We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it at Donnelley Lakes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemberton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Donnelly Lakes Chalets
Mandurah
1 review
“We loved it at Donnelley Lakes”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We recently had a family holiday with our two sons at Donnelley Lakes and absolutely loved it. Our sweet, well appointed chalet was nestled amongst the trees and we were visited daily by fairy wrens and the local duck family.

We sat on our jetty each night to look at the stars and you are guaranteed an amazing view of the night sky here. We took walks around the vast acreage with the owner's dog who always got us home. The wildlife here is abundant and beautiful.

We loved our spa and appreciated the way the owners have made an effort to limit their impact on the surrounding environment.

The owners will greet you with a warm and friendly welcome and will help out with any issues you might have. They happily supplied us with filter coffee when we realised we'd forgotten to bring some and delivered a freshly baked loaf on our first morning. Lovely people.

This is not a destination for those looking for swanky, WiFi hotspot, satelite TV as there is absolutely zero phone reception (another positive!) and no Telly at all. We loved all of this. If you want peace, tranquility, relaxation, nature and a beautiful view then this is the place to be.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was so peaceful and relaxing. It was great not to have any internet, TV or mobile reception. The location was good for the wineries and Pemberton. The spa and fire was lovely. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was reading through some of the comments and was dumbfounded by some of the reviews. My girlfriend and I recently stayed and found the place to be absolutely beautiful. Secluded chalets, wonderful ambiance, beautiful lake, well stocked amenities and great service made this a wonderful trip which we will tell our friends about again and again. I can understand this may not be for everyone, yes you are away from the town of Pemberton, and yes perhaps there is a bit of overgrowth around the place, however, if you want a trip where you will not be disturbed and just want to chill out for a few days in a peaceful, tranquil setting or just relax in front of a roaring fireplace than this place is for you. BTW I think having no mobile range is awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRhodesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

After friends decided to pay for a 3 night accommodation for my husband's 50th birthday gift, we were all disappointed when on arrival the owner made comments jokingly about not allowing their vehicle in because of the make [only 18 mths old], which upset our friends after paying a huge amount of money for 4 of us as a treat due to Easter period.
The chalet was in desperate need of a good general clean with dust, cobwebs over the beds, curtains in need of a wash due to cream lace curtains looking off white from dust & curtain rods full of heavy dust, kitchen verticals splattered with dirt, a hole in the ceiling where we think the fire alarm should have been.
The information advised extra warm bedding to be found in blanket boxes or cupboards but we froze the first night due to none but had a better night sleep after we asked for more blankets etc.
The website stated that our cabin chosen was "perfect for guests who prefer superior accommodation & because it is set slightly apart from the other chalets, this adults only chalet is also popular with honeymooners. Generous in proportions, it also has its own private jetty and lakeside picnic area", unfortunately as soon as we arrived to the chalet to inspect our own private area & jetty there were 2 children fishing on our private jetty & this lasted the 4 days we were there, even after asking for them to leave numerous times to use their own jetty. Even to the point of them throwing rubbish in our area & constantly walking past our chalet down to our private river area. We realize this wasn't the owners fault but surely this is advised to people on arrival of "private" chalets etc but it felt like we had our own children with instead of adults only getaway.
Overall, the owners attempted warm hospitality with a fresh loaf of bread on arrival & made us a lovely warm bed on our second nights stay but really we thought this was very over priced for what we thought was going to be a superior accommodation compared to the quality of numerous chalets throughout OZ which we have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed just last weekend for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! My boyfriend planned it as a surprise getaway for my b'day, and I was impressed from the moment we arrived and were checked in with a homemade loaf of warm bread. The setting is so beautiful & tranquil and a welcome escape from the busy world. Loved the hot tub on the balcony, our own jetty over the lake, kayaking with the ducks, wandering the nature trails, evenings by the fireplace. The owners were exceptionally courteous and caring and Karri Valley Resort is just 10mins down the road for a lovely meal out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Heron Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stunning place. Owners certainly make sure you are well looked after. No skimping on the meals they provide. Everything is clean. Well positioned to heaps of other attractions nearby. Spa is fantastic. Sounds of peacefullness. Lovely walks and the dogs are beautiful. Make sure you spend more than two nights here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonyfindsya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My partner and I just returned from a beautiful 3 night trip to Donnelly Lake Chalets (we had Heron chalet). We enjoyed the experience completely. The log fire - so warm, the lake - so tranquil, the spa - oo la la, the cabin - comfortable (even our little guest marsupial (not a rat) who enjoyed a bite of this and that, especially the cheese & bacon balls with a little bit of butter to go with it, hahaha, was welcome), the surroundings - so quiet and peaceful, and their friendly guide dog shadow - guided us faithfully through the forest walk, and two friendly ducks (we named Jack and Jill, cause they came up the hill). It was a wonderful, quiet, relaxing three days, and I could have stayed a week or more. Yes, maybe it needs a bit of a touch up in spots, but who cares, you go to the forest for peace and harmony, no phone, no TV, and just each other's company. What better way to relax and destress. Loved it. ps, the warm bread on arrival, awesome.

Room Tip: Heron or Teal would be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
1.4 mi away
The Forest Lodge Resort
The Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
178 reviews
9.7 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pemberton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beedelup House Cottages
Beedelup House Cottages
#11 of 27 in Pemberton
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karri Forest Motel
Karri Forest Motel
#4 of 6 in Pemberton
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#3 of 27 in Pemberton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnelly Lakes Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnelly Lakes Chalets

Property: Donnelly Lakes Chalets
Address: Brockman St | PO Box 283, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Spacious, secluded, self-contained 2 and 3 bedroom lakeside chalets in a natural bush setting. All chalets are air-conditioned for summer, have log fires and outdoor heated spas overlooking the main lake. Fully equipped kitchens for self-catering, each chalet has its own barbecue as well as a canoe for paddling on the main lake. Donnelly Lakes is a 100 acre Land for Wildlife property with 1 km of Donnelly River frontage. Bushwalking, archery, canoeing and trout-fishing are just some of the possibilities. Mountain bikes and fishing gear available for hire.Please note that there is no mobile phone, internet or tv reception at Donnelly Lakes.Breakfast hampers and cheese platters can be ordered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing