We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmin Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA
Ranked #5 of 19 Noosa B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here last night. The house is really cute, especially the balconies and the restaurant deck. The showers were nicer than standard hostels, everything was nicely cleaned, my bed was very comfy and the food at the restaurant was awesome. We all got a welcome glass of wine and got to meet each other this way. I met such nices gitls too.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a double private room, #14 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilouGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 376 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed one night in 4 share dorm with partner
The good
Location was great – 2 minutes from Hastings St & beach
Bus picks up from Greyhound stop
Heritage listed building with lots of character
Kitchen was a bit cramped but has enough utensils at dinner time
Friendly staff
Shared facilities were clean

The not so good
As it’s an old building, the floor boards creak A LOT. The dorm rooms in the main building have a gap above dorm doors which means you can hear everything going on in hall way and the doors bang when closed. Unfortunately we had someone who thought it was ok to play a guitar until 4am so not a great sleep. They are also not allowed to have too many sockets so charging gadgets can be an issue.

Stay again? Probably not in the old building as didn’t sleep great – not sure what rooms were like in second building

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGosrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in a private double room (room #2). The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was a nice size with a comfortable double bed and clean hotel-quality linen. The communal showers were clean with good hot-cold water and pressure. There is a small bar with a daily happy hour and a restaurant with outdoor courtyard that serve tasty meals. The huge verandah with couches is a great place to relax and meet other travellers. Best of all is the location - you cannot get much closer to the centre of Noosa. It is also close to Noosa National Park, which has some fantastic walks along beaches and rocky headlands. Because the hostel is an old Queenslander style house, noise does tend to travel through it so drunk backpackers can be heard late at night. But that was only a small inconvenience and could happen anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ged M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We haven't stayed at Halse Lodge but visit their restaurant. As Noosa locals, we appreciate somewhere with fantastic atmosphere and backpacker prices! The food is also good - wholesome and well priced. There's a good bar and the outdoor seating is magical on a warm evening. It has a wonderful atmosphere and it's great to listen to all the different accents and languages - and to be surrounded by young people having a good time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here over Xmas 2011 and had a good stay! The rooms were basic and small, with no plug sockets which was a bit of a pain! Beds were comfortable, and showers were clean. Our room had doors opening straight on the balcony, which was great to chat to other travellers and meet new people! Only problem was there were no nets on the wooden slats above the doors (hard to explain!) so bugs got in and we got bitten during the night.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank pinksuzie591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed here with my sister in Summer 2010. The hostel was clean, well looked after and full of character, with very pleasant, helpful and cheerful staff. We extended our stay we were so happy with the service.

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm (two bunk beds), with doors that opened right onto the balcony. The balcony was great to relax on in the evening, read a book and chat to fellow back packers.

The bar was always busy, cheerful and served good quality food and you could sit outside or inside. There was an aboriginal eveing while we were there which was very enjoyable and informative and the free glass of wine on the first night was a nice touch.

Noosa is a really beautiful little gem and I highly reccomend paying a visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanzi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

It is a great hostel to stay at in Noosa. Really close to the Main Beach and close to Noosa's beautiful National Park. The staff was really friendly and there is cheap alcohol prices in the bar (and it's good :P). The only thing I didn't liked about it was there wasn't any lockers in my room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mads P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#4 of 10 in Noosa
540 reviews
1.2 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#3 of 141 in Noosa
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
0.1 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Noosa
Nomads Noosa
#136 of 141 in Noosa
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halse Lodge Guesthouse YHA

Address: 2 Halse Lane, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Noosa
Price Range: $41 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing