We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the French Quarter Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Ranked #6 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2009

After reading the reviews on this site, we were a little reluctant to take a gamble on the price, but I'd do it 20 times over! It was fantastic! We had a newly re-furbished room - clean, aesthetically appealing, foxtel and dvd (for our 2 yr old when she wanted a break from the beach!). Washer and dryer available (needed! after 6 days) and spa bath was luxury! Yes the place had lots of kids, and it was great! The pool is deep enough for adults, but caters for all the family. We were after an indulgent beach family holiday - and thats exactly what we got. Although we could see the other units, we rarely saw any occupants (maybe being on the 1st floor would be different if you are on the thorough-fare) and definately did not hear a THING from either side next door. No pool noise to speak of that we noticed, but certainly not if you have the doors shut and the air-cond on. Didnt care that we did not have a large table - it would be fine for a family of 4 (as a family of 3 it was great) and loved sitting outdoors - why would you be inside in Noosa? Not being huge on air-cond, it would have been good if we had a screen door to close at night (wouldnt leave the main door open with a 2 yr old!) but that would be the only comment. Plenty of cupboard spaces - its a beach holiday, how much stuff do you need! - for a week's stay with changes of clothes for the evening for all 3. Close to EVERYTHING - across the road from the beach - this was a brilliant place to stay, and worth every cent. If you are after a budget holiday or needing a lot of space for a large family/ies then this is probably not the place for you. But if you want to feel a bit spoilt, with the options of self-catering and convenience of in-room microwave, stove, washing machines, foxtel etc then this is it! Will definately be staying here again, and recommending it!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTeaTreeGully_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,628 - 1,634 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2008

We arrived with 2 adults Ma Pa and 11 yr old daughter Friday afternoon to celebrate the 50th birthday of a good friend.
Self contained unit, large bathroom with washing machine and drier, with shower/spa, very spacious.
Two way bathroom leading onto the hallway and also the bedroom, consisting or plenty of hanging space with two hanging robes on eitherside of the bed and one larger one with set of built in draws,not a great deal in storage ie draws, bedroom consistered of queensize bed, bedside lamps etc. Sliding louve doors to the lounge and hall way giving a feeling of space. One can lie in bed and look out onto the pool area, but remember if you can see out, they can see in.
Lounge has fold out couch for 2, tv kitchenette, fridge and cooktop and microwave.
Balcony looks out onto swimming pool surrounded by palms and beautiful gardens. There is no table to eat off except outside.
Two bedroom units have a breakfast bar and much larger balcony with table and chairs.
Large folding glass sliding doors open onto the balcony.
This is a very large complex, although the sounds from next door could not be heard they could from above when people moved the coffee table back across the tiles at a very early hour.
Kids waking you up at 7.30am sunday morning outside your room playing in the pool and doors slaming did not go down well.
My husband who is slightly deaf had no worries at all.
This place was clean, well maintained, a little pricey for what it offered but it lead out onto the main street to the many shops and cafes and 5 minutes to the beach.
Great for families but also for all ages, there was quite a mixture from retirees to young families.There are lifts to the 3 levels and underground car parking. It was a hike carrying eskies and luggage but otherwise pretty good.
Would I go back again ? No too expensive and too noisy and that was the weekend not holidays. If it was much cheaper yes I would go back. We had a great time and the bed was very comfortable. If I went back it would be to the top floor, less noise.
This is a place that is used as a base where you can go out each day and sleep by night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLANZ-FAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We love French Quarter. The rooms are small/compact but are well stocked with kitchen facilities and lounges. They can lack a dining table but you have an outdoor setting which is all you need. We stayed with our one year old in a portacot beside our bed. There wasn't a lot of floor space for her to move around however the pools more than make up for this. They are fantastic and the beach is across the road. No need to use a car. Everything is walking distance. We love it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paddy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

This was our fourth time at the French Quarter, and until this time around the hotel was getting gradually worse. We always seem to book here though as the location and price can't be beaten, and to have your own in-room kitchen helps save a bit of cash on the ever-expensive Hastings Street.

First of all, let me start by saying don't bother requesting a particular area or room. We have done this three times and every time it has been ignored, with us usually getting exactly what we asked NOT to get. This time around we requested the East quarter (specifically not the North Quarter) as my partner is a light sleeper and we need to stay away from busy streets and slamming gates if we are to sleep in any way. We of course got the north quarter. To our surprise, however, this room was the best we've had yet. Overlooking the pool area and on the third level, the room was the last in a row of rooms, meaning we had extra windows we were able to open out and allow fresh air to go through the room. Unlike last time we stayed, the room was spotless - and every facility worked!! People who have stayed here before will often note that at least one thing is always broken in the rooms. Not this time - it was perfect!

The bathroom was also spotless and the hotel has upgraded to better quality toiletries, meaning the bath gel and moisturisers were semi-decent. The towels were also quite good. The room offers a fantastic shower and a lovely little spa. A bit small, but still great if you're keen for a bit of relaxation after a long day on the beach. The washing machine and dryer are such a great bonus, especially if you're staying for more than a week, as it allows you to wash and dry towels etc with little trouble.

The bed was clean and comfortable. Pillows were fine, but if they aren't to scratch there are two spare in the cupboard you can choose from. Avoid sleeping under the bedspread though as they are looking a bit old and I don't think they get washed all that often.

The air-conditioning in the room is wonderfully effective and the balcony (of our room, at least) was huge and allowed us to look over the pool and tropical gardens. Note: don't sit out there while the air con is on, as it gets really loud.

The free Foxtel in the room is also fantastic and it allowed us to watch movies on the rare occasions it was raining outside.

Staff were great and very receptive to our requests. We checked in in a matter of minutes, which was great. We were supposed to get a rejuvenating tea set on arrival. It wasn't there, so I called reception and in no time they had organised for a selection of herbal teas along with a little pamper pack of moisturisers, body scrubs and lip balms to be delivered up to our room. A little bonus which confirmed that the property is trying hard to win guests back after a horror couple of years of service.

On the negative side, and as mentioned earlier, I'm not sure why the hotel takes room requests when they simply don't recognise them. This becomes incredibly frustrating when you have one simple, but very important, request, and their response is "we're fully booked, so this is the room you've got". I doubt 35 other people have requested a room just like ours, so not too sure how that's an excuse. Also, over the last few years the hotel has become incredibly 'family friendly', meaning the pool area was swarming with at least 30-40 kids (under 5 years old!) a day from 7am to at least 7pm, and the spa also full of them. This means these facilities are practically useless to anyone who doesn't have kids, and it's a real shame. This would be the main reason why we'd consider staying somewhere else next time we're up there. There are simply too many small children in the resort and everywhere on Hastings Street to the point of which there is no escape unless you're locked up in your room. I would strongly suggest the hotel introduce an Adults Only pool or spa area so they don't alienate couples who want to stay at the resort.

The only other issue is the lifts, which never work. If you have a pram (which everyone seems to have) or a disability, be wary of this resort. The lift didn't work for around 50% of the time we were there.

Otherwise, a marked improvement on last time, and I'm positive that, with the new renovations taking place, the resort will only get better. I'd recommend this to any of my friends or family members.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robynab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

This hotel is SHOCKING! we stayed here last November - about 10 families together for a week - all of us had small children..I dont quite know how to begin as everything is a negative - we booked way in advance and requested we all be put in vaguely the same area - we also requested rooms on the ground floor as we have small children..a week before our holiday there was suddenly a note on the Stella website 'there will be MAJOR renovation work' the week of our stay - when we rang to check we were told 'yes there will be jackhammering and many lifts will not be operational' so it would be better 'to stay somewhere else' - but no offer was made. When we checked into the hotel the staff were sullen and unhelpful - I cant believe it claims to be 4 star - it resembles a kids holiday camp - really daggy, old fashioned and in utter need of MAJOR updating and improvements. we were given a key to our room and despite our requests we were on the 3rd floor in an area where the lift was not operational! great with a 9 month old baby. When we asked for help with our bags - this was refused. The week of our holiday was shocking - there was major drilling so bad that we could not even sit by the pool..our room was damp, unclean and the microwave and washing machine did not work - despite constant complaints to the unhelpful staff nothing was ever done..when we returned home we wrote several complaint letters to Stella but all we were given was a 50% off voucher to be used at another Stella resort - but there is NO way we would ever waste our holidays by staying in such a sub-standard resort ever again...honestly do not waste your money or your time by staying in this hell-hole....

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank holidayhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

My friend and I booked a two bedroom apartment at the French Quarter. Ours was one of the recently refurbished apartments and was very nice. The master bedroom has a jacuzzi tub with a glass enclosure with a separate toilet room. The master bedroom is enclosed with louvered doors, which could be a bit of a privacy problem. The second bedroom had two twin beds.

Decor was acceptable, but not luxurious. The washing machine and drier worked well as did all kitchen appliances.

The location was fantastic! Easy to stroll down the main Noosa strip for dining and bar hopping.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHIDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Just got back from Noosa after 4 night stay at this hotel,
It was in an ideal location, fronting on to Hastings street and close to the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We were originally booked into a newly refurbished unit with nice modern decor and new kitchen & bathroom etc., but unfortunately only view was of a blank wall of the block next door. We requested a change of location and were imediately moved to a lovely room overlooking the tropicai gardens and the lagoon style pool. Only about 50% of the rooms have been refurbished so far so make sure you specify a new room with an outlook.
The hotel is approx 50m from the main beach on the Noosa Heads end of Hastings street with good access to all the fantastic restaurants and shopping etc,
Overall a fine hoiliday and a very relaxing place to stay, we would definitely like to return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank casafiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#4 of 10 in Noosa
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra French Quarter Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra French Quarter Resort

Address: 62 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly Breakfree French Quarter Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: $152 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra French Quarter Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra French Quarter is set back from the hustle and bustle of Hastings Street yet offers direct access to the shopping, dining and entertainment hub, making it the perfect place to enjoy the best of Noosa. Mantra French Quarter offers self-contained One and Two Bedroom Standard or Deluxe Apartments or opt to pay a little extra for one of our Two or Three Bedroom Deluxe Poolside Apartments, offering reverse cycle air conditioning, kitchenette including a stove top, microwave, bar fridge, toaster and tea and coffee facilities, in-house movies and cable TV. There are also laundry facilities and a balcony or terrace for relaxing in the fresh air. At the centre of Mantra French Quarter is a pool, spa, sauna and outdoor barbecue picnic area with a children's wading pool that can be accessed from your room via pathways surrounded by resort gardens. Noosa's famed restaurants and shopping boutiques are literally on the doorstep, with beaches and the National Park just a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra French Quarter Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree French Quarter Hotel Noosa
Breakfree French Quarter Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing