We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and Convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra French Quarter Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Ranked #8 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at the resort and both experiences were great. This time we rented a 1 bedroom delux room. It was clean, well fitted out and very comfortable. I recommend that this resort for people wanting to stay 2 days+ as the facilities for cooking are very complete, along with washing. It's not a hotel, rather a longer stay apartment complex.

The Pool area was clean and the gardens well maintained. We love this property for teh location - in the middle of town and a short walk to the beach, shops and national park without a heft price tag.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the little extra and get a delux room. They are modern and well appointed. We have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay on both visits you have made to French Quarter Resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    505
    210
    77
    57
See reviews for
566
472
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay in a deluxe room (310) and I would love to return here for a longer stay. Our room had been refurbished and contained all you needed to stay in a self contained apartment. A two burner stove top, oven, dishwasher, refrigerator, a washing machine and dryer were provided as well as a small clothes horse which could be used on the balcony. The bed was very comfortable as well as the pillows. Fans in the living area and bedroom as well as reverse cycle air conditioning kept the temperature how we liked it. The place was spotless and bright and very pleasant. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and able to provide extra soap etc. should it be required. The location is excellent, right on Hastings St and across the road from the beach.

Room Tip: My understanding is these rooms are owned individually so quality may vary to to some degree. Stick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frecklesbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at BreakFree French Quarter Resort. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our Deluxe rooms, and the location of the resort.
I will be sure to pass on to our wonderful staff in reception and housekeeping your positive comments regarding their service.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie aussie aussie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights with my 5 year old daughter during the sept school holidays. I choose this place because of the proximity to the beach ( right across the road) as i found from staying at previous places that weren't near hastings street that it was near impossible to get a park close to the beach.
The accom interior is fine (i didnt choose it for the look as i wasnt spending that much time in the room) they are a bit dated but didnt really bother me. our room was right on the main road but wasnt noisy at night. It is also right across from a fab ice cream place and walking distance to all the best shops and food places hastings street has to offer. The pool area is large and never felt over crowded but seemed to be full of kiddies ( which was fine) check in and check out was quick and simple and i didnt have a problem at any time whilst staying. Highly recommend it if you're not too pickiy on the look of a room and are more an outdoors and experience noosa kind of person with kiddies : )

Room Tip: for those with kiddies having a room that looks over the pool area may be helpful : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffanyandLillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and we are happy to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. Thank you for pointing out different details regarding the resort and surrounding location.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

After booking a special "spa escape weekend"we ariived at our room to what I would describe as a totally unacceptible room. Our standard room can only be described as substandard. There was even blood on the carpet. The first thing that hit us when we walked into the room was the smell of stagnant water I assume from the drains. The furniture was chipped and and really old and the oudoor table on the balcony was cracked. We were not happy as we thought we had already paid too much for our room but thought because of the location being close to the beach we would stretch ourselves. After complaining we were moved to the room next door which was like night and day, a lovely room,totally renovated and just what we were expecting, but we had to pay an extra $35 per night with the girl at reception agreeing that the first room was a bit of a mess? This all makes me wonder if it is a bit of a trap so that once you are booked in to the standard room you are compelled to pay the extra to upgrade your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heymish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback, I appreciate you taking the time to pass on your experience.
Correctly you have mentioned there is a difference between the Standard rooms, and the Deluxe rooms, as the latter have been renovated. We apologise if there was any misunderstanding if this was not communicated correctly when making your booking, but we are quite open about the two different room types.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Deluxe room, and that reception were able to cater to your expectations.
Please feel free to contact me directly, as it is always appreciated if feedback from a specific room is given, so further follow up to improve these can occur.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second time staying here, and we enjoyed it just as much as our first. The big attraction been the fantastic pools and spa that the kids just love to swim in. Room was clean and functional. People should keep in mind that these really are holiday units, not a hotel or a resort in the traditional sense. Location is A1. Great place for people with young kids.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room for young childrens daytime sleeps then request the South block. It is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hot_Dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is great to hear you enjoyed staying at BreakFree French Quarter Resort once again! It's wonderful the kids enjoyed the pools and spa, a definite favourite for families staying here.
We also appreciate the tips you have given to readers, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I don't often complete reviews for hotels, but feel it is necessary to give an accurate description for this one. We booked this hotel (2 bedroom) after a friend recommended it. I don't think I have been more disappointed in a hotel in the past 20 years. I do understand that some rooms have been updated (Deluxe rooms), but ours was not a Deluxe room.

I will start with the pros:
Pool - the pool is family friendly. It is in the center of the hotel so you never have a far walk. It is a good size so even when crowded it doesn't feel overcrowded. It has a toilet and shower, although I didn't use or look at them.

Location - amazing! Can't beat the location. On Hastings...across from beach, Surf Club, etc. location really is superb.

Reception - the reception were always friendly, even when telling us that they had no other rooms available to move to.

The areas for improvement:
There really are too many to list so I will just give the most obvious.

Room in general - in need of an update! And a deep clean! There are chunks of carpet missing. One of our windows was missing blinds. The couch and comforters appear to be stained and dirty. One of the loungers on the patio was so rusted that you couldn't sit on it even if you wanted to.

Kitchen - there are dishes but no detergent to wash them with. No paper towels or starter kit. No where to put the rubbish bin. And much more....

Bathrooms - dated and do not come close to appearing clean.

Our front door did not have a deadbolt - appears it was ripped off the wall. This is a problem as the doors are light weight and easy for toddlers to open.

We have traveled to 9 countries since January so I feel that we have a solid base to compare to. I wouldn't stay here unless the only thing you are concerned with is location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback, and it is noted that although you enjoyed many of the facilities and surrounding areas, your room left you dissapointed.
As you pointed out, there is a difference between the standard and Deluxe units, with the Deluxe being refurbished. All feedback given though is used to help upgrade these units that do not meet our guests expectations, so we appreciate the time you have taken to advise us of your concerns for this particular one. All the housekeeping issues in the kitchen you have mentioned will also be passed on to our Housekeeping Manager to address.
The door locks you have mentioned are secure swipe key access, with a deadbolt on the inside casing, which is very much the standard for hotels world wide now.
Thank you again for your comments, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to arrange to stay with us again, which will allow us to allocate you a room more suited to your preferences and has been refurbished.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had 3 nights here in Sept and the location is terrific. just across from the beach and surf club. very quiet even though it was busy with lots of families. nice deluxe apartment, huge tv, views of the pool, comfortable beds. Our first time in noosa was great and we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluvtassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your positive experience at BreakFree French Quarter Resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#6 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
0.1 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#3 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra French Quarter Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra French Quarter Resort

Property: Mantra French Quarter Resort
Address: 62 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly Breakfree French Quarter Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra French Quarter Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hastings Street, Mantra French Quarter is the perfect place to enjoy a seaside escape to Noosa. Mantra French Quarter is set back from the hustle and bustle of Hastings Street yet offers direct access to the shopping, dining and entertainment hub, making it the perfect place to enjoy the best of Noosa. Mantra French Quarter offers self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments or opt to pay a little extra for one of our One or Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartments which have been refurbished. All accommodation offers reverse cycle air conditioning, kitchenette including a stove top, microwave, bar fridge, toaster and tea and coffee facilities, in-house movies and cable TV. There are also laundry facilities and a balcony or terrace for relaxing in the fresh air. At the centre of Mantra French Quarter is a pool, spa, sauna and outdoor barbecue picnic area with a children's wading pool that can be accessed from your room via pathways surrounded by resort gardens. Noosa's famed restaurants and shopping boutiques are literally on the doorstep, with beaches and the National Park just a short stroll away. Within the Sunshine Coast and easily accessible from Noosa is the world's largest sand island, Fraser Island as well as Underwater World, the southern hemisphere's largest oceanarium and Australia Zoo, founded by conservationist Steve Irwin. At Mantra French Quarter you're sure to find an accommodation style to suit your Noosa holiday needs, whether it's a short or long stay you have in mind. Maintenance Notice: Mantra French Quarter will be undergoing pool, sauna and change room maintenance works. The resort sauna and change room/pool toilet facilities will be closed from 30 January until 24 March 2017. There will be alternate change room and toilet facilities within the complex however there are no alternate sauna facilities. There will be remedial works being carried out throughout the pool area and complex, however the pool will remain open during this time. There will be noisy works occurring during the hours of 0830-1700 Monday – Friday. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause and look forward to launching our new and updated sauna area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mantra French Quarter Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree French Quarter Hotel Noosa
Breakfree French Quarter Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing