We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing”
Review of Wasabi

Ranked #70 of 340 Restaurants in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $80 - $150
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wasabi restaurant & bar, overhanging the scenic Noosa River, opposite the Noosa Recreation Reserve, is the brainchild of owner and Young Restaurateur of the Year Award recipient Danielle Gjestland. The entirely waterfront dining space has spectacular river views with amazing sunset vistas by day and a warm, contemporary, intimate dining space by night. Voted Queensland's #1 regional restaurant for the 2015 Good Food Guide, awarded two chefs hats, listed in Gourmet Travellers top 100 restaurants, and voted Queensland's Hottest Restaurant in the Australians Hot 50 List, Wasabi's food has a contemporary sensibility that is still deep rooted in Japanese purity.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

50th wedding anniversary with family on 1 December 2012. So disappointing. We had the degustation menu and we couldn't fault the food. However, front of house staff under preformed. A party of 6 seated behind us were extremely drunk and spent the night singing at the top of their voices. Complained twice but nothing was done about it and staff continued to serve the patrons alcohol. Ruined our celebrations. Will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Javanese-princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WasabiNoosa, Owner at Wasabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

I am so sorry you had that impression. We did speak to the table three times about the noise. They were not actually drunk and because of their loud volume from the minute they arrived we had been monitoring their drinking. They were just extremely oblivious to others feelings, even laughing and saying sorry for being noisy as they left. It seemed that asking them to be quiet only made them louder. It was a very difficult situation which I don't feel could have been remedied in any other way short of removing the seat from under them. They were an American Express Centurion Program (black card) booking which, due to an agreement, we are contractually obliged to provide a table for. Upon speaking to one of the party on a separate occasion, apparently the ring leader is like that often in restaurants - it seems that is their excuse. It is unfortunate that money does not buy manners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

382 - 386 of 460 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Came here with a toddler and they where very accomodating. My pram didn't bother them and they even provided my little one with some cookies to entertain her whilst we waited for our food. Food was exceptional and unique. The varitey of dishes made it hard to decide but the chef's choices was great as you tried different small dishes which made it exciting to wait for. The staff also explained what each dish was and the whole experiance was fantastic. Would come again... if I can afford it! :)

Thank Pinkster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My choice for my birthday this year as I couldn't think of anywhere in Noosa I'd rather go for lunch (I'm a local) Wasabi presents the most. divne setting where you can watch the river and listen to the water lapping up againt the restaurant. The menu is superb. It was a real treat as always. Choose lunch over dinner and you'll enjoy the location more I'm sure.
Some little surprises too. Excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sashalute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great food, some course outstanding, some very good. Nice decor and lovely views. A recommended Noosa spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went here for a business meeting dinner. We were in the private section near the entrance with tables over sunken well for your feet. I liked the wooden seat backs provided so you didn't have to sit so straight upright all night.
Had the degustation menu which wasn't overly extraordinary. Various sushi, sashimi, tempura, dumplings, miso. Tasty.
Service was good. I hear the selection of sake is good, but I didn't try anything stronger than green tea.

Thank kittycat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi also viewed

Noosa, Sunshine Coast

Been to Wasabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing