywhere that treats people the way The Hastings does.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2008

We have stayed at the Hastings before. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. The positioning of the hotel is amazing for beach and shop access, and surprisingly quiet considering the area. The kitchen facilities are better than would be available at other such hotels, with the only issue being access issues to the dishwasher. Noise can be a small issue near the pool, or in one of the villas directly beside Hastings St access, but is always bearable. All in all, well worth using for accommodation in Noosa.

  • Liked — The ease of access to the beach
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fivefangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

We booked a deluxe villa at the Hastings for a 3 night stay. On arrival we were offered a premium villa as apparently no deluxe villa was available.(I fail to see how this could be possible when we had booked almost 10 days earlier) The owner offered us a refund if we stayed in the premium villa. The appartment was in no way anything like the photos on their internet site. The furniture was old and worn and uncomfortable. The dishwasher in the kitchen covered in rust.The staff were indifferent to any complaints and had an attitude of "If you don't like it , go somewhere else" knowing full well that everywhere else was fully booked for the weekend. The swimming pool had evidently not been maintained and was filthy. The biggest suprise was yet to come. Right next door to our "villa " was a populaar italian restaurant. The noise was unbelieveable. Any thought of sleep before 12.45 am was out of the question. Luckily we didn't have children with us but one of our friends was a heart patient and was in sorel need of a good nights rest. When we finally came to check out. the owner denied having made the offer of a refund and stated that she had no knowledge of a deluxe vlla booking. I wouldn't recommend this accommodation to my worst enemy!!
Only stay here if you have a total dissregard of your surroundings and have no intententions of using the facilities.

Helpful?
8 Thank cinnamonsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123GOQld, Staff at The Hastings Beach Houses, responded to this review, December 16, 2007
The Hastings in an old building after 25 years. It appears that when this review was written in November 2006, when the resort was under different management than it is now. The Hastings has been, and is still undergoing renovations to try to keep up with increasing demand. The booking system like most resorts is run by a computer program and it is very unlikley a booking would be made and confirmation sent if it wasnt recorded by the system as this is not possible unless its deleted. The pool and entire property for that matter is maintained and cleaned daily. The Grounds Keeper is here every morning at 6am to clean up around the resort. The units have also been undergoing maintenance with many of them being re-furbished over the past year. Noise is a problem no matter where you go, The Hastings is situated right behind the shop front and runs right through the block. There are resorts on either side of The Hastings. At busy times, Hastings St is home to many tourists and locals. So during the week many people are out for dinner and socialising, if you wish to be away from the noise at night becuase you are not looking to go out then just ask upon making your booking, let us know of ths situation your in and the staff here will do all they can to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Casa Noosa
Bella Casa Noosa
#48 of 140 in Noosa
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
SandCastles Apartments
SandCastles Apartments
#70 of 140 in Noosa
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Emerald Resort Noosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laguna on Hastings Street
Laguna on Hastings Street
#111 of 140 in Noosa
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Hastings Street
2 Hastings Street
#98 of 140 in Noosa
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#16 of 140 in Noosa
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hastings Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hastings Beach Houses

Property: The Hastings Beach Houses
Address: 30 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hastings Beach Houses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hastings Beach Houses Noosa. Noosa’s best kept secret, seclusion right in the heart of Hastings Street.Set in sub-tropical surrounds just a few steps to Hasting Street boutique shops and fine restaurants. A moment from Noosa’s pristine Main Beach and a casual stroll to Noosa’s famous National Park or the beautiful Noosa River.Our 2 bedroom free standing "Beach Houses" at The Hastings Beach Houses Noosa are individually furnished and fully self contained. All have fully equipped kitchens, also featuring spacious living and dining areas that open onto your own private balcony.Feature List• All Beach Houses are two levels with internal & external stairs• Large balcony • Air Conditioned• Own laundry facilities • Undercover parking • Direct access telephones • Austar• Your choice of 2way, two or three bathrooms.• 1 Queen bed and 2 single beds • Serviced weekly • Fully refurbished Heated Swimming Pool • BBQ Facilities• Direct access to Hastings Street boutique shops and restaurants • Short stroll to Noosa’s famous National Park• Noosa River and fabulous park just across the road • On-site management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hastings Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hastings Hotel Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing