We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun!”

Merrick's Noosa Learn to Surf
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We went for lessons here last week and loved it. The instructors were fantastic and so patient with the whole class.
Excellent value for money and we would be back if we hadn't had to leave Noosa!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirstw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiemez, Owner at Merrick's Noosa Learn to Surf, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for the review, we are so please that you had a great time. Might see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    11
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even For Locals this is Awesome.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Recently we decided to have our staff party and to mix it up a bit we had classes with Merrick and his team
The Frenchman, Renae took our class and we thoroughly enjoyed his animated style of teaching.
All 7 of us had very little surfing experience but we all stood up and caught waves for the two hours we were there.
One of our group members is had very little experience in the surf and was very apprehensive of the ocean but with Renaes guidance he was able to surf and have a blast and over came his fear of the surf.

Thanks again and would highly recommend this. Thanks Guys !!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichysBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant lesson”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good competent instructors, very tolerant of us beginners! There was a good focus on safety. Didn't see the need for a private lesson as the teaching was so good. Everyone in our class managed to stand in their first lesson- definitely worth giving it a go!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Good instructors - Service not good”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I did 2 lessons with Learn To Surf in Dec 2012

- Instructors were good, friendly and good instructing
- One of the staff was quite rude. When I asked which size of the wet suit should I take on, he picked on from the basket and told me "Just put it on, why complicate your brain?". That's how they treat a new surf learner.
- The class arrangement in my first session was bad, too many students, so many kids combined to adult class that the instructor had little time to watch your surf and give feedback

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nhat_Truong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiemez, Owner at Merrick's Noosa Learn to Surf, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your constructive criticism that we have taken on board and investigated to our best ability. I noticed that you mentioned that one of our staff members were handing out wetsuits in december. We don't actually use wetsuits in December as it is too hot and the water is warm. I have spoken to the staff member and asked him not to use his Australian banter towards our lovely foreign clients as sometimes the language barrier may be mis-construed as rudeness instead of local humor. I am happy that you enjoyed your surf lesson and thought our instructors were good. I am sorry that you felt your group lesson was too big. We do run on a 1:7 ratio as per councils regulations. As it was our busiest time of year Xmas we are usually full due to the high demand of our services but we also offer one on one private lessons at an extra cost that may have suited you better. The team at Noosa learn to surf hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful town and hope you return in the future. Once again, thank you for your comment and review. Kind regards, Elissa Davis CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Vale
1 review
“Great Surfing Lesson Experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was something I'd been wanting to do ever since deciding to learn to surf 2 years ago. It was well worth the time to spend learning.

The guys at Learn to surf are unbelievably helpful with their surf lessons. Best experience ever. If you've ever wanted to learn how to ride a surf board, they can teach you how to do this in a single 2 hour lesson

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrick's Noosa Learn to Surf also viewed

 
 

Been to Merrick's Noosa Learn to Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing