We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, as friendly as it can get... a home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolphins Beach House
Ranked #112 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
traveling!
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing place, as friendly as it can get... a home away from home”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I felt a home, I had an amazing time with all the relaxed people that visit this amazing hostel. Staying in a private room (on the apartments), and it was really good. Linda, the owner, is a person that cares for her guests, that wants to make them feel at home. Stay here, you will never regret it, and you will never forget it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruysolorzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    61
    40
    32
    34
See reviews for
2
59
69
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Bedbugs, smelly, disgusting bathroom, unhelpful staff...
Thank goodness I only had to spend one night here, was truly awful!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopsadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Noosa hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

As a solo traveller Dolphins Beach house was one of the absolute highlights of my trip. I first stayed there as a regular backpacker, intending on staying for only a couple of nights on a whistle stop tour of the east coast. However, Dolphins beach house was so hard to leave.. 6 weeks later I was still there. The owners Phil and Linda are two of the most lovely people I have ever met, they treat every backpacker as if they are their first ever customers and continue to make travellers feel at home. The staff are a friendly combination of backpackers and family and work hard to ensure the place is clean and comfortable at all times. Staff (especially the owners) go out of the way to ensure all needs are met. Dolphins has a homely chilled out atmosphere and is not for the party animal... however if you do wish to venture out there is a regular shuttle bus connecting to the rest of Noosa. The location is absolutely stunning, on the edge of a beautiful koala filled national park and next to one of the most lovely beaches in Australia (Sunshine Beach). Surf boards to rent, internet, dvd's, books available and staff who are VERY knowledgable about the best further travel deals. If you are looking for a lovely place to stay in Noosa... veer off the YHA trail, ignore any other petty reviews that fail to note all of the beautiful things that Dolphins Beach House has to offer and give this place a try...go on... you definately won't be disappointed! :-)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrstyBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Very very basic rooms, we booked (and had confirmed) a triple but were put in a dorm room, quoted the wrong price (although they did grudgingly refund the difference) A very rude cleaner called PHIL barged into our room at approx 8.30am before we had checked out and proceeded to start moving the beds and all our stuff around to clean, without even apologising or asking if it was OK to come in (while my friend was still trying to pack and change) One of the girls at reception was also rude and unhelpful, although two other staff members were nice and helpful. Bathroom was dirty, sand all over the floor in the lounge/kitchen/bathroom and bedroom. On the positive side, the courtyard is nice, there is good internet access and it is in a good location just 5 mins to beach and shops/restaurants..... would not recommend this place unless you are really on a tight budget! (it was cheap).... I'm sure you could find somewhere cleaner, nicer and friendly in Noosa for not much more

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkPinkPinkSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, england
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed over Christmas so there was less open than usual, though the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming when we arrived on Christmas eve. There are DVDs to rent and internet available. It is 2 mins walk to sunshine beach (beautiful) and a little food shop/few bars. To walk into the main town of noosa takes about 40 mins (or nearly 3 hours if you take the scenic coastal walk) but the hostel normally offers a shuttle bus. We had a double room with TV included. The kitchen was well equipped and not shared with too many other rooms. The atmosphere is very chilled/beachy with an outdoor social area. Alcohol is not allowed there after 10pm (encouraged to go down to the beach) so not the hostel for you if you are looking for a noisy party hostel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issybusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

i cannot recommend this hostel at all. i had bedbugs, the kitchen was filthy with all sorts of bugs crawling around. you could just tell that it hadn't been cleaned properly in ages. go to the yha in noosa, its a million times better.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matahari2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

It was so chilled, with big comfy chairs and hammocks. Table tennis and surf boards available. We stayed in apartment style room, 5 people in our dorm, and another dorm with 4 in, shared with really nice people. The kitchen and bathroom was clean and useable. we were sitated on the first floor, in the courtard. They run a courtesy bus to noosa itself, and its only a couple of minutes walk to the sunshine beach and a couple of restuarants and shops. (not that we could afford to eat out on backpacker budget!!)
Its was very hippy and i loved it. like a little tardis!
There is a small pool, but we preferred the sea!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katys_Party
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
2.4 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#32 of 41 in Noosaville
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#3 of 140 in Noosa
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nomads Noosa
Nomads Noosa
#136 of 140 in Noosa
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Costa Nova Holiday Apartments
Costa Nova Holiday Apartments
#3 of 7 in Sunshine Beach
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundancer Holiday Apartments
Sundancer Holiday Apartments
#2 of 7 in Sunshine Beach
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Beach House

Property: Dolphins Beach House
Address: 14 Duke Street | Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphins Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill out and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Dolphins Beach House at beautiful Sunshine Beach, Noosa.This secluded, hippy-style haven is the closest hostel to the beach in Noosa, situated next to Noosa National Park with a boutique shopping village just one minute away.The ambience of this family-run hostel is quirky and unique - definitely not part of a franchise backpackers business. The owners are experienced travelers themselves, and Dolphins Beach House reflects their love of travel, with many exotic artifacts from India to Burma and Thailand. Once you slip past the gardens, the trees, the funky pink walls and the Guatemalan architecture, you'll realize that you have found a restful retreat.It's no wonder that Dolphins Beach House is Lonely Planet's best pick for Noosa for 2010 / 2011. Relax, unwind, enjoy.Our friendly staff are always happy to recommend where to go and what to see next. Office hours are 8:00 am to 7:00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Dolphins Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing