We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best Ice Cream In Australia”

Massimo's Gelateria
Ranked #3 of 18 Dessert in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still the best Ice Cream In Australia”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We always visit Massimo, every year on our annual Noosa holiday. Without a doubt, this is the best ice cream I have ever tried. Ever since day one of coming here they have provided sensational ice cream. Although the prices have gone up we're still willing to pay the extra dollar for an always amazing ice cream.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    65
    29
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality gelato”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Walk to the end of Hastings St to find this little gem, the Gelato is superior in texture and taste, compared to some of the other ice cream places in the same street. It's clean, and presents good value too. $6 for 2 scoops, whereas at C********* you get 1 scoop of their lesser quality ice cream at $6.
The weird policy on "no tasting" must shock a few patrons, its an institution to be able to taste a new flavour before buying it, but who knows maybe its been abused? Possibly limiting tastes to 2 flavours would be good?
Still it's the best tasting so we will go back... In fact we already have!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Probably best ice cream - certainly worst service”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The ice cream at Massimo's is indeed very good, especially all the sorbets as well as coconut and chocolate chips. That's the reason why we've been here a few times, even though service has always been poor. But today one of the staff was so unfriendly - she didn't either say hello, thank you or smiled, and didn't even listen properly to what I was ordering - so that we are going to buy our ice cream elsewhere. Coles offers some pretty good stuff, too. Running a business also means to train staff in being friendly to customers. At least in my opinion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sascha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Has been a let down”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Massimo's seems to have gone down in appeal. One of the things we were looking forward to in noosa was plenty of massimo gelato every night. We have been to noosa previously and agreed they were the best on the street. However, from my wife and it's experience this week it is very expensive, small servings and the staff look like they don't want to be there. Forced smiles. It seems hit and miss with the flavours. Some are great and others are nothing special. For example macadamia - I expected chunks of macadamised scattered throughout my serving however I did not bite into one fragment of nut. On the other hand, Rocher was excellent - contained bite sized chunks of Rocher throughout. Also they don't do kids cones. They need a $3 option for a small kids cone. Sorry - my negative experience motivated me to try some others along the street. They are all expensive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Australia”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have been to Noosa 11 times for a family holiday, and one thing never changes. Massimos simply does the best ice cream. Our kids always want to try the others, but we keep on coming back. Highlights? The meringue, tiramisu, cinnamon or rocher.

Helpful?
Thank Burgy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo's Gelateria also viewed

Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 
Noosaville, Noosa
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Massimo's Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing