We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family apartment on Hastings Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Ranked #7 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Right across the road from the newly renovated Surf Lifesaving Club you are in a great position to get to the beach and walk along Hastings Street. No need to drive anywhere. We had a 2 bedroom apartment in great modern condition, which for 2 adults and 2 kids was perfect. The kids were always down at the pool if not on the beach. A great position for a Noosa holiday, and as it is not absolute beachfront facing the price is good as well. There is a great cafe out the front on Hastings Street serving breakfast early with a lot of locals stopping by. Dinner at the Surf Club is a must with the balcony overlooking the beach. I noticed a lot of repeat business with families I spoke to having stayed previously.

Room Tip: Ask for East Block in winter as you get the sun all day on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank thefareast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we appreciate your positive comments.
We're glad you enjoyed the location, the apartment you and your family stayed in, and it sounds like the kids enjoyed the heated poools and beach!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,499 - 1,505 of 1,666 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 days with friends. We had a one bedroom apartment. It was very tired, old decor, sagging couch to the point that I got a sore back sitting watching tv for one hour or so. The place was very clean and the staff lovely and helpful. Bathroom did not have hand towels and only one face cloth to use for the 2 of us. Rooms are not serviced. Location right in Hasting Street, just a few steps and you are at the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peppy569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your stay with us. I am glad to hear you found the staff lovely and helpful, and the location suited you.
We will pass on your comments to our Housekeeping Manager who will address your concerns regarding the hand towels, and the feedback regarding the couch is also noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree French Quarter Resort in the future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom Apartment in the South Block with car parking underneath which overlooked the pool and was very roomy and comfortable with everything that you needed. The location in Hastings Street.was just accross the road from the Surfclub and Beach. Also a 10 - 15 minute walk to the National Park which has stunning views where you may even see the whales.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laralopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay at BreakFree French Quarter Resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Don't be fooled by the rather dated entrance of this small resort-my wife and son really enjoyed our stay here and found the staff helpful and the rooms smart and functional. Communal pools were lovely and warm and the location of the resort at the corner of Hastings street was ideal for shops, boardwalk and nature walks as well as the beach.

Room Tip: if you have a young child there are some great rooms a little further from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danohughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback, and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here over the June long weekend in one of the refurbished 2-bed apartments.

Positives
- The staff were really friendly and welcoming, which (having encountered so many ambivalent hotel receptionists) was a refreshing change. As it rained the whole weekend, we asked them for a DVD player and a lovely guy delivered it straight away and got it working for us.
- Our apartment was nice and had a big terrace overlooking the pool complex. We had a good fitted kitchen and lounge area, master bedroom/bathroom (all in one), a small twin room at the back and second shower room.
- Given the weather, we were plenty warm enough thanks to the heating system, which was a nice surprise as apartments like that can often be too cold. Presumably the air con would be just as effective in the summer.
- The location is brilliant, and you’re just metres away from Noosa’s beach and shops – perfect.

Negatives
- I really wasn't keen on the all-in-one bed/bathroom configuration, which is the main reason for only giving 3 stars. Some people might like it, and there are accurate photos on the website, it just wasn't my thing. The basin area and bath (with overhead shower) are directly in the main bedroom. The toilet is enclosed behind a door. This provided no privacy and wasn't ideal if people went to bed at different times. And if you wanted to use the toilet and wash your hands in the night - you'd have to turn the main bedroom light on.
- The bedroom is separated from the main living area by screen doors, and is only a few feet away from the TV in the living room so again, if people go to bed at different times, the night owls have to sit in the living area with the lights off and TV on silent so as not to disturb the people trying to sleep behind the screen doors. I guess it would work better for a family whose children go to sleep early in the back bedroom.
- There are a few comments on here about the refurbished rooms being so much better. If I hadn’t known our room had just been done up, it wouldn’t have been obvious. They must have recycled a few of the fixtures and fittings as some were a bit old and dusty. That was fine, just not as sparkling new as I’d expected.
- It was mostly quite clean, although I wasn't overly impressed with our toilet area, which was a bit grimy.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay in a fantastic location. I think the layout of the apartments and huge pool complex would suit families very well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with BreakFree French Quarter Resort.
I have passed your positive comments regarding the friendly and welcoming service onto our staff, and I am glad they were very helpful during your stay.
We've noted your comments with the room configuration and fixtures inside, as this feedback helps with future refurbishments and room mainenance programs.
I have also passed on your feedback regarding the bathroom area to our Housekeeping Manager.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel was great value. 2 bedrooms and a kitchen/living room with balcony. all the cooking utensils needed and a moderately warm swimming pool (for the winter months). There were two hot tubs and a sauna. We could walk out the front door and be on Hastings street with all the shops and restaurants. and the beach was across the road. great value we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bakayaroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
It was great to read how much you and your family enjoyed our heated pool and hot tubs, and the location of the resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree French Quarter Resort in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My partner and I took a weekend getaway to Noosa to relax. Our stay at French Quarter Resport was anthing but relaxing. We got a Delux Single room (refurbished room). AT first glance the room appeared neat. Then it was time to sit on the couch, it was sooo saggy that when you sat on it you were almost sitting on the the mattress underneath. The bed, OMG was the MOST UNCOMFORTABLE, bed I have ever slept in, it was old and I beleive I only got about four hours of sleep over the two nights. I was freezing in the middle of the night and the one blanket provided in the cupboard did not do anything. THere were flying ants all over the bathroom. The washing machine was circa 1980 (not that I had to use it). Room service staff let themselves in (we didn't order any) at 7.30 am in the morning!!

There was a loud party in the resort which thankfully was quiet at 9.30pm. The tv had terrible reception on some stations, and it couldn't be moved to allow watching tv in bed. The spa was a triangle in the shower. The jets look dirty, so there was no way I was using it. Oh and you need a step ladder to get into it. THere were screaming kids all day. Not a couples quiet weekend away place that is for sure.

I really wanted to go home and couldn't wait for the weekend to be over so I could leave!!

French Connection there is NO way you are a 4 star. You need to buy all new furniture!!!!! I will never ever return.

Room Tip: My tip would be to go elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2012Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at BreakFree French quarter. We appreciate all feedback which we can use to improve our facilities and service.
In regards to your query on blankets, we have an extra supply at reception, which is open 24 hours, that can be collected and used on those chilly nights.
Although there is no room service, or housekeeping staff on at 7:30am, we are happy to look into this further with the Duty Manager on that shift. If you could contact me directly, it would be helpful for some further information regardings dates, and also a room number. This will also allow us to follow up on your feedback regarding the couch and bed, and to apologise to you personally.
BreakFree French Quarter definitly has many families that enjoy our facilities, and children do tend to be excited, especially around our beautiful heated pool. Our TV system will be upgraded to digital in the next 2 weeks, which is great news.
We look forward to hearing from you directly regarding your stay, and our apologies if it was not up to the standard you were expecting.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#3 of 10 in Noosa
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra French Quarter Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra French Quarter Resort

Address: 62 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly Breakfree French Quarter Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: $153 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra French Quarter Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra French Quarter is set back from the hustle and bustle of Hastings Street yet offers direct access to the shopping, dining and entertainment hub, making it the perfect place to enjoy the best of Noosa. Mantra French Quarter offers self-contained One and Two Bedroom Standard or Deluxe Apartments or opt to pay a little extra for one of our Two or Three Bedroom Deluxe Poolside Apartments, offering reverse cycle air conditioning, kitchenette including a stove top, microwave, bar fridge, toaster and tea and coffee facilities, in-house movies and cable TV. There are also laundry facilities and a balcony or terrace for relaxing in the fresh air. At the centre of Mantra French Quarter is a pool, spa, sauna and outdoor barbecue picnic area with a children's wading pool that can be accessed from your room via pathways surrounded by resort gardens. Noosa's famed restaurants and shopping boutiques are literally on the doorstep, with beaches and the National Park just a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra French Quarter Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree French Quarter Hotel Noosa
Breakfree French Quarter Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing