We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation with the environment”

The Discovery Group - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Noosa River and Everglades Afternoon Tea Cruise
More Info
and up
Noosa Everglades Canoe Trip with Barbecue Lunch
More Info
and up
Noosa Everglades BBQ Lunch Cruise
Ranked #6 of 45 Tours in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Discovery Group is a multi award winning market leader in eco-tourism, based in Noosa Heads on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland Australia. We offer unique one and two day adventure travel to World Heritage Listed Fraser Island. We also offer relaxed river cruises into the "Noosa Everglades" and 3 Day / 2 Night self guided Canoe Safaris into - a pristine wilderness area in the upper catchment of the Noosa River system. Experience a company without compromise. Experience The Discovery Group.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Relaxation with the environment”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Decided to do the Everglades tour and was pleased I did. I was picked up at the hotel, taken to the boat and was treated to stories about everything in Noosa by Trevor, an operator of tours for 30 years, and he certainly new the area.
We went upstream and had a great morning tea beside a lake filled with wildlife and lillies. Then myself and another person paddled 5km in a canoe up the river, with fantastic scenery, to Harry's hut where a BBQ lunch was waiting for us. This was great. Steak or barramundi with salads and you certainly did not leave hungry.
We then returned along the river and Trevor pointed out many things along the way that the ordinary eye would never see. We even saw a snake swimming across the river, amazing.
It was a great day, started at 8.30am and returned home at 4pm with a smile that said this was value for money. Just a great day!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Thank nbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing - our tour was cancelled due to them wanting more numbers on it”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently planned a weekend away to Noosa specifically to do a Noosa Everglades trip with Discovery Tours on the Sunday that we were up there as we live a couple of hours away. Discovery Tours seem to have a complete monopoly on the Everglades Tours, we didn't see any other tour options. We booked our tour week or so before and were never advised there would be a possibility of cancellation. We were greatly looking forward to the day trip and the weather was perfect for it but when we arrived back to our hotel on Saturday night there were messages left to give Discovery Tours a call, luckily there was an after hours number and we were told that they had 4 people booked for the tour the following day and they really wanted a minimum of 8 people before they would go ahead with the tour and that they would advise us by 11am the next day if it would be going ahead. The next day I phoned and was advised they were still waiting on extra numbers before the tour would go ahead, I feel this was unfair as it was then too late for us to book anything else and half our day was spent waiting to see if we were to be going on a tour that we had pre booked and were really looking forward to. We were given an apology and advised we would get a refund, however now we are left without having seen the Everglades, which is what our whole weekend away was planned around - surely to keep customers happy a tour should not be cancelled if they feel they don't have the numbers they want to make a successful profit - it leaves us not trusting them - if we splash out and book another weekend away just to do the Everglades Tour again, how do we know they are not going to cancel again and leave us completely disappointed. We have since discovered another company where you can rent your own boat for the whole day and it is much cheaper than the half day trip with Discovery http://www.lakeescapades.com.au/ (when I phoned them they had all their boats out for the day, but still tried to accommodate us at short notice) so we will book another weekend away now and book our own trip with Lake Escapades instead, rather than risk another cancellation with Discovery Tours who cannot be trusted. We feel this is not good enough - surely it's better to keep 4 paying customers happy and giving good reviews and positive feedback through word of mouth, rather than disappoint and cancel due to wanting to make more money?

Visited September 2013
1 Thank brisworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Manager at The Discovery Group - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Firstly Thank you for taking the time to respond and accurately describing the chain of events. As a tour provider we pride ourselves on showcasing the Everglades and am deeply disappointed you were not able to see them. I do need to however clarify some points you have made, firstly we are a small family business, and while you feel it would have been suitable for us to take 4 passengers on the tour that day, this entire tour will travel over 90 kilometres and as such carries fuel and maintenance expenses that far outweigh the revenue provided from 4 passengers. I'm sorry you were not able to see the Everglades, however as a small family business the decision to not travel wasn't because we wanted to make more money, rather not wanting to lose any... We operate 2 tours a day into the Everglades every day, and very rarely cancel a tour due to low numbers. Our terms & conditions clearly are clearly stated on our brochures & website, and (as you described) we did make every effort to keep you notified, and attempted to secure the minimum numbers required even up to the 11th hour.
I am sorry you have been unable to access the Noosa Everglades with The Discovery Group, and am sorry you have felt the need to review a tour you have not been on with 1 star, and if you wish to return to see the Everglades we would love to show them to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A unique environment”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A 'must-do' tour experience while in Noosa. Trevor, our boat driver/guide was excellent - brought up just along from the jetty where we left for our afternoon tour and he has been taking groups on the everglades since the 70's. He had lots of information and stories to tell us along the way. It takes an hour to reach the everglades, along the river and then a huge lake (which is extremely shallow) so we had to slow right down in one part as we were at times touching the sandy bottom. The everglades are so peaceful, trees, birdlife and of course magnificent reflections (a delight for a keen photographer). We stopped and went ashore for a 30min break for afternoon tea, coffee, tea, cold drinks, damper scones with jam and cream and melt in the mouth chocolate lamingtons. All in all a 4 hour trip and one of the best tours we have ever done anywhere in the world. (Dont expect to see crocodiles - only two have ever been sighted.) You will see lots of birdlife.

Visited September 2013
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everglades discovery tour”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A really nice day out so peaceful. we jump on our boat and away we went cruised along the Noosa River then beyond. We stop for morning tea and the people who were going to Canoe up the rest of the way to Harry's Hutt got into their canoe's and set off. We cleaned up and jumped back on the boat and headed for Harry's Hutt. The driver of the boat was full of information. Once at Harry's Hutt and the people canoeing had arrived time for a swim, as the lunch was being cooked. Great lunch and a visit from some wild life made it special, packed up and we are on our way back to Noosaville. It was such a nice day out would do this again and some Amazing scenery.

Visited March 2013
1 Thank Sharlene_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Great Afternoon Not To Be Missed”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked ourselves on the afternoon Noosa Everglades Cruise Tour and were over awed by the amazing experience. It starts with a courtesy mini bus pick up from your accommodation (if needed) and then you are taken to the jetty. It is a small intimate group with about 20 being the maximum number of passengers. We had a mixed group - young, old, Australian and overseas tourists and had many laughs along the way thanks to our tour guide Andy. The trip up the Noosa River is fascinating and then you are taken through the Everglades up to Harry's Hut where we stopped for an indulgent afternoon tea provided by Discovery. Our tour guide Andy is also a keen photographer and is more than willing to share some of his favourite photo spots as well. The natural scenery, the man made scenery and the birdlife are simply spectacular. At the end of the trip, the mini bus takes you back to your accommodation. It was a very enjoyable afternoon and we would recommend this trip away from the hustle and bustle.

Visited August 2013
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Discovery Group - Day Tours also viewed


Been to The Discovery Group - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing