We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Penthouse Suite ticked all the boxes!”
Review of Saks On Hastings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saks On Hastings
Ranked #72 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This was our first visit to Noosa and we decided to stay right on Hastings Street as we were only staying for 3 nights ... and wow did we make the right choice with our accommodation!
Our requirements were for a modern apartment that could fit our extended family group of 5 adults and 3 kids. We chose Saks on Hastings because we knew what we were getting from the photos on their website of the 3 bdm penthouse, the price (AU$550 per night), the location and the reviews on TRIPADVISOR were pretty good.

The management (Annaliese) were fantastic responding to my emails, very friendly and professional and made everthing seem no problem. In person they were even better!

The apartment complex is situated at the quieter end of Hastings St, over the road from the beach and the surf club. Its about a 1 minute stroll from the Saks gate to the patrolled section on the beach, we couldn't have been happier with our location. Our apartment was allocated 2 parking spaces for our rentals, but with the amazing location you don't need to drive anywhere. Restaurants galore in Hastings St! Though we all agreed the apt it was much more peaceful and quiet than we had expected.

The apartment itself is lovely as you can see from the photos. Modern, quality decor, spacious and sunny living areas, very comfortable beds - quite small rooms but all had cupboards and drawers. The kitchen is so well equipped with settings of everything, like 16 plates, bowls, cutlery etc and we never ran out.
The apartment layout was: 1st floor was all tiled and had the kitchen, living/dining area, 1 queen bedroom , laundry, separate toilet and bathroom with shower.There is a smallish balcony with outdoor table and chairs that overlooks the tree lined street and beach. 2nd floor (all carpeted) had 1 queen bedroom that can fit a cot, 1 bedroom with 2 bunks so sleeps 4 (see photo), bathroom with big bath and a huge balcony off the 2 bedrooms with outdoor chairs and loungers that looks out over street also. Linen was supplied, beach towels are available at reception. The kids loved the pool too.

The Penthouse is located up 3 flights of stairs( no lift) so you do need to be reasonably fit to take them a couple of times a day, but my 70 year old mum had no problem. There is also a flight of stairs in the apt. as its 2 level.

So to sum up...Our 3 night stay was not long enough, we really did not want to leave for the Gold Coast and we have all agreed to return to this accomodation again in the future. Saks was affordable luxury on Hastings Street and we were 100% satisfied with our choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangitane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed at Saks on Hasting Street (apartment nbr 9) in a private 2 bed apartment. No view, but still nice and good price for Hastings Street at $220 per night. The main bedroom is actually has a pull across type door, but still ok. Had a balcony and one car park. Looked to be newly refurbished. Good kitchen. TV is the second bedroom for the kids + A/C which is essential. We parked for the weekend and walked everywhere (around Noosa Heads). The National Park is great for a walk and the beaches are perfect! Lovely dining and weather as always. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We recently stayed at Saks and thought it was very good value for money considering what other accommodation places are charging on Hastings Street. After reading the review below we were concerned as we were also allocated room 2 and whilst it didn't resemble the photos on the website it was more than acceptable and very comfortable. It has been renovated tastefully with new furniture, updated bathroom and bedrooms etc. In the past we have sayed at No. 1 Hastings street which is fabulous but very expensive. For half the price we stayed in a very nice apartment at Saks in a top location. The location is excellent, very central and across the road from the beach and more importantly across the road from Massimo's Gelato! The managers are very friendlly and very helpful. The kids enjoyed the heated swimming pool which was the perfect temperature. We enjoyed our stay at Saks and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graciem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We booked Saks based on the photos on their website. We specifically asked aboujt whether the photos were standard or deluxe rooms and were advised they were deluxe- they looked great so we booked. Unfotunately when we arrived we were given room number 2 which was worlds away from the deluxe rooms in the photos, it was dark, the only updating it had had was a new table and chairs, sofa and cupboard fronts in the kitchen. We asked if we could move but they were full and we were told that the apts in the photos were 2 specific apartments- I feel very strongly that we were misled.
This was unfortunate as the Manager was excellent and really helpful, the location was great and the price was reasonable but there are better places to stay where what you see on the website is what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruisyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaksonHastings, Manager at Saks On Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2009

Thank you for your review and appreciate your acknowledgment of the helpful management. It is our endeavor to provide the best customer service experience for our guests. I am disappointed that you were unsatisfied with your apartment. Due to your requests discussed at the time of booking it was the best available apartment for your requirements. Not all of our apartments are featured on our website at this time for logistical reasons. The apartments that are pictured provide an indication of the layout. All of the apartments are individually owned and therefore all have a unique décor. Saks on Hastings is a self rated 3 ½-4 star resort with the majority of apartments having been renovated within the last 5 years (some more recently than others). We believe that we are competitively priced and offer great apartments, service and location. It is our goal to continue growing in all areas of our business and thank all reviewers for any constructive criticism received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I can only repeat the coments of the previous reviewers. Excellent location, accomodation and value. The two down-sides are as follows:
1. The WiFi seems to have dial-up or congested ADSL1 at the back end. It was slow...
2. The stairs are dificult to negotiate with a 9 foot + sufboard. This is probably a problem at other Noosa apartments but it's one they should think about (e.g. dedicated surfboard storage...)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FILLTHEBAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Loved it! Noosa is such a beautiful place and Saks is wonderfully located on Hastings Street but just a bit away from the noise of the restaurants (bar the Surf Club which empties at midnight anyway). Annaliese, the owner, was an incredibly friendly and helpful host, even helping us to book a hotel for the next leg of our journey, and nothing seemed too much trouble for her. We had a sub-penthouse, and the kitchen and bathroom needed updating but I'd still go back even it it was still the same. Defo go if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LozzaByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I have stayed a few times in Noosa and decided to try some different apartments, we requested one of the refurbished room. We were given apartment number 1, it was lovely. Very good finish to the apartment, very clean and comfortable. The reception staff were extremely helpful. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the whole experience, would definitely stay here again. Location is great, restaurants on your door step and the surf life club across the road. Make sure you get a refurbished room.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Resort
Ocean Breeze Resort
#51 of 140 in Noosa
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Netanya Noosa
Netanya Noosa
#6 of 10 in Noosa
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tingirana Noosa
Tingirana Noosa
#17 of 140 in Noosa
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Emerald Resort Noosa
0.1 mi away
On The Beach Noosa
On The Beach Noosa
#29 of 140 in Noosa
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saks On Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saks On Hastings

Address: 60 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: $185 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saks On Hastings 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bedroom, self-catering apartments only 60 metres from Noosa main beach. Walking distance to the national park and close to great cafes and restaurants. Free wifi, heated pool and sun-drenched rooftop spa and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saks On Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing