We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in prime location”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #16 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hotel Laguna is one of the more affordable places on Hastings Street. We stayed in apartment 100, it was very roomy and modern. We were offered a late check out which was great. Our room over looked Hastings Street, and although there was some noise in the evenings, it didn't bother us. Great location right in the heart of town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeinsync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thankyou for taking time to post a review of our Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Laguna and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. You will be able to enjoy our new pool area that is due to be completed mid May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 308 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Girlfriend and I were travelling the east coast and decided on Noosa as a place to base for Fraser Island and I am so glad we did. This hotel was chosen for location over everything and we stayed for a few nights and it was good find !
Having researched Noosa , the place to be is around Hastings street and this was in such a great spot at the end with parking included. Having had a long drive I was probably at first a little underwhelmed with the accommodation, we opted for river studio, it was small but strictly as advertised and just a little 'tired' looking. Door had a few bangs at the bottom, tiny piece missing , grotty old hairdryer, tired looking lamp etc BUT after a good nights sleep you get to understand what a great little find this place was for the price - yes it could still use those improvements, new door, nicer amenities in room etc, these can still be achieved relatively cheaply to the supplier. The room was actually really quite good at the price, nice bed, v clean, great view, great tv, lovely shower - so I started to find that this could turn out to be a great find. You are right in the hub , you can park the car and never use it again, beach 20 yards across the road, all the restaurants etc.
Never used the pool, but it looked nice and the wifi was explained to use that it doesn't quite reach our studio room but the hotspots in pool and foyer area were just fine. Owners seem very nice people and having parking included is a must in Hastings street.
Out of the hands of the property , there is some renovation work going on close by and on check out this was pretty noisy, if you were planning a relaxing day by the pool that day - forget it. I am not sure how long that has to go.

Really enjoyed my stay and loved the area, including our trip to Fraser, would probably opt for their bigger apartments if we went back but would have no hesitation in staying here again. I would probably have given it 4 stars if the little things were sorted.

Room Tip: Try the one bed apartments - for few extra it could be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Management are glad that you found our Hotel to be great value and in such a convenient location. We are always please that our overseas guests enjoy what we have to offer. We apologize for the hair dryer being a little tired and will have this replaced immediately. Lamp shades are always hard to maintain as they continually get knocked about and we will get housekeeping to replace them, as we too agree that these small items do make a difference. Hotel Laguna management and staff look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The women at reception was rude and unhelpful, I asked for a late check and she wouldn't even consider it. The room was ok, it overlooked the roof of the restaurant. The bathroom wasn't cleaned properly. Don't count on a car park, it wasn't available and I had to park quite a distance away, the only upside is the position a quick walk to the beach. I wont be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bushwalker_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We apologise if our receptionist was rude and unhelpful when you asked for a late check out. Whenever possible we are happy to offer late check outs, but during the Easter school holidays and weekends we have been fully booked and could not afford to delay incoming guests their rooms on time. Unfortunately some of our Hastings St studios do overlook the new restaurant below, but most are not impeded by the roof. Parking is always a premium at the resort and we do our best to accommodate all guests with limited spaces and ask guests to park next door if we are full. We are glad that our position on Hastings St was convenient and hope you choose to stay with again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in Apartment 32. It's really modern, has great furnishings, and is good value for money compared to most apartments on the beach side of Hastings Street. While not super big, it makes terrific use of the space it has. (Great sized bathrooms and tv). It has fabulous river views and access to a boardwalk that I never knew was there running along the river. There is a nice patio area (being on ground level) with comfortable furniture to relax on while watching all the activity happening on the river. The downside is that it is not fenced. There is a garden which gives some privacy but the problem for us was that we have a toddler who is at that "running off" stage and he would take off along the boardwalk every chance he could get. You might wonder then if this apartment is secure? We felt that once the doors were shut and locked (ie. at night or whenever we went out) that yes, it was. The doors are glass but are thick, (modern), and in really good working order. If you left stuff outside, say, at night when you slept, then it could very possibly get stolen. So, we just brought everything in at night - like our towels and washing. No big deal really.
We also liked that there was a lovely park just one building over - I think this is part of the woods area? We also liked that we could park (undercover) right outside the apartment (like 'motel' style), so getting everything in and out of the car was fabulously easy. Also, no steps were great for us with a pram. The steps to the pool area are also right outside - you go up just one level. Speaking of the pool area, it's a bit dated and small, but adequate and still quite nice, and I believe that it's going to be renovated in a few months?
We loved our short stay and would return in a heartbeat, but there are just two things that really disappointed - but could be easily rectified. There was no internet access in our apartment - could the hotel use 'boosters' to overcome this? We needed to do a few things online and couldn't keep ducking up to the pool area to do this with children. The other thing was - as shallow as it sounds - there was no Foxtel. I really thought that this would be a standard, not an extra, in hotels in this day and age. I know some of you will roll your eyes, but internet and foxtel are really a must in situations of bad weather and sunburn.
There is just one other thing I feel I should mention at this particular time. The building next door (towards The Sheraton) has just started some kind of massive renovation. There is obviously nothing that the Laguna Hotel can do about this, and I really feel for them, but it was getting a little noisy just as we were leaving. I would therefore encourage anyone who was thinking of booking to give them a call beforehand (rather than just book online).

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thankyou for your great review of our exclusive Riversuite 32 apartment. It is one of a kind and does boast great views and an amazing new fit out. As you mentioned, caution is required with small children due to the proximity to the river but a great family apartment all the same. As you mentioned, our pool will be getting a make over in May and we look forward to the new tiling and upgrade of the BBQ area etc. Jacaranda next door is also renovating and we expect to experience some disruption and guests will be informed prior to confirming their bookings if they book direct with the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Laguna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I've been coming to Noosa all my life and this is the first time I've managed to get affordable accommodation in Hastings Street. I just never ventured that far down the neck of the woods and noticed Hotel Laguna. Thank goodness I finally have because this place is a tranquil retreat from the business of Hastings Street with a great feel for just being able to relax. We chose a river room studio. Though small it was plenty big for we too tired travellers and just the ticket for complete relaxation. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and king size, lovely balcony to sit and sip a glass of wine and watch the paddle boarders and boats gently meandering their way past our room. The receptionist was a real asset to this business as well. She too is just a gem and really looks after the guests to ensure we will definately be returning. The sooner the better too! She even had the kindness to warn us that this weekend was going to be super busy and parking would be a little more competitive. We took her advice and just hung around Noosa and didn't move the car. All in all 4 stars just because it is marginally tired but the rooms lovely and they are planning on undergoing a pool upgrade in May. The pool area is indeed sun drenched and quite a lovely place to sit and check your emails etc .. The selfish side of me would like to keep this place a secret but I do want them to stay in business. Thanks so much Hotel Laguna for recharging our batteries.

Room Tip: Definately try to get a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

We are glad that you ventured down Hastings St and discovered our hideaway. Hotel Laguna prides itself on offering our guests great value for money and we agree that our river views make our complex something special. We hope you join us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I just got back today.I had a great time in Noosa.
The staff at the Hotel were very helpful and caring.
The room was very big and comfy in the studio rooms,only
5 minute walk to the beach.
There was some music noise coming from the bar below
but I had a nice relaxing stay at the hotel and recommend it.

pete

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puna02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for taking time to rate our Hotel. We are pleased that you felt the studio offered you a great experience and value for money. I can't think of any properties that offer such value and benefits in Hastings St for only $155 dollars off peak. We are glad that the adjoining restaurant's ambience did not affect you and the double glazed windows certainly impede any excessive noises into the rooms. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very please with our stay at Hotel Laguna , rooms large and adequate facilities. The rooms overlooking the river was a magnificent view come afternoon time, staff helpful and friendly, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJedynak, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thankyou for your positive review and we are glad that we met all your expectations on your recent holiday at Hotel Laguna. Management and staff are always excited to read such reviews and it makes us proud that we have contributed to you going home with such a great feeling. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#4 of 10 in Noosa
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
747 reviews
2.1 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 6 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: $138 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laguna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the real Noosa experience at Hotel Laguna. Our friendly, vibrant resort is nestled in the heart of Hastings Street, with both the river at our back door and the beach just a stone's throw away. Laze by our tropically surrounded pool or step outside our front door into a sea of restaurants and boutique shopping...We have something for everyone... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing