We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the Ritz (for backpackers)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flashpackers Noosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flashpackers Noosa
Ranked #3 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like the Ritz (for backpackers)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place has been thought about in great detail! It's really something. Free high speed wifi. Good choice of FREE brekkie. Amazing layout of common area. Free regular shuttle bus and greyhound pick up/drop off. Very good staff who are all willing to tell you what there is to do in Noosa. The ensuite rooms are incredible. The shower is better then the one I have at home! Very friendly bunch. Nice modern, clean hostel. Best I've stayed in! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeeeeebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for an awesome and enthusiastic review of our hostel, its reviews like this that show that the work we do here is appreciated, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and it was the best hostel you have stayed in. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. From all the staff here at Flashpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    135
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
10
151
204
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

After staying six nights over at the bug infested Noosa Nomads, (not to mention the kitchen was absolutely disgusting), I moved over to a whole different world at Flashpackers Noosa. After travelling for two months in Australia, Flashpackers by far has been the best hostel I've stayed. The hostel itself is super clean, laid back and the amenities of the pool, TV room (with AC), and free internet were nothing less than A+. Jo, Janine, & the rest of the staff were awesome & accommodating. They helped with travel arrangements and the shuttle service was very punctual. Thanks for making my stay pleasurable and I hope to be back for another visit. Noosa is a beautiful place. Ken from USA

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank softail2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi Ken,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review, we work very hard to make Noosa Flashpackers an amazing place to stay so we really appreciate your positive feedback. It was great having you here at the hostel and we would love to have you back for a return visit at any time!
Happy and safe travels on the rest of your journey, hopefully see you soon.

Flashpackers Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My partner (backpacker) & I (non-backpacker) stayed here for 2 nights in a Private room with ensuite while visiting Noosa & Fraser Island.

Positives: Facilities were clean and well presented, staff were friendly & helpful, kitchen was adequate, pool area & additional activities available for hire (including bikes, surfboards, Bodyboards). Location was good, but courtesy bus makes it very easy to get to Noosa & the beach. Sunshine beach & shops around the corner has great food options (good Italian) if not on budget.

Room itself was clean & spacious, with private courtyard, chairs, and good working air-con.

Negative: Bathroom was not as private as we would have liked. Palm tree's outside shower & trees on fenceline were a bit thin making it very easy to see neighbouring houses & people on their balcony looking at you while showering or standing in the bathroom. Wooden boards may need to be extended, more trees may need to be planted or curtains/screen may be helfpul to create more privacy during day/night. We had no choice but to create a screen using a towel as people were clearly looking at you & at night the bathroom lights draw attention.

Being picky, was also a pain not being able to access food prior to Kitchen opening time of 7.30am. Made it frustrating when starting early morning trips to Fraser with no access to Kitchen to get purchased food the night before. And Toaster was broken!

Overall good stay & compared with other backpackers- class above. But a few minor implementations needed by Flashpackers themselves to make excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNB1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you thought our staff was friendly and helpful, we try our best to look after our Flashpackers guests and help in any way we can. Also we are very proud of the cleanliness of our hostel and work hard to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. We are sorry you thought the bathroom wasn't as private as you would have liked, guests in the past have loved showering overlooking the rain-forest like gardens. We will take your feedback on board and have a look at putting some more plants and trees in the gardens to create more privacy. With the kitchen hours I can understand it would be frustrating when you have a really early pick up with a tour company, however our kitchen is open from 7 am to midnight which you’ll find is very common in hostels around Australia, plus we have two new toasters. We really appreciate all our guests feed back as we are a new Hostel and want to keep improving those minor implementations to keep us a class above other backpackers.

We hope you get the opportunity to come back and stay with us in the future, Safe and happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Due to it being peak season we've had to change hostels a few times in Noosa and we always come back to this one. It's modern, clean, comfortable, there's free wifi and free breakfast what more could you want? Oh yeah and there's free surfboard hire, a t.v with thousands of movies and a wii games console. Noosa is a luxurious place and the hostel definitely matches up!

On top of this all of the staff are lovely which makes it feel homely as opposed to just being in a hostel.

If you stay in Noosa stay here...trust me I've been to all of the others and nothing compares!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Owner at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi Charlotte and Annie,
thanks for your review! What more can I say than it's guests like both of you which make our job a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

+Very friendly staff that helped me and my friend to rebook and refund our dates so we could visit Fraser Island. +The location could have been better but since there is a free (reliant!) shuttle bus service, departing about 10 times a day, this isn't a problem.

I would recommend this hostel for those that enjoy a kicked-back, relaxed, evening, after a day at the beach. If you do want to visit the night clubs the taxi is only 20 dollars down to Hastings Street. The facilities are all new and very clean. The only negative I can possible think of is that the kitchen is closed during 9.15 to 10.30 every morning but you are still free to pick your stuff out of the fridge during the time the staff do the cleaning, they are not very strict about this closing time aslong as you dont make a huge mess while they are checking kitchen gear and cleaning. This hostel delivers top notch for the low price!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_GBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Front Office Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad we could help organise your trip to Fraser Island, it's definitely one not to be missed! It's great that you found the hostel so clean as our staff work hard to keep it that way for all of our guests which is the reason we decide to shut the kitchen for that period in the morning, so it can be cleaned thoroughly for the day ahead.

The bus is a great service and we're glad you found it so reliable, Noosa is such a beautiful place and we would welcome you back at any time. Good luck with the rest of your travels.

Flashpackers Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at flashpackers for 4 nights in a 4 bed dorm during my stay in noosa. I read the amazing reviews & was really looking forward to a bit of luxury backpacking! I really did want to love flashpackers but unfortunately I couldn't wait to leave.
There are lots of positives about this place, socket by each bed, lamp, comfy bed & 2 pillows. Bathrooms are extremely clean & shower was really good! Just a short walk from sunshine beach & lots of regular shuttles into main beach & supermarket which I thought was very handy! The free breakfast was also a big plus.
The reason I havent rated it highly is like my title says "lack of atmosphere" I found the receptionist very cold when I checked in & when I went back to ask some questions she seemed more interested in her snack. The staff I dealt with were mainly backpackers working there, which I know is quite common in hostels, however they didn't seem interested in guests, a couple of them were nice but others were not very friendly. I saw the owner once which was on my last day who was very friendly & helpful.
Another thing I didn't like was during the evenings the tv would be on plus there would be loud music playing inside & in the outdoor area, so there was a mixture of noises going on & no where to escape! There also seemed to be too many guests in relation to seating areas, the sofa was always full & it was hard to get a spot outside. The kitchen was also too small for the amount of people cooking. As a solo traveller I felt very alone staying here, I think if you are with friends it is prob better.
Flashpackers has real potential to be a lovely place with luxury facilities but unfortunately I was disapointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abigolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time for writing a review. Thank you for mentioning some of the positives about the hostel including the extreme cleanliness that we continually strive to achieve high standards with and the little touches that guests always love like their very own power points, lights and lockers.
You mentioned we that there was a “Lack of atmosphere”, Well we are a cosy hostel that is very laid back that focuses on what Noosa has to offer including the beaches and the surf. Actually we have many awards one of the most recent being Hostel bookers 2013 best atmosphere which is voted on by guests not staff. We are not a party hostel so don’t encourage guests who are looking for that type of atmosphere.
Guests make their own choices and fun, which for some is watching movies, which if guests find too loud sometimes if they just approach the staff we would be more than happy to turn down.
We do have theme nights that are a great way to get too know other guests:
Mondays- we have a free cheese and wine tasting night
Tuesday -movie night
Wednesday – all you can eat pizza night
Friday – Free BBQ and games night
We apologise if you thought there was a rude staff member that was working with us for a short period of time. We have a few new charming Flashpackers crew that are keen to continue building good relations with all our guests. We have talked to all our staff and stress as always a priority to be over and above engaging with our guests.
I’m surprised you thought our kitchen was too small when majority of guests have raved about how big it is! Perhaps you haven’t been to many other hostels our size. I’m also surprised to hear you say that you felt lonely here but on the other hand you say they were nowhere to sit as there were too many guests?
In all I guess Flashpackers was just not what you were looking for, we are a new hostel with luxury facilities and the majority of our guests have had the best experience here, we really hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, Stay safe and have a lovely Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great place to stay if visiting Noosa. The hostel is about a 20 minute walk from coles and 30-40 minute walk to the beach however the hostel provides a regular shuttle service to and from these areas. They also pick up and drop off at the greyhound for free. If visiting Australia Zoo, the hostel provides an early shuttle bus which takes you to where the Australia Zoo bus picks you up, they also pick you up upon your return. Hostel is very clean and the wifi is a good connection, although it only works in common areas. Free tea and coffee as well as free breakfast which consisted of cereals, breads and a selection of spreads.

We stayed 3 nights and due to a mix up when booking with hostelworld we had to stay in 3 different rooms. However, the girls on reception sorted this out for us and the process of checking out every morning and checking back in every afternoon was made very painless. We stayed in a private double room which had a private ensuite, TV and even provided towels. Also stayed in a 4 bed dorm which again had a private ensuite. Room were very clean! The hostel also has a free sausage sizzle on a Friday night but if it's busy don't expect to get seconds. Overall, really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlashpackersN, Manager at Flashpackers Noosa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are stoked by your review and pleased to add you as another satisfied guests who loved Flashpackers and all that Noosa has to offer. We continually strive to achieve high standards with comfort. Cleanliness and interaction at a personal level with all our guests. Hopefully one day soon you can come back and visit us again at Flashpackers, We wish you a very safe and happy holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
3.0 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
1.1 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#5 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flashpackers Noosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flashpackers Noosa

Property: Flashpackers Noosa
Address: 102 Pacific Ave | Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flashpackers Noosa 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE INTERNET & WIFI, FREE BREAKFAST, FREE SURFBOARDS , FREE BODYBOARDS WITH ALL BOOKINGS ! Noosa Flashpackers is the number 1 choice hostel for all backpackers. Whether you're travelling on your own or in a small group, backpackers will enjoy the hostel's quality facilities and friendly staff of Noosa Flashpackers. Number 1 rated Noosa Hostel on TRIPADVISOR. We pride ourselves on creating a home away from home for you. Chill out on our huge lounge in front of the plasma TV with a selection of movies to watch or find a quiet comfy spot on our daybed in the reading room overlooking our peaceful waterfall courtyard. Maybe you'd prefer to soak up the sun on one of our sun lounges by the pool. Be assured of security with all dorm rooms having access to their own lockers! Clean bathrooms, big shower heads and personal reading lights with power points all help to make you feel at home. AND most rooms have two pillows!! While in Noosa experience the beautiful beaches, scenery, walks, river, try surfing, Eumundi Markets, Fraser Island tours that backpackers have been enjoying for many years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Flashpackers Noosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing