We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!!”
Review of Makepeace Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Makepeace Island
Ranked #55 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our recent stay on Makepeace Island was absolutely incredible. It was a pleasure from start to finish-unfortunately there was a finish!! Nick and his lovely staff are completely fantastic, always so happy to ensure your stay is perfect without being intrusive at all. The food was sublime, the villas are heavenly and I have never felt so relaxed than on my time on Makepeace Island, so sad to leave. I cannot fault this place and wish I could win the lottery so as to go once again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Well here is your chance. Rent Richard Branson's Noosa getaway and have the entire island to yourself and your guests. We did just that and spent three perfect days being totally indulgent and indulged. Where do I begin, its like visiting an old friend, all the luxuries are there, private villas, magnificent pool, tennis court, catamarans, kayaks,but it is the staff who excel and place Makepeace in a category all on its own. Nick Jones, the Manager has put together, a group of people who would not be out of place in the best resorts anywhere in the world, but still manage to convey the feeling that you've known them for ever. I have to single out Ross, our chef, who created a dazzling display of dishes and managed to satisfy everyone of our 13 guests. Nothing was too much trouble, in fact, they seems to know what was wanted before we wanted it ! The sunset river cruise complete with cocktails was a highlight. Abbie, Ross, Anna, Sam, Jason, Denno & Nick - thank you for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank AJBPLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything you could want for a special holiday or experience. It goes with out saying this is a special setting but the more special experience is the service provided by the staff. All lovely people very attentive to your every need but never in any way intrusive. Nick the manager can be congratulated not only for his own special service but from the way he has his team operate.
Of course it is very expensive and for many like us a once in a lifetime experience but if you are looking for a setting to have such an experience we can recommend Makepeace.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank highst25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was trying to find somewhere I could take most of my family and a few closest friends which included 7 babies (between 18 months and 5 years). So I needed a villa or similar, with lots of ability to tailor their offerings to the group (3 meals for the parents, 3 feeding times for the babies).

I wanted somewhere that I could lay out all the dietary requirements, feeding times etc that they could take all the information and leave me to be in the moment with my family.

The team at Makepeace made this happen flawlessly. The chef not only stunned the babies but definitely the parents. Each meal was spectacular and when we threw in random likes and requests he always amazed us.

The staff are incredibly friendly and dedicated, nothing is too much trouble. I feel sorry for the number of cocktails they had to keep making... then when one of saw another's cocktail, "ooh I'll have one of those".

The island is gorgeous and perfect for a relaxing holiday, best I think for a group that want to socialise amongst themselves. They do offer water skiing, kayaking, boat trips etc but just splashing around in the pool chatting is probably what its best for.

The accommodation is comfortable, air conditioned and each villa is very well tucked away meaning you can feel quite private from the rest of the group.

I'll probably be back next year. Where else could I get 15 people all together and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, no request was too large?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mantallyunsoundjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We chose Makepeace Island as the destination for our elopement and were not disappointed. The wedding service was lovely and relaxed and the island proved perfect for our honeymoon.

We were married on the first afternoon of our stay. The staff were very accommodating. A place for the ceremony & signing had been selected and prepared beautifully before our arrival. Multiple trips in the boat to ferry hair & make up, celebrant, photographer etc were handled happily and efficiently. The staff were even happy to handle music, take video and sign as witnesses for the ceremony which was perfect. We then had full use of the island for photos.

That night we were seated for the most amazing dinner prepared by the island's excellent chef. Dinner included some 7 courses of outstanding food that would put any restaurant we've been to to shame. Courses included fresh local seafood, local produce and was first class. They even made us a wedding cake.

Upon arrival we were told to treat the island as our home, no where was off limits and no request was too hard. Every meal was excellent. The staff were all warm and friendly and we felt that we'd made some great new friends. We could bang on about the facilities, but you can see all of that on their website. For us, the biggest asset of the island was the staff. They all got along great, treated us wonderfully & left us wanting for nothing whilst still judging how much space to give us to be alone. I have never experienced staff like this staying anywhere else.

We were treated to a sunset cruise, did some fishing on the jetty and went very close to napping on each of the many day beds spread over the island. The island genuinely felt like home during our stay and we were amazed to feel so relaxed after a stay of only 3 nights.

Makepeace Island truly was the perfect choice for our wedding and honeymoon. We have no hesitation in recommending a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 51MMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights on Makepeace Island with friends and found it truly memorable.
The Staff of Nick, Nic, Sarah, Anna & Jason were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and they always go the extra mile.
However nothing could surpass the food. It didn't matter if it was Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner the food using fresh local ingredients was extraordinary and without comparison.
If you want a truly amazing holiday, free from everyday irritants Makepeace Island is definitley the place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janie178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Wow!!
What an amazing place. We stayed last weekend for an indulgent family holiday & we were blown away by the place itself, the food & the impeccable service.
The facilities on the island are amazing from incredible villas, pool, spa, tennis court, lounge areas & amazing little daybeds scattered all over. Perfect for the ultimate holiday experience.
The team on Makepeace were fantastic - Nick, Nic, Sarah, Anna & Jason were all so attentive and made the stay one we will never forget.
Nick's food was incredible, every meal was very impressive & they went out of their way to cater for our 2yo as well.
Now we just need now to make another reason to head back.....

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, however villas are extra special & that bath tub is out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katieb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noosa
2.9 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
757 reviews
21.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#2 of 16 in Mooloolaba
388 reviews
3 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#4 of 10 in Noosa
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
3.1 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
3 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makepeace Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makepeace Island

Address: Noosa North Shore, Noosa, Queensland 4565, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: $4,122 - $4,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makepeace Island 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Makepeace Island. The Australian home of Sir Richard Branson and a sanctuary of seclusion upstream from world renowned Noosa on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast. Luxuriously accommodating up to 22 castaways, Makepeace offers a unique fusion of luxury, nature and authentic Balinese design creating an idyllic place to escape and unwind. You will be pampered in the privacy of your own exclusive island retreat and you will be rejuvenated in a haven of peace, tranquility and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Makepeace Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing