We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - great location”
Review of Skippers Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skippers Cove
Ranked #36 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay - great location”
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I had a great 5-day stay at Skippers Cove in a two-bedroom waterfront apartment. The place was clean and quiet with relatively modern and comfortable decor. Management was also very friendly and helpful. The pool and bbq area is also well maintained and clean.

The location was perfect. A 15-minute walk or 2 minute bus ride to Hastings street. A 15-minute walk in the opposite direction to reach the Noosaville shops and restaurants. I had a bike and Noosa being mostly flat is an ideal cycling destination.

The waterfront location of the complex is great for watersports especially if you've got a canoe or kayak. The complex has a good watercraft launch area where you can back the car up.

A couple of comments:
There is a sign that If you don't take your garbage out at the end a $60 charge will be charged. In my many years of staying at various holiday apartments, resorts and motels, this is the second time I have seen this, the other time was earlier this year also on the Sunshine Coast. Is this some sort of new trend? Does it really cost $60 to have the cleaner carry the garbage 20 metres?

The guide book in the apartment says that if you lock yourself out, which is easy enough to do, there is a $60 charge to be let back in again. If you lose the keys, you could be charged "up to $250" for a new set. The bottom line being that if you are forgetful, be prepared to pay a bit of money for it.

This is absolutely no reflection on management. I purchased the 3-day wireless internet access for $32.95 whilst staying here (providers name is Metrioo). Much to my disappointment, access was so slow that it was just about inoperable during the day. Accessing a website would take up to 5 minutes, if it didn't crash first and downloading anything was impossible. The speed increased dramatically after 10pm until the early morning.

These are just minor issues and I don't want to take away from the apartment complex because it really is a great place to stay for a holiday. I thoroughly recommend it, especially the waterfront apartments.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yehyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We recently stayed in a two bedroom river front apartment. Found the apartment to be very clean, furniture of excellent standard. Pool & spa are well maintained. Would not hesitate to recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastGoldcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Recently returned after a holiday in a poolside apartment. The apartment was spacious and had every amenity one could wish for. It was clean, the bathroom was beautiful with lots of bench space and two vanity sinks and a huge shower with good water pressure. There is of course another toilet downstairs. The resort was quiet and away from traffic noise.

Perhaps the only problem we encountered was the noise from children and their parents in the pool (we had a poolside apartment). Needless to say one would get this problem anywhere! All depends on the luck of the draw I guess! Next time I would choose one of the beachfront units just to provide a buffer from the noise of the pool.

Yes it is a little walk to the supermarket but not too far. We chose to hire a car after a few days, although we did catch the bus and ferry prior to that. Both these services are very close.

The TV was very large, the lounge very comfortable, beds were comfortable, another TV in the main bedroom was appreciated.

I would stay at Skippers Cove again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle5228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our waterfront apartment during a recent 2 week holiday in Noosa. The Munna Crescent location offers convenient access to the river on their own sandy beach, as well as a convenient mid-point location between the Noosaville river boardwalk, cafe's, shops & activities as well as convenient access (5 minute drive / 20 minute walk) to the focal point shopping & beach area, Hastings St.

This was our second recent visit to Noosa and 4th recent trip to Queensland. When in Noosa previously we stayed at the Outrigger, Noosaville which is also a very good standard, though larger apartment complex. There are plenty of good reviews for Outrigger on this site. Skippers is different from the Outrigger... more boutique style and smaller which suited us but I have no hesitation in recommending both Skippers & Outrigger for an apartment based holiday.

The apartment renovations are completed and during our stay the grounds were well maintained and the gardening, cleaning staff and on-site managers are responsive, helpful, friendly yet professional. My overall impression is of a well operated complex in experienced management hands. This comment from the perspective of an experienced multinational CEO, with plenty of travel miles and hotels on the clock!

A rental car is useful to get around the area and there are many good options available ex Brisbane as well as a few local operators now. We have used Budget ex Brisbane Airport and East Coast Car rentals (10 mins from airport - courtesy coach) with good service and cars from both. If you're staying for more than a few days, the rental car pays for itself versus coach transfer costs to & from Brisbane & transport around the area etc.

We found the apartments well presented, all amenities & services fully operational and adequately cleaned on arrival and also on the mid-stay service provided for longer term rentals. Good LCD TV with digital & analogue channels, Foxtel & FTA. One living room aircon unit plus good quality ceiling fans in living & bedrooms. Pool, spa and BBQ complex is in garden setting, one pool heated... the other "refreshing". Other guests were friendly types. The resort was popular with families with young children as well as 40+ age group during our stay. Mainly locals but some interstate & a few overseas visitors like ourselves.

If there was one improvement the main bedroom mattress could be retired & replaced...

Bottom line, this is an older property that has been renovated with the managers undertaking ongoing improvements including a new front office planned and roof repainting to whole complex, to complete the modernisation. As with all older properties there will be one or two things that might not be 100%. If you experience this, as did an earlier reviewer, I would say alert the managers and they will sort it out. I think the advertising and website information is realistic and informative, and my expectations for the property were met on this visit. We prefer apartment holidays for the flexibility, convenience, space and home like features. The location offers additional privacy and less traffic / people noise intrusion than many other Noosaville complexes on the busy Gympie Tce. Off-street undercover parking for one car per unit available.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch , New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Noosa is one of our favourite destinations ( we are a middle-aged couple ) as the relaxed pace there suits us well . After a return visit to Skippers Cove , it is also now our favoured residence whilst in Noosa ! ( we have stayed on Hastings Street , for much more money and , to our mind , much less value )
There are poolside and riverside units , we prefer poolside for the convenience of the spa and pools , which were kept in pristine condition and temperature . ( there is ready access to a barbecue facility if you like to do that sort of food , also very clean/tidy )
The unit , as on our previous visit , was very clean and tidy with modern fixtures/fittings etc and well maintained . ( we noted the adverse comments of another reviewer in regard to rubbish/cleanliness etc, and neither found nor saw any evidence to support that reviewer,s views !!! )
There is public transport within a minute of the complex , yet there is no annoying traffic noise , and there is a riverboat pickup point , within a few minutes walk of Skippers Cove , which was our preferred mode of transport !
We have stayed at many places around the globe , including many of the capital cities such as Buenos Aires , London , Rome and New York , and others . People have many and varied reasons for staying at different places , but one thing for sure , Skipper Cove can hold its head high against some of the supposed "top shelf" accommodation on offer !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseonslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Where do I start...

Like the above review ended up in one of the unrenovated townhouses around the pool. Despite all the renovated photos on the website that showed new furniture etc, we ended up in the one that had seen better days (ie 1987).

Place was dirty, dishes had been placed back in the cupboard dirty, couches had rubbish underneath them and there were mouse droppings on the outdoor furniture. The bed in the main bedroom was old and very uncomfortable, and The shower pressure was terrible, the downstairs toilet cistern kept coming apart.

As the above review said, they charge you for extra cleaning, and extra if you don't take out the rubbish or empty the dishwasher and there are signs everywhere telling you this (a pet hate of mine!)

We were charged an extra fee for the cleaning, three days after checkout, despite the fact the unit was not very clean to begin with. When I disputed this, management refused to acknowledge any of my concerns about the state of the unit and became quite abusive.

I would never ever recommend this place. It is possibly one of the worst places I have ever stayed in Noosa.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Indie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Cheap 2 bedroom pooside apartment for AUD $135 a night. The two storey apartment which we stayed is a bit dated in decoration and layout but clean. Could do with new deco and provide more amenities for free (see bad points below).

Its hard to describe my feelings to the place. I don't love it and I don't dislike it. Its bearable for that price and the place is sufficiently large for a family of 4. It is located in a central area and close to Hastings Street and Noosaville.

They also have riverside apartments which is located next to the Noosa River with some sandy beach front. Cost more too. River access is available to the poolside guests. Didn't attempt to swim or play by the riverside. It was a bit cold and my 2.75 yo had a bit of an aversion to water....

Two pools - one is slightly heated but other kids seemed to tolorate the cold. Spa pool is big and warm which is good to soak in after a day of exploring.

Owners/managers were nice and accommodating especially when we arrived past their office openning hours.

Bad points:
The shower is horrible and no pressure at all. Cold water trickled out when my wife turned the water on downstairs.

It's not a serviced apartment and they do not provide extra toilet paper, soap or drink sachets. My wife asked for more coffee and was told this would cost $0.60 each.

Be warned. If you make a mess and don't tidy up or put dishes away or remove rubbish to the wheelie bins be prepared to be charged $45. This is clearly stated on the wall but not on their website.

  • Liked — Cheap accommodation
  • Disliked — The shower (weak pressure) and the lak of extra toilet amenities (toilet paper, soap and towels)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank nzbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloe41, manager at Skippers Cove, responded to this review, May 4, 2009
This guest comments that they were given a cheap 2 bedroom poolside apartment for A$135 per night for a 4 night stay. This was a discount off the rack rate and the guest was in one of our more standard apartments which is now having some renovation work carried out. The guest did not ask at the time of booking for one of our deluxe apartments which of course, would have had a higher tariff. They were aware they were receiving a very good discount.

Our poolside apartments are very spacious. We do have 2 pools and a spa and one of the pools is heated and is heated to at least 29C all year round so I dispute the guest comment of "slightly heated".

We were not advised of the problem with the shower and unless we are told by guests that there is a problem we cannot do anything to rectify this. We would have immediately called a trades person to check shower flow for the guest.

The apartments are not advertised as serviced - they are self contained and guests are advised on arrival that they are supplied with a 'starter pack' which contains amongst other things 2 rolls of toilet paper, 2 bars of soap, tea, coffee, sugar etc. This is standard practice for self contained apartments and guests needs over and above this starter pack are paid for by the guest. Our Arrival Letter that the guest was given states this and in fact the cost of the extra items if the guest wishes to purchase these from Reception rather than inconvenience themselves by going to a supermarket, maybe after hours. Every apartment has a separate laundry with a washing machine and clothes drier for the guests convenience.

It is also quite standard practice to have a notice advising guests of a possible charge if they do not remove rubbish and wash dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Culgoa Point Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Noosa Pacific Riverfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Noosa Harbour Resort
Noosa Harbour Resort
#33 of 140 in Noosa
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Noosa Tropicana
Noosa Tropicana
#5 of 41 in Noosaville
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Resort
Colonial Resort
#3 of 41 in Noosaville
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Munna Beach Apartments
Munna Beach Apartments
#7 of 41 in Noosaville
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skippers Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skippers Cove

Property: Skippers Cove
Address: 8 - 16 Munna Cres, Noosa, Queensland 4566, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Skippers Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skippers Cove Resort is located on the shores of the picturesque Noosa River. Centrally located between Hastings Street in Noosa and Gympie Terrace in Noosaville. A unique family holiday resort offering direct calm water beach access to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Skippers Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing