We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”
Review of Wood Fire Grill

Wood Fire Grill
Ranked #67 of 334 Restaurants in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $27
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Drawing inspiration from leading gastro pubs and authentic local family eateries, Wood Fire Grill has designed a diverse and accessible menu to share amongst friends and family.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We dined here on our last night in Noosa and what a memorable night it was, fabulous food, excellent service and relaxing atmosphere. Thank you to our awesome waiter (whose name escapes me but he had only been working there a week and had his hair pulled back in a pony tail) and also to the supervisor (nice young chap from Papamoa NZ of all places!). You guys are what customer service is all about and last but not least but to the owners (who were sitting at the table next to us- unbeknownst to us - and who our waiter told us said were going to be shouting us our dessert! this was a lovely surprise.
So as we are from New Zealand we have booked another stay in Noosa next year and will most certainly be dining with you again. Thankyou everyone at Wood Fire Grill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandymacHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    34
    22
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This place is innovative; the real deal!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Firstly, I'm a Noosa local so have eaten at most of the restaurants over the past 12 years. However, I was not expecting tonights experience to be so scrumptious and satisfying (we were looking for an easy dinner on Sunday evening after a long drive back from the Gold Coast). The atmosphere is relaxed and the smell of the wood oven reminded me of a great little Italian place in the west village of NYC. The service ; professional and friendly. The rib eye steak was cooked to perfection and served with a wonderful selection of unique sauces that made every morsel a delight. We shared a side of wood fired vegies and the flavours were very very good. The chocolate mousse was exceptional. It is a tad more expensive than many local restaurants but I will say it offers far better fare than the majority. This will become a place I take people I like to share food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“some fine tuning required”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We dined at the Wood Fire Grill on a Saturday night and enjoyed the ambiance, particularly sitting inside for winter with the open kitchen and grill. We were less enthused with the banquette style seating with the next tables less than a foot away.

As a starter the Organic marrow bone, garlic, parsley, sourdough toast had heaps of flavour (& plenty of garlic). We had the Cape Grim eye fillet, which was of excellent quality and cooked to perfection, and the Cape Grim grass fed striploin ‘baseball cut’ 200g which was a little undercooked and a grisly piece found. The food is uncomplicated but generally high quality produce. Price is at the top end for Noosa, and we look forward to trying the Wagyu burger sometime for lunch.

It was nice to see a good wine list that had plenty of choice, was well balanced across variety, price and styles and had some interesting small and medium size producers represented. One of the better lists in Noosa.

Service was spasmodic & we went with empty water glasses most of the night and even poured our own wine on once occasion which is probably unacceptable at this level of venue. What made the service issue worse was the Canadian waiter mentioned in these pages. Her section clearly ended with the table next to ours and she seemed to serve that section well. Unfortunately a severe case of 'section-itis' meant she would not touch our table at all and seemed to make every effort to avoid eye contact with us when our table clearly needed attention. No 'i' in team as they say....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickysnoosa, Public Relations Manager at Wood Fire Grill, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback, very valid points and we'll certainly be taking it on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went to this Restaurant recently to celebrate a friends birthday.Having been to many restaurants on the Sunshine Coast found the wood fire grill at Ricky!s extremely disappointing,Food very average, over priced for what you got, and service poor. Would not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickysnoosa, Public Relations Manager at Wood Fire Grill, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Very regretful to hear of your experience with us, thank you for your honest feedback,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“New York comes to Noosa!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Brilliant food and atmosphere. Can't beat it. Steak cooked to perfection. Great lychee and basil cocktails. I love this place very much. I live in NYC and this place reminds me of Balthazar, an old favorite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LBDessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickysnoosa, Public Relations Manager at Wood Fire Grill, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Yowzer, awesome compliment, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood Fire Grill also viewed

 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Wood Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing