We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Ranked #7 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom delux apartment , it was very small and had a terrible smell and we paid a lot of money for it as i wanted something a better than a standard apartment . It was suppose to be refurbished the only thing that was refurbished was the kitchen.. It was very dark we had no balcony just a small courtyard which looked onto some bushes. The lift was terrible very slow. The only good thing was the location and the pool was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hello and thanks for your review of Mantra French Quarter Noosa. We are sorry the unit did not meet your expectation on this occasion. If you advised us of the smell you experienced whilst at the resort, we are also sorry we were unable to resolve the issue adequitely for you. We do all we can to constantly improve our offer and go out of our way to ensure our in house guests are well looked after. Hopefully you may consider us again in the future so we can show you our usual standards.
Thanks again for your feedback and all the best.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,383 - 1,389 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were disappointed in this property given the web page had listed it as deluxe and refurbished. The 2 bed 2 bath unit was unit 203. Problems included a lift that struggled to cope with the traffic. It was small and slow. The unit was basically clean but carpet was stained, couch sagged and master bed was small, soft and offered a poor night's sleep for two normal size people. The washing machine had attitude and stopped six times during wash although we had only a medium load. On the plus side the unit had a nice big balcony overlooking a great heated pool. The beach flagged area was just across the road. It is difficult to see refurbished beyond maybe painting. I would look at other options next visit or go to Noosaville where there were also better restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanManlyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hello and thanks for your review of Mantra French Quarter Noosa. We are sorry the unit did not meet your expectations and we do appreciate you mentioning the unit number on your review. We have since inspected the unit based on your comments and have taken actions to rectify. All forms of feedback enable us to constantantly improve and we do thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Hopefully we can welcome you back again some day.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

A big thank you to Mantra for making our stay at The French Quarter in Noosa most comfortable. Ours was a last minute booking and because my husband is disabled I requested a walk-in shower during a very busy period over Easter, we were worried that they wouldn't be able to accommodate us but they did, with a beautiful room overlooking Hastings street with glimpses of the famous beach. At night the pin lighting in all of the Hastings Street trees made us feel as though we were in Paris and yet we were close to everything Noosa is famous for, including the Surf Club. Thanks Mantra, we'll be back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. It depends whether you want to overlook the pool or Hastings Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi and thanks for your kind review of Mantra French Quarter Noosa. We are glad we could accommodate your husband appropriately and that you both enjoyed everything Noosa has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The room we had overlooking the pool was made remarkably private by the foliage and it was surprisingly quiet. Pool is locked for the night which probably helps. Enjoyed the spa bath. Room set up a bit 1960s and there was no roo on the small patio with too much furniture for the size. But that was really a minor issue. Very handy to the fabulous Noosa Beach, restaurants and shops. And loved the 24 hour desk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello and thanks for your review of Mantra French Quarter Noosa,

We are all glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your constructive comments about your unit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Noosa again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here before when it was just the 2 of us & returned this time as a family.
I made the mistake of booking a 1 bed apartment, there wasn't much space for a travel cot nor for our 10 month old to crawl about. We did make enquiries about changing to a 2 bed after we had arrived but it was fully booked - due to school holidays. So a lesson learnt for us! :)
Our apartment was looking a little tired, paintwork & decor needed freshening up, the bed had seen better days and it was quite dark inside. But on the plus side, we were on ground floor with easy access to the pool which was great and for 3 nights the apartment served it's purpose.
We had some heavy rain on one of the days & the down pipe outside on our patio was leaking at the join, so again some maintenance is needed.
These negative are all minor & didn't spoil our mini break but just disappointing to see, when you had such a great experience the first time around.
We will return to Noosa as we love the area. But will look at other accommodation options before booking French Quarter or will book the higher grade apartment to ensure we get good quality.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Hayles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello and thanks for your review of Mantra French Quarter Noosa. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we also appreciate the constructive feedback you have mentioned about your unit and the down pipe. We like to rectify any issues as soon as possible, hence it would be helpful if you could email me the unit number you stayed in? steve.mcpharlin@mantragroup.com.au

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the Mantra French Quarter again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My daughter and I spent a week in Noosa staying at the mantra. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe apartment which we found excellent. It was very comfortable and met all our expectations. The location is central, right on Hastings Street, a short stroll to the beach, shops and national park. The pool area was lovely and the atmosphere was very relaxing. The staff were extremely helpful, especially Kate who was always happy to help. The complimentary secure carpark was fantastic, a touch most other hotels in the area did not offer. We would highly recommend staying here and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thanks for your review of Mantra French Quarter Noosa, We are glad you and your daughter had a great time and Kate will be grateful for your mention, she loves what she does.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

It is a lovely place to stay, the pool area is fantastic, the staff are all very lovely, including the cleaning crew :) It has everything that you could expect. The sauna is a nice touch :) Perfect. It makes up for the fact that spa pools in Oz are cold compared to NZ. Within 5 minutes I had goosebumps! It must be an Oz thing as the climate is much hotter that NZ. The room we had was very nice. 109 I think. It looked out to the end of hastings street, and we had bats in the tree right outside. The view of fairy lights lining the main street is beautiful :) I love that you can go for a short stroll and have anything you want :) Only 1 complaint though, when we got in the room, in the bathroom there was a strong stink, and I figured out it was the smell of cigarettes. Though it was a non smoking room, there was an ashtray outside on the balcony and the stink in the bathroom was the broom in the laundry area, which obviously gets used to sweep the balcony and the cigarette ash! We were going to close the pull down door to the laundry, but it was filthy, so we just put up the the smell. Which was difficult, when you have a shower or bath the room heats up, so releases the smell from the broom. Yuck! So if you clean the pull down door and staff use a separate broom to sweep the ash then it is perfect :) Really, the room is lovely :) and the staff are great :) So definately we will stay there again :) We stayed 5 nights and cannot wait to go back again :) Thank you :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexLovesRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQGM, General Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi and thanks for your review of Mantra French Quarter. We appreciate you sharing the good news about your stay and we are particularly thankful of you pointing out the broom smell issue. Mentioning your room number has allowed our team to get onto it straight away.

Thanks again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back to a Mantra resort again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#3 of 10 in Noosa
535 reviews
2.4 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra French Quarter Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra French Quarter Resort

Address: 62 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly Breakfree French Quarter Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: $145 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra French Quarter Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra French Quarter is set back from the hustle and bustle of Hastings Street yet offers direct access to the shopping, dining and entertainment hub, making it the perfect place to enjoy the best of Noosa. Mantra French Quarter offers self-contained One and Two Bedroom Standard or Deluxe Apartments or opt to pay a little extra for one of our Two or Three Bedroom Deluxe Poolside Apartments, offering reverse cycle air conditioning, kitchenette including a stove top, microwave, bar fridge, toaster and tea and coffee facilities, in-house movies and cable TV. There are also laundry facilities and a balcony or terrace for relaxing in the fresh air. At the centre of Mantra French Quarter is a pool, spa, sauna and outdoor barbecue picnic area with a children's wading pool that can be accessed from your room via pathways surrounded by resort gardens. Noosa's famed restaurants and shopping boutiques are literally on the doorstep, with beaches and the National Park just a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra French Quarter Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree French Quarter Hotel Noosa
Breakfree French Quarter Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing