We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll be over soon...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Ranked #7 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It'll be over soon...”
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Hotel is in a great location, DO NOT STAY THERE DURING RENOVATIONS!! I was put in the room next door to reno's, could not hear myself think, let alone speak, listen to television or most importantly RELAX... All the assistant manager would say was "It will be finished by 3:30pm today"
Also the pool was well dosed up in chlorine, I had fuzzy vision for about 6 hours after swimming for only a short time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thirtyfiveblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    571
    233
    83
    64
See reviews for
662
536
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

The French Quarter Resort is not a resort, rather it is an average unserviced apartment complex. Admittedly they are cheaper than other hotels on Hastings Street and in this case you definitely get what you pay for.

The rooms' furnishings date back to the 1970's and look as if they have not been renovated since then.

However my main complaint is about the lack of service.

We arrived at 11.00am from the airport and they told us the check in time was 2.00pm. We left our luggage and came back at 1.00pm. Again we were told that the room would be ready at 2.00pm. I understand that 2.00pm is the official check in time but if you have people there in your reception area I would have thought you would try and have their room ready when they return 2 hours later. It doesn't take 2 hours to clean a room and when we finally got into our room there were no towels and no tea bags.

Finally after check in we were given directions to the lift to our room. It was a very hot January day. We were told to walk out of the reception building and turn left and then left again. We did this but could not find the lift. After walking around and around ,dragging our bags around behind us I went back to reception. There were 3 people behind the desk and not one person made any attempt to come and show us the way. They only repeated the same directions. Only after I insisted that someone come and show us the way did a man reluctantly come and show us. They had forgotten to tell us that you have to walk through the garage to get to the lift!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivien_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelMad1983
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed here for three nights on a trip down the east coast of Australia. The resort isn't the flashiest by far in Noosa but it's in a great location right on Hastings Street and less than five minutes to the beach, shops and restarants. the room was a little dated, apparently they are in the middle of upgrading the apartments, but it was clean, the shower was good and the balcony looked out onto Hastings street.
Noosa is a beautiful place and It's definitely worth visiting and this place is a great option if you want to be in the heart of the action but not spend big bucks on some of the ridiculously priced hotels here.
If you like pizza make sure you visit the gourmet pizza restauranty on hastings street.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMad1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We arrived to a very busy Hastings street which was a bit of a shock.
Our room had great facalities but was not cleaned very well dirty oven, uncleaned toilets and average vacuum job, after using a litreof bleach and a can of glen 20 my family felt we could enjoy our holiday.
The hotel was overpriced we felt.
We enjoyed the Glas House mountains much more than the coast
Good luck if heading that way to find a patch of sand on the beach and make sure you have deep pockets.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnadoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed here over Christmas and New Year with a 3yr old and had the best time.
Great deluxe one bedroom up one floor with safe balcony over looking the pool. The location was perfect being at the south end of Hastings Street with no street noise, across the road from the beach, surf club (good food with little ones) and good coffee at Le Monde.
The pool was fantastic for all ages and our 3yr old was able to enjoy a twice daily swim/play with other children in the pool. Friendships were definately made. The staff we helpful at all times. We were in easy walking distance to restaurants, shops etc.
We would definately return the Breakfree French Quarter Resort again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Rivers
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We have just gotten back from 5 nights at Breakfree French Quarter Resort. I must say after reading all the negative reviews about this resort I was starting to wonder what I had got my family into. However, the place was so great and the location excellent. My family and I haven't had a holiday for 3 years and Breakfree French quarter was the best place. The rooms were big enough to semi self cater, however a short stroll down Hastings street catered for all types of food. The beach across the road was so convenient and then we would come back to the resort to soak and relax in the pool. We have a 3 year old child and the rooms were big enough for them to have their own space. The laundry facilities in the room were great. Best time had for all.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2009

The apartment was very nice. There were many facilities available to us and the location of the place was great!!
the negative thing was the staff. they could be a little more helpful to their customers. for example, the first day they just gave us the key and told us it is left, right, right, left or something. of course we were lost and i had to go back and ask him again and again he didn't come to show us, he just gave instructions again!!! and the place is huge!!!! no way man!!!!
besides that it was good experience and i recommend to all....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicenewzeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#5 of 10 in Noosa
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra French Quarter Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra French Quarter Resort

Property: Mantra French Quarter Resort
Address: 62 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly Breakfree French Quarter Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra French Quarter Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hastings Street, Mantra French Quarter is the perfect place to enjoy a seaside escape to Noosa. Mantra French Quarter is set back from the hustle and bustle of Hastings Street yet offers direct access to the shopping, dining and entertainment hub, making it the perfect place to enjoy the best of Noosa. Mantra French Quarter offers self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments or opt to pay a little extra for one of our One or Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartments which have been refurbished. All accommodation offers reverse cycle air conditioning, kitchenette including a stove top, microwave, bar fridge, toaster and tea and coffee facilities, in-house movies and cable TV. There are also laundry facilities and a balcony or terrace for relaxing in the fresh air. At the centre of Mantra French Quarter is a pool, spa, sauna and outdoor barbecue picnic area with a children's wading pool that can be accessed from your room via pathways surrounded by resort gardens. Noosa's famed restaurants and shopping boutiques are literally on the doorstep, with beaches and the National Park just a short stroll away. Within the Sunshine Coast and easily accessible from Noosa is the world's largest sand island, Fraser Island as well as Underwater World, the southern hemisphere's largest oceanarium and Australia Zoo, founded by conservationist Steve Irwin. At Mantra French Quarter you're sure to find an accommodation style to suit your Noosa holiday needs, whether it's a short or long stay you have in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra French Quarter Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree French Quarter Hotel Noosa
Breakfree French Quarter Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing