We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond Forest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best holiday ever”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband, myself and our 3 kids aged 11, 7, and 5 have just spent 3 nights at diamond forest cottages and our only regret was that we didnt book a full week! This place is amazing. Beautiful cottage, perfect size and very neat and clean. Has the most wonderful views. The kids absolutely loved the animal feeding each morning. Actually we all did. Jenny is such a lovely friendly person. She was wonderful with the kids. We also tried fishing (unsuccessfully, tho lots of fun), and canoeing was great. The best part was seeing the kids enjoying the outdoors.We never turned the tv on and the kids didnt touch their dsi's. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    53
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
214
55
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is just perfect! Little self contained cottage in the most beautiful surroundings. The owner is great with the kids, knowledge of the area and animals.
Its peaceful but 5 to 10 mins in the car is 2 quaint villages with shops, cafes etc. It is ideal

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theprices78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My 2 children (16 months and 5 yrs), my wife and I had a fantastic time, even though the weather wasn't so kind. Mark was amazing, so relaxed and informative, happy to chat away and answer all our questions that he probably answers all the time. Each morning we fed the animals and learned all about their personalities and funny foibles (like Wilbur and Charlotte the pigs who like digging holes through the fence). The duck feeding was quite an experience (I wont say too much to spoil the surprise, but it is a unique experience).

However, this is not the place for a long-winded account of our holiday, so I shall summarise:
4/5 cottage was lovely, well kept and neat. All amenities as required
5/5 kid friendly, the gate was a nice thought to keep kiddies in (and sheepies out) and no open fire place was great, saved us going crazy keeping little hands from getting burned.
5/5 for thoughtfulness, large fridge for all our shopping, electric blankets on the beds, reverse cycle airconditioner kept us toasty warm.
6/5 service and friendliness of staff, Mark went above and beyond to make us feel like part of the family.

Only some small gripes, the weather, but Mark said he tried to arrange for warmer weather but the weather person didn't comply.

In all, a very nice place to go and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Great for families especially with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy250912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

5 of us - 3 adults and 2 children (ages 4 and 7) stayed for 2 nights in Lavender Cottage in June. The owners of Diamond Forest Cottages are Mark and Jenny. They are genuinely very warm and hospitable people and we could tell that they truly wanted their guests to feel comfortable.

We were checked in by Mark, who gave us a map and orientated us to where the restaurants and supermarkets were located in Pemberton (15 mins drive away) and Manjimup (10 mins drive away). Coles and Woolworths are located in Manjimup, while Pemberton had a small IGA.

The cottages have 2 bedrooms in them. Ours had a queen bed in one bedroom, and in the other bedroom, we had a king single and a bunk bed. The queen bed in the first bedroom had an electric blanket on it. None of the beds in the other bedroom had electric blankets on them. We were worried about the room being cold at night as there were no heaters in the bedrooms (there is a reverse-cycle air-con in the living area) and my 4 year old is not good about sleeping under the doona. We voiced our concern to Mark, who very kindly (and without hesitation!) provided us with a portable heater and an extension cord for it. Mark also explained why he couldn't put electric blankets on those beds - it was an electric shock hazard for the bunk beds which had metal frames and there wasn't a right-sized electric blanket for the king single.

Really, we need not have worried about the cottage being cold at night. Mark and Jenny had generously installed a huge reverse-cycle air-con in the living area which is strong enough to heat up the entire cottage, bedrooms included!

Animal feeding happens every morning at 8.30am and Jenny encourages the kids to interact with the animals. For instance, the kids carried a lamb (assisted by Jenny) and when my daughter appeared keen to carry a rabbit, Jenny put one in her arms. There were many animals to feed - kangaroos, rabbits, pigs, chickens, ducks, a goat, sheep, an alpaca, cows, a horse, donkeys and miniature ponies. There were also 4 friendly dogs which come out with Mark and Jenny in the mornings during animal feeding. My 7 year old and my husband both had a great time playing fetch with the dogs.

Mark and Jenny are fine with guests feeding the animals (except the miniature ponies, which can eat too much and get sick) during the day with fresh fruits or vegetables. We bought carrots, apples and celery. Jenny had informed us that the rabbits love celery. We found that most of the animals love apples and carrots, but only the rabbits and donkeys ate the celery. So don't buy too much celery!

There are also free-roaming peacocks and chickens which come right up to the cottages and follow us around outside. They are friendly and the kids are always happy for them to walk with us.

There is no Internet and the only (patchy!) 3G signal we got was from Telstra. No Optus nor Vodafone. We were happy to be disconnected from the outside world for a few days!

During our stay there, we had lunch at Millhouse Café and Fizz Café, both in Pemberton. The 2 cafes both had really good food, but are very different. I would highly recommend Millhouse for a quiet lunch with a great ambience and fireplace. Fizz, on the other hand, was much smaller and noisier. Definitely less privacy as the tables are close to one another. I also felt that it was more of a breakfast place. Given the better ambience, Millhouse wasn’t very much more expensive than Fizz.

On our first night there, we bought takeaway pizza from a very unassuming shop named Farmhouse Pizza in Manjimup. It was a couple of doors down from the hotel. We weren’t expecting much of the pizza, but I have to say, they make the best pizza ever! The wait was long though (45mins) and when we got our pizza, we realised why. The ingredients on the pizza were all nicely and carefully laid out on it, none of the simply-toss-the-ingredients-on-the-pizza as you will find in most pizza shops. The slices of pizza were also carefully and neatly cut such that every piece was equally sized! Oh, and while you are there, please order their BBQ chicken wings. They are to die for and simply the best. Forget about the garlic bread though, we felt that it wasn’t spectacular.

In summary, if you are looking for a farmstay where kids can interact with lots of animals (the best in Pemberton/Margaret River region!), or want a cosy comfy cottage, this is it. My husband and I agreed that even though the cottage was not as big and modern (or new) as another farmstay we stayed at during this trip, our best 2 nights of sleep throughout our 2 weeks holiday were here at Diamond Forest Cottages. We will definitely want to come back if we get the chance to. And we’ll definitely want to stay for more than 2 nights. Thank you, Mark and Jenny, for the hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breezergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Diamond Forest Farm is a great place to relax and recharge and we had such a great time there that we’re already planning the next holiday. The place is situated between Manjimup and Pemberton and is very tranquil and picturesque, even in winter. We spent one week there and were the only first time guests. The main reason we chose this place, and not similar ones, were the countless positive reviews and the pet friendly cottages. And pet friendly they are…our dog had the time of his life: he had a big run adjacent to the house and free access to the verandah to find shelter. In the morning he played with the 4 working dogs on the farm, chased some ducks (sorry again for that Jenny!), had a look at the other animals and by 10 am was exhausted and took his nap on the verandah. Later on he would either come with us to explore the area or stay in his run and stare at the cows (yes, he found them very fascinating :). He was allowed to sleep inside at night which he also liked. All up, we were glad we took him with us and did not put him in one of the kennels in Perth. We have a much happier dog now.
Other things we liked about the place: The cottages which overlook the whole farm and the magnificent sun rise, tranquility, the animals and the animal feeding, wildlife, nearby wineries, walks, fresh air, fresh produce, fishing & canoeing (on the farm), and so much more… it never got boring.
One last thing: The host, Jenny, is a lovely lady. She is very helpful and will make you feel welcomed and valued as a guest. Thanks for the lovely stay Jenny. Alina, Sean & Nova

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had a great time at Diamond Forest Cottages with our 2 young children. The highlight was feeding the animals in the mornings, and the surrounds are fantastic. Try to get up early to catch the magical sunrise. Pemberton is a 10-15min drive away, with a great pub.

The cottages themselves are comfortable but basic - slate floors, reverse heater, and timber furniture, with a tiny shower. We rented 2-bedroom unit, which had 2 x single beds in addition to QB. Fully set-up kitchen with microwave. Another family member stayed separately with their dog, which is a great option.

It gets cold in winter, so bring thermals & lots of change for the kids due to mud. Gumboots are a must! Overall, a friendly country accommodation option.

Room Tip: 2-bedroom cottage is good for family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kondinin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have been staying here for a few years now and cannot fault anything :- Mark and Jenny are excellent hosts, the location is superb, the cottages are above excellent and we can't say enough about this place! That's why we have already booked for next years long weekend in June!. A great all round package and we highly recommend anyone to stay here.
Lance and Janine Stuchbury

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
8.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Resort
Forest Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
17.1 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
9.9 mi away
Pump Hill Farm Cottages
Pump Hill Farm Cottages
#5 of 27 in Pemberton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Scarlet Woods Chalets
Scarlet Woods Chalets
#4 of 27 in Pemberton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#3 of 27 in Pemberton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
10.4 mi away
Big Brook Cottages
Big Brook Cottages
#2 of 27 in Pemberton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Forest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Forest Cottages

Property: Diamond Forest Cottages
Address: 29159 South Western Hwy | Middlesex, Pemberton, Western Australia 6258, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Forest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful rural property on the edge of the beautiful tall timber forests in the South West of Western Australia, Diamond Forest Cottages is a perfect holiday retreat in a relaxed rural setting. The changing seasonal beauty of the rural landscape ensures that Diamond Forest Cottages is a picturesque escape at any time of year.The property offers guests a choice of holiday: an active escape to discover the great outdoors around Pemberton and Manjimup; an affordable family farm stay holiday in the comfort and privacy of a quaint home away from home; or simply a relaxing break to renew the spirit and rejuvenate the body.On arrival you will settle in to the privacy and rustic ambience of one of the four fully self contained western red cedar cottages which feature reverse cycle air conditioning, modern kitchen facilities, comfortable beds and picturesque views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Diamond Forest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing