We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mouse in the house...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra French Quarter Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mantra French Quarter Resort
Ranked #9 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A mouse in the house...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We are currently checked in at this hotel and are not looking forward to uncovering what the next 8 nights may hold for us here...I'll start at the beginning.
We checked in on Monday and were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of Shelley at reception and the cleanliness of our apartment (we stayed at a sister property last year that was quite dirty on checkin!). Everything seemed to be quite good until my husband discovered mice excrement in one of the kitchen cupboards...initially we decided not to say anything and just kept that cupboard closed...the following evening with both babies asleep and us ready to relax into the evening my husband saw a mouse run across the dining area under the wine fridge. When he told me of this at first I didn't believe him but then I saw the mouse myself.
My husband went down to reception (we decided against calling so as not to disturb the children) and came back with an apology from the staff on duty and the promise of being moved at our convenience-again we decided to wait until morning as we didn't want to wake the kids!
This morning my husband went back to reception and re-explained the situation to be met with disbelief and contempt from the new staff member...her attitude was very much implying that co-habiting with a mouse was not a big deal! She even said that she's worked here four years and never heard of mice problems!!! My husband asked her what the problem was as the night lady was prepared to move us straight away and couldn't have been more apologetic...eventually she relented and gave him the keys to a different apartment clearly pointing out that she was upgrading us.
We are now reasonably settled into our new 'upgraded' apartment, after much inconvenience to ourselves with hardly an offer of assistance from this property (the offer to help came through more than an hour after we'd received the keys!)...
We are still trying to work out how this apartment could be classified as an upgrade from the last...although we do now have a pool view, a pantry and full size fridge...we've also traded both outdoor and indoor dining areas for just an outdoor one and the two split systems have been replaced with an inefficient and seemingly ineffective central heating system!
Also the 'leather' sofa in the upgraded apt is not genuine unlike our previous sofa and has patches peeling,and the two ottomans are disgusting with the PVC peeling terribly.
For the second year in a row the Breakfree properties have been a majorly disappointing aspect of our family holidays.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFFQ, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
The Team and I are available to assist you for the rest of your stay so please do not hesitate to ask if there is anything we can do your you. We hope you are now enjoyng your stay at the resort. Kindest regards Cosimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    510
    211
    78
    57
See reviews for
573
475
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here at the start of our honeymoon, I was a little surprised at the size of our room, it was a bit smaller than I expected but in reality was perfectly fine for our needs. Although a dining table and chairs would have been nice as we really couldn't use the balcony much as it got really warm out there because it was quite enclosed and the air conditioner motor was also out there.

The location on Hastings street was great, so many great restaurants, in fact our hardest decison each day was working out where to eat.

The pool was lovely, would be a great place to take kids.

The reception staff were very friendly and we were able to check in early as our room had already been cleaned. Any problems we did have they dealt with very quickly. We also booked a few tours/tickets through reception and it all went very smoothly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_fritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

We spent 5 nights in a 2 bedroom deluxe apartment overlooking Hastings street.
The apartment looked lovely on the website, but in reality it was in poor conditions, dark and not very clean.
We were supposed to stay for 7 nights but we couldn't bare the noise caused by some renovation occurring on the main entrance of the complex.
Location was great, but I wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripsLoverPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFFQ, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Breakfree French Quarter in Noosa.

Any and all feedback is a vital tool in ensuring that we can maintain and continue to improve our standards, as well as endeavoring to exceed guest expectations. Your valuable feedback has also been forwarded onto our Regional Manager of BreakFree French Quarter for their records.

Having considered the issues you have raised in your email, I was particularly concerned to read about your dissatisfaction with the cleanliness of your unit and the level of service you received. Whilst every effort is made to ensure our guests’ expectations are met, I am sorry to hear that the standard of cleaning in your apartment was well below par. Due to the high standards required of our Housekeeping Team, issues such as these are rare occurrences.

I must express my sincere apologies for the standard cleaning and the disappointment this has caused you. I have personally ensured that your feedback has already been passed on directly to the Housekeeping Department and that corrective action is taken to ensure future guests are not impacted in the way you were.

If you would like to discuss about your experience any further, please be so kind to contact me directly on 07 54707100

Thank you

Kind regards

Cosimo Ronconi
Executive Assistant Manager
Breakfree French Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed for 9 nights in a standard 2 bedroom apartment in the North Quarter over looking Hastings street. The apartment was in very poor condition with paint peeling off the ceiling, mould around the air conditioning outlet, sliding doors that didn't slide, external shutters missing, and in general very old and poorly maintained. The blankets on the beds were dirty and the apartment was very dark and dingy. The location was fantastic, right in the middle of the Hastings street action, steps away from the beach. The complex was good, beautiful gardens and a beautifully heated pool that provided hours of fun and relaxation for the whole family. The renovated apartments looked much brighter and cleaner and I would definitely stay in one of these upgraded apartments next time.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra and definately go for a deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nissa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFFQ, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at Breakfree French Quarter in Noosa.

Any and all feedback is a vital tool in ensuring that we can maintain and continue to improve our standards, as well as endeavoring to exceed guest expectations. Having considered the issues you have raised, I was particularly concerned to read about your dissatisfaction with the standard of your room.

Given the age of the property and the general wear and tear of the rooms, Breakfree French Quarter is currently undergoing a refurbishment of the rooms to both modernize and freshen the rooms for our future guests. The extent of the refurbishment is very significant and as such has ensured that guests’ expectations when opting to book a deluxe room are exceeded.

Pictures of both Standard and Deluxe apartments and a list of the room facilities are available on the internet.
Please be so kind to contact me directly on 07 54307100 if you would like to discuss about your experience any further

Thank you

Kind regards

Cosimo Ronconi
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Just arrived and really annoyed with the service, we originally booked for two nights then phoned and cancelled the first night. This was a good few days ago. On arrival we were told we had been charged for the first night this was nothing to do with the receptionist we had to speak to booking.com we did and they then told us it was a 14 day cancellation policy which they didn't mention when we called to cancel. They then called our hotel to see if the hotel could offer anything. The same hotel who had told us at reception it was nothing to do with them then declined to offer anything - not even a late check out!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nettle_shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFFQ, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visits to Breakfree French Quarter in Noosa

Any and all feedback is a vital tool in ensuring that we can maintain and continue to improve our standards, as well as endeavoring to exceed guest expectations. Having considered the issues you have raised in your letter, I was particularly concerned to read of your extreme disappointment with the treatment you received upon advising reception of the problem with your booking.We value our guests and strive to provide excellent service at all times and I am disappointed that you have not received the personal and friendly service that all of our guests expect. It is certainly not our intention at BreakFree French Quarter to make any of our guests feel like they are just a number.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss about your experience any further

Thank you

Kind Regards

Cosimo Ronconi
Executive Assistant Manager
BreakFree French Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We have just spent two weeks at French Quarter and had a really great stay. Not sure where some of the bad reviews are coming from? I think you have to remember this resort is self contained apartments, not a hotel. If you expect a hotel, then yes you will be disappointed.

We had a renovated two bedroom room. It was clean, the AC was great, and the size perfect for us (one young toddler). We had requested a ground floor apartment away from the noise and got it. Just a perfect postion for us. The pool is great, especially for children and the location is fanatastic. In all a great resort and would be happy to stay again.

One word of caution, the apartment is fine with little kids, but it is not overly huge, would probably not stay there if I had three older children, you would be on top of each other all the time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hot_Dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFFQ, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Breakfree French Quarter in Noosa.
Any and all feedback is a vital tool in ensuring that we can maintain and continue to improve our standards, as well as endeavouring to exceed guest expectations
We look forward to welcoming you back to Noosa
Kind Regards
Cosimo Ronconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

We travelled down a fortnight ago with another family. With 4 under 4s with us, we chose apartments because of the space for them to run around inside. We went for the deluxe room because it looked good on the website - not what we got. I went and bought cheap sheets to drape over the sofa so my kids could lie on them because they were not very clean. The rooms dont have much space - but we did sleep well and the air con worked well. The apartment wasnt clean, the carpet in the bedrooms and there were spiders on the ceiling. We complained and apparently it would be cleaned up the next day while we were out - didnt happen.
Location was excellent, car parking was fine (we were there Thurs to Mon), empty on Thurs night but then as expected got a bit full on weekends. The kids enjoyed the pool and the very short walk to the beach. I wouldnt recommended it to any of my friends because its not somewhere I'd stay again. But if you dont mind accomodation being 100% clean, then its ok.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AartiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFFQ, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at Breakfree French Quarter in Noosa.
Any and all feedback is a vital tool in ensuring that we can maintain and continue to improve our standards, as well as endeavoring to exceed guest expectations.
Having considered the issues you have raised in your review, I was particularly concerned to read about your dissatisfaction with the cleanliness of your unit and the level of service you received. Due to the high standards required of our Housekeeping Team, issues such as these are rare occurrences.
Please do not hesiatate to contact me directly should you like to discuss this any further
Thank you
Kind regards
cosimo.ronconi@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#6 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
0.1 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#3 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra French Quarter Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra French Quarter Resort

Property: Mantra French Quarter Resort
Address: 62 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly Breakfree French Quarter Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra French Quarter Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hastings Street, Mantra French Quarter is the perfect place to enjoy a seaside escape to Noosa. Mantra French Quarter is set back from the hustle and bustle of Hastings Street yet offers direct access to the shopping, dining and entertainment hub, making it the perfect place to enjoy the best of Noosa. Mantra French Quarter offers self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments or opt to pay a little extra for one of our One or Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartments which have been refurbished. All accommodation offers reverse cycle air conditioning, kitchenette including a stove top, microwave, bar fridge, toaster and tea and coffee facilities, in-house movies and cable TV. There are also laundry facilities and a balcony or terrace for relaxing in the fresh air. At the centre of Mantra French Quarter is a pool, spa, sauna and outdoor barbecue picnic area with a children's wading pool that can be accessed from your room via pathways surrounded by resort gardens. Noosa's famed restaurants and shopping boutiques are literally on the doorstep, with beaches and the National Park just a short stroll away. Within the Sunshine Coast and easily accessible from Noosa is the world's largest sand island, Fraser Island as well as Underwater World, the southern hemisphere's largest oceanarium and Australia Zoo, founded by conservationist Steve Irwin. At Mantra French Quarter you're sure to find an accommodation style to suit your Noosa holiday needs, whether it's a short or long stay you have in mind. Maintenance Notice: Mantra French Quarter will be undergoing pool, sauna and change room maintenance works. The resort sauna and change room/pool toilet facilities will be closed from 30 January until 24 March 2017. There will be alternate change room and toilet facilities within the complex however there are no alternate sauna facilities. There will be remedial works being carried out throughout the pool area and complex, however the pool will remain open during this time. There will be noisy works occurring during the hours of 0830-1700 Monday – Friday. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause and look forward to launching our new and updated sauna area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mantra French Quarter Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree French Quarter Hotel Noosa
Breakfree French Quarter Noosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing