We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rural retreat for all the family including the dog.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond Forest Farm Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Mark and Jenny are the most welcoming of hosts and are genuinely proud to share the property with their guests. We picked this accommodation based on Trip Advisor reviews for a dog friendly place. Its a lovely rural setting with plenty of animals that you can actively be involved in feeding or just gaze on them from your verandah while enjoying a glass of wine. The enclosure at the side of the cottage for our pet was perfect. The verandah also has gates at either end so Lucy our retriever could enjoy the views without reaking havoc with the ducks and other birdlife. Although we don't have children we saw how much the kids staying in the other cottages were enjoying themselves. The daily feeding of the animals and the chance for all the kiddies to be actively involved is fantastic. For the older ones we recommend a hike through the forest directly across the road from the cottages to the famous 51m Diamond Karri tree which can be climbed. Its only a 1hr.30 round trip and well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekker065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Diamond Forest Farm Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 320 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights at Diamond Forest Cottages. It was very nice. Our child had a lovely time. The accommodation is extremely basic. Two bedroom cottages, a little dated but kitchens fairly well equipped. It is disappointing that there are no fires as advertised, but there is a fairly new aircon unit in the living area that quickly heats up the little cottage. There is a newish TV and DVD player, and quite a good little free DVD library in the office.
The bathroom is not really four star more like three but it is very, very clean. Unfortunately there is no bath which is challenging with kids... and water is of course very precious in the area so you do feel that you want to keep the showers to an absolute minimum. Besides, there is no light in the shower. The mirror and vanity unit are actually more like a laundry but all the basics are there. (There is a shared laundry facility onsite btw which could be very handy if you were staying longer and there are individual clothes lines attached to each cottage, complete with pegs - quite useful). Linen and towels are provided. The linen is crisp and very clean but the towels are small and could do with an upgrade (not the most absorbent and quite thin). The toilet paper by comparison though is soft and luxurious.There are no flannels provided so remember to bring your own.
No matter what complaints we might have with the towels though - all linen, towels etc was scrupulously clean (and I have high standards of cleanliness).
Their website and the information provided on the local surrounds is absolutely excellent. Really superlative. So, although there is no food at all onsite, there are lots of local eateries and supermarkets in Manjimup and Pemberton (each only ten to fifteen minutes drive away). You couldn't stay here without a vehicle unless you brought entertainment and every item of food required.
There is no dishwasher but washing up items including tea towel provided. You need to bring all condiments and food of course, plus paper towels, hand towel, milk etc. There is tea and sugar (not milk) but we brought our own. There was no cold water provided in the fridge (although referred to in the guide) but we brought our own and the tap water is fine for drinking. Salt and pepper is provided. There is a very handy BBQ for each cottage - cooking utensils are provided. You might want to bring a torch also.
The owners/hosts, Mark and Jenny, are very warm and friendly, though their knowledge of farming, botany and animals is somewhat limited. It's not a working farm it's more of a hobby farm (ie, they couldn't earn a living from just the farm without the hospitality and will tell you themselves that they are not exactly serious farmers). The property has been on the market for a little while now and one gets the feeling that they're ready to move on despite being lovely warm people who make you feel welcome.
The animals themselves are quite a treat. There are chickens, turkeys, ducks, miniature pigs, rabbits, kangaroos, peacocks, donkeys, miniature ponies, a horse, bull, sheep, alpacca, goats and cows. You are allowed to feed the animals (and the owners don't particularly mind what you feed them - except strangely the pigs) at all times of the day. All the animals have names and are pretty comfortable around people. It's quite good for kids - especially city kids, but don't expect a petting zoo, it's not quite like that.
Overall I would recommend this property to others. Mostly to families wanting peace and a hobby farm experience for the kids. There are many local attractions - many of which are identified on the website and provided on a really useful map that is handed out at check in - extremely good idea. It also highlights many local eateries for those like us who don't really want to be cooking full on meals while away (there are a few so don't be put off by no restaurant on site). Many people are repeat visitors. Would we go back? Possibly. We had a positive experience, though we've discovered some really good petting zoos that provided a great daytime experience and would suit us just as well (instead utilising slightly nicer, more spacious and more centrally located accommodation).
It is very well priced though - affordable and friendly. Thumbs up but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondforest, Owner at Diamond Forest Farm Stay, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

We thank Chelle888 for her detailed feedback on our property and we agree that there is a lot of information that many guests looking to visit our property may find useful, however we wish to note some valid points that Chelle888 has represented incorrectly or unfairly.
At no time have we ever represented ourselves as being a working farm or as providing luxury style of accommodation. We do not believe in "over-selling and under-delivering" and we take pride in providing the holiday that guests expect on arrival after viewing our website. In actual fact we state in our website that we are a hobby farm and not a working farm as such.
It is unfortunate that we have very recently removed the pot belly fires from the cottages for safety and maintenance reasons and our website has not been updated. We do hope to re-install the fires at some stage in the future if it can be organised. In the meantime, the split system reverse cycle air conditioning units keep the cottages beautifully cool in Summer and warm in Winter. The aircon, TVs, stereos and DVD players are all very new and we are constantly upgrading equipment as funds are available. The cottages themselves were re-vamped both internally and externally about 4 years ago, dog enclosures have been constructed on two of the cottages, and gates added to the verandahs at each of the 4 cottages for the safety of young children. Repairs, maintenance and upgrades are consistently on-going for the comfort of our guests.
We have considered installing dishwashers and spas, but as Chelle888 points out, water is a precious commodity in rural areas, especially during the last couple of years.
The vanity in the bathroom is more of a laundry trough however the bathroom is far from "make-do" with decorative pine framed mirror, ceiling to floor tiled shower, modern shower cubicle with glass pivot door and a double heat lamp with timer provides excellent lighting if you press the button before you get in the shower.
A welcome pack of coffee, tea and sugar is provided in the cottage and we ask guests on arrival if milk is required. We prefer to provide a 500ml jug of milk rather than an inadequate number of little sachets in the cottage. We have found that most guests bring their milk with them and people drink so many varieties of milk these days that a lot of milk was wasted by leaving it in the cottages.
A new water clarification/filtration system has been installed for the cottage drinking water within the last 6 months and it is explained to guests during our induction on arrival that the tap water is safe for drinking and there is also a rainwater tank for drinking at each cottage.
There is an outdoor spotlight directly over the barbecue and a small torch in the bottom drawer of the kitchen in each cottage.
We do not profess to be farmers and our first exposure to "farming" was buying the farm 5 years ago. We have learnt a lot about farming (not interested in botany other than weeds and grasses) since buying the farm as a 5 year stepping stone towards our plan to go into mainstream farming in the longer term. We know a lot about our own animals and how to look after them but of course there is always more to learn! Our 5 year anniversary at Diamond Forest Cottages clocks over in May. We love our lifestyle here at the farm and we enjoy sharing the experience with our guests. We are not pushing the sale of the property and it will happen in its own good time.
The animals on the property are hand-selected and raised to be friendly so that our guests can handfeed them and pat them. Insurance prohibits our guests' access to the animal paddocks and we have arranged the farm so that guests can access all animals over the fences quite easily. There is a cuddly animal petting zoo with rabbits, small chickens, a blind duck and miniature pigs. This is a great place for young children to begin to get up close and personal with the smaller animals so that they are not intimidated by the bigger and more active animals around the farm. We do care what is fed to our animals and we encourage our guests to feed bread, fruit or vegetables if they want to feed outside of 9am scheduled feeding time. The pigs are "miniature pigs". If they are overfed their bone structure grows to accommodate the extra weight and eventually they will no longer be miniature pigs.
We are happy to answer any questions about our animals and the farm and we are keen for our guests to enjoy their holiday both at our farm and in the surrounding areas of Pemberton, Manjimup, Northcliffe and Walpole. We appreciate constructive feedback and we encourage our guests to provide this feedback to us during their stay so that we may fix anything that might be lacking. If anyone considering a holiday at Diamond Forest Cottages should require additional clarification of the abovementioned matters they should not hesitate to contact us direct from the details provided on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I've just come back from a three day stay with my 2 and a half year old, who had a ball. Its a great place to have a farm experience for those that have never been on a farm. Feeding time for the animals was great fun, which we did at 9 in the morning. This gave us plenty of time to head out and have a look around the towns in the surrounding area. We came back to the cottages each night to cook dinner and have another wander around to visit the animals in the evening. So quiet and peaceful, I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadarleyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the farm! Mark and Jenny were friendly and helpful. The cottage was clean and cosy and self-contained. Our 4 yr old daughter had a wonderful time with the animals.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eor_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We took our two daughters who are 5 & 2 (and our two dachshunds) to Diamond Forest Cottages for 3 nights and we all had an absolutely fabulous time! As soon as we pulled off the main road and drove down into the secluded bush setting we knew immediately we had found a very special place! We are really picky travellers and I am happy to say that after several disasterous farmstays in Harvey we were thrilled to find a farmstay that was so proffessionally run and maintained with such a down to earth and friendly vibe!! The animals were absolutely GORGEOUS so friendly and healthy!! My personal favourites were the cows and the frogs!! Had a nice relaxing time canoeing around the dam and catching frogs at night! Can highly recommend this for young families with or without pets! Our dogs had a great time snuggled up by the fire at night in the cabin and watching all the animals wandering around during the day! Also have to mention the beds are TOO COMFORTABLE!!!!! Aaahh! We are not going to stay anywhere else except DIAMOND FOREST COTTAGES!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tboult77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had spent a week at Diamond Forest Cottages, had such a wonderful time that we wish we can stay longer! Both Mark and Jenny are very friendly and helpful, patiently answering our endless questions about the farm and animals, recommending us places of interest to visit.
The cottage is spotless and cozy, the fully equipped kitchen makes cooking a dream. The morning feed was our favourite, especially for city dwellers like us, to be given the opportunity to be close to the lovely animals.
Diamond Forest Cottage is perfect as a base to cover South WA and equally great to just relax and enjoy the tranquility. Highly recommended and we'll defintely be back! Thank you so much for an unforgetable holiday, Mark & Jenny!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lian1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We were welcomed warmly by Mark. The cottage was smaller than we expected but more than adequate. Everything we needed was supplied - but we would have preferred larger towels! The location is ideal - right in the middle between Manjimup and Pemberton. Very easy access to wineries and lovely food. Least favourite thing was the water - it tasted very much of iron, still drinkable though. Our favourite things were the lovely warm wood fire, the quietness interrupted only by the sounds of the birds and farm's animals, the bed, which was the most comfortable I've slept in away from home, and the forest, literally across the road where we walked our two dogs along several interesting tracks. All in all a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
8.5 mi away
The Forest Lodge Resort
The Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
182 reviews
17.1 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
494 reviews
9.9 mi away
Pump Hill Farm Cottages
Pump Hill Farm Cottages
#4 of 28 in Pemberton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Big Brook Cottages
Big Brook Cottages
#3 of 28 in Pemberton
110 reviews
6.9 mi away
Scarlet Woods Chalets
Scarlet Woods Chalets
#5 of 28 in Pemberton
93 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#2 of 28 in Pemberton
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Forest Farm Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Forest Farm Stay

Address: 29159 South Western Hwy | Middlesex, Pemberton, Western Australia 6258, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range: $147 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Forest Farm Stay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful rural property on the edge of the beautiful tall timber forests in the South West of Western Australia, Diamond Forest Cottages is a perfect holiday retreat in a relaxed rural setting. The changing seasonal beauty of the rural landscape ensures that Diamond Forest Cottages is a picturesque escape at any time of year.The property offers guests a choice of holiday: an active escape to discover the great outdoors around Pemberton and Manjimup; an affordable family farm stay holiday in the comfort and privacy of a quaint home away from home; or simply a relaxing break to renew the spirit and rejuvenate the body.On arrival you will settle in to the privacy and rustic ambience of one of the four fully self contained western red cedar cottages which feature reverse cycle air conditioning, modern kitchen facilities, comfortable beds and picturesque views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Diamond Forest Farm Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing