We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot but no patrolled beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Noosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Noosa North Shore Beach Campground
Ranked #61 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Looking for a family get together site that catered for everyone is not as easy as you would think. We travelled from Canberra to see the rest of the family of which only some of them like camping. The compromise was to find a place that had some luxuries and this place seemed like the go. The camp ground is very well organised and had what we needed, an amenities block with functional showers and toilets, albeit a little worse for wear. I think the $2 fee for showers is a bit steep given that this place charges for camping on a nightly basis. We found a spot large enough for five families that included 5 family tents, a tarp covered common area and a camper trailer. Access to the beach was easy but swimming was an issue with the Pacific Ocean providing large swells, strong rips, and an undercurrent that really made you worry about where the kids were. The beach is not patrolled so a higher than normal vigilance is required if you have children like we have.
Overall the campground was neat and has everything you need but my only issue was that I did not like setting up on sand. With the strong winds it was a challenge keeping the fine sand out of the sleeping bags! I think next time I’ll make sure that we find a spot that is grassed. This is a personal issue and has nothing to do with the campsite. Some people like it…..I don’t.
The place was very busy when we were there but you wouldn’t know it at night as the area was very quiet and the other campers very considerate which was a really nice experience.
Fishing here was amazing with beach access on either side of the campground. Driving on the beach proved to be a lot easier than I anticipated with the sand consistently firm below the high tide mark.
Everything is so close, if you like beach driving, it’s right in front of you, if you want to 4WD through thick bushlands, then cut across the Great Sandy National Park on your way to Rainbow beach. Fishing is right in front of you or go for a walk/drive south towards the Noosa Rivermouth for some whiting. Wildlife is abundant here with no shortage of reptiles, wallabies and birdlife aplenty. There were wild turkeys that I was eyeing off for a while wondering how they could fit in my camp oven, but with no open fires allowed, I reconsidered.
This is a locked complex so only campers are allowed in. Visitors must park outside and even campers are encouraged to keep their cars outside but I can’t imagine many doing this.

Room Tip: 50% DEET repellent will keep the sand flies away. Bring lots of coins and cash if you want to use th...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Noosa North Shore Beach Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 51 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great camp ground close to the beach. If you aren't lucky enough to get a spot up high on the dunes it's not as pleasant. I struggled with the lack of breeze being back a bit. We were lucky to find a spot in the shade but the breeze couldn't find its way there. It's great being close to the beach although....other campers who camped high on the dunes on the in front of the beach entries tried to block our family entering the beach and made us feel uncomfortable trying to walk around their spot (big enough for 3 camp sites) to enter the beach.
Take plenty of repellent for sand flies and little sand fleas. We also found the rip in the ocean very hard to swim in. The beach is beautiful blue and clean but dangerous for people who are not strong swimmers or who can't swim. You need to take cash for everything you buy at the shop including your key deposit ($20) and $1 coins for showers.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
9  Thank Melmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our young family of four have been coming to this campground for many years and will continue to do so for many more. We have stayed at many different campgrounds over the years, some offering all the mod cons and extras, but this place is a real, relaxing getaway. As soon as we cross over on the ferry, you can feel yourself start to relax. You won't find marked or numbered sites here. Plenty of wide open spaces to pick from and on a busy weekend you don't feel crowded in either. Although you are behind the sand dunes you can still see the ocean and in 10 steps you can have sand in between your toes. Toilets are kept clean and I have never waited to use the showers. Don't forget to bring some $1 coins though as that is what it will cost you for a shower. Although if you have no coins the office will give you change. I always take 2 x $1 coins to put in but never need it. $1 is enough but if you have children, then take an extra $1. Also if you are going to the Amenties block at night take a torch so you can find your way, although on a clear night the moon and the million of stars will guide you! The kids enjoy the daily visits from the family of kangaroos and abundant birdlife. It is great to see the beach out front free from 4WDs but keep your eyes open for the occasional 4WD driver that obviously cannot read the large signs. We always end our visit with a lunch stop at the local pub before we head home to reality. BUT BE WARNED - If you stay here, you will be back again and again....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anita1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Only an hour from home, clean, wide open space right on the ocean beach. The Manager, John is welcoming and helpful, amenities are always clean and tidy as is the rest of the park. Crossing the Noosa River on the ferry is like leaving the real world behind for some peace and quiet, wandering south down the beach in the evening you can see the lights of Noosa whilst to the North the flashing lighthouse at Double Island Point can be seen on a clear night. No permanent residence.
We try and get up there every couple of months all year round.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12821Kingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Brilliant first experience of campervan holiday in Aussie. Only 8 fully booked up powered sites available, but we coped fine on battery power just fine, saw lots of wildlife fantastic place for families, retired and middle aged, no regulated sites so camp as far away from the next camper as you like . We will be back for longer next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Suzis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This camping ground (also takes caravans - with a limited powered sites) is large, well grassed and fairly level. A very short walk over low dunes to a wide and long beach - you can see the ocean from your tent. No beach vehicle traffic close to the campground. Quiet at night, limited lighting means dark skies and a brilliant full moon. One toilet block, very clean, never seemed to be crowded, at all. Traffic moves slowly (it's the rule) so ideal for young children on bicycles. The front gate is kept lock, so only campers' vehicles are inside. About 4 km to the local hotel for meals, drinks and decent brewed coffee! A $6 per car ferry ride is required, so take plenty of food. Just one tap with drinking water. Take some? A top place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed at this campground 3 times in the past and are going there again in 10 days time for an almost 3 week stay. Great natural campground with kangaroos, ducks and big lizards roaming free and right on the beachfront. Facilities are great, very clean, $1 for a 4 minute shower. An added bonus is that there is now a dump point. Sites are not marked so you can camp anywhere you like - amongst the trees or out in the open. John and David are probably the best managers of a caravan park we have ever come across. Very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mazza4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noosa
4.5 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#4 of 10 in Noosa
522 reviews
3.5 mi away
Noosa Caravan Park
Noosa Caravan Park
#1 of 4 in Tewantin
172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Noosa North Shore Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
#4 of 41 in Noosaville
352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Road Holiday Homes
Beach Road Holiday Homes
#3 of 4 in Tewantin
26 reviews
21.1 mi away
Rivershore Resort
Rivershore Resort
#2 of 43 in Maroochydore
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noosa North Shore Beach Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noosa North Shore Beach Campground

Address: 240 Wilderness Trk | Noosa North Shore, Noosa, Queensland 4565, Australia (Formerly Noosa North Shore Beachfront Caravan Park)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the abundance of natural flora and fauna in an untouched natural bushland setting at the sprawling Noosa North Shore Beachfront Campground situated on the picturesque Teewah Beach. The kids will love the short vehicle ferry trip over the Noosa River before you get to the Campground adding to the holiday adventure. The site is a popular location for travellers with a love of camping, fishing, surfing, bushwalking, beach walking or 4 wheel driving which is accessible from the "third cutting" beach access a few hundred metres north of the Campground, providing a spectacular drive up the beach which stretches from Noosa up to Double Island Point, and across to Fraser Island. Whilst the park offers a wilderness feel, it is close enough to jump back onto the vehicle ferry to the vibrant town of Noosa, home to fabulous shops, restaurants, cafes and Noosa's famous main beach. We are not on Town Water, so please make arrangements for your own water supply. Note: The toilets and showers are connected to Borewater. Noosa North Shore Campground is an absolute must for holiday makers, families and retirees looking for pristine beaches and an unspoilt location. There's plenty of room for your 5th Wheeler, or your Winnebago. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing