We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very disappointed"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemberton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Donnelly Lakes Chalets
Reviewed April 4, 2013

After friends decided to pay for a 3 night accommodation for my husband's 50th birthday gift, we were all disappointed when on arrival the owner made comments jokingly about not allowing their vehicle in because of the make [only 18 mths old], which upset our friends after paying a huge amount of money for 4 of us as a treat due to Easter period.
The chalet was in desperate need of a good general clean with dust, cobwebs over the beds, curtains in need of a wash due to cream lace curtains looking off white from dust & curtain rods full of heavy dust, kitchen verticals splattered with dirt, a hole in the ceiling where we think the fire alarm should have been.
The information advised extra warm bedding to be found in blanket boxes or cupboards but we froze the first night due to none but had a better night sleep after we asked for more blankets etc.
The website stated that our cabin chosen was "perfect for guests who prefer superior accommodation & because it is set slightly apart from the other chalets, this adults only chalet is also popular with honeymooners. Generous in proportions, it also has its own private jetty and lakeside picnic area", unfortunately as soon as we arrived to the chalet to inspect our own private area & jetty there were 2 children fishing on our private jetty & this lasted the 4 days we were there, even after asking for them to leave numerous times to use their own jetty. Even to the point of them throwing rubbish in our area & constantly walking past our chalet down to our private river area. We realize this wasn't the owners fault but surely this is advised to people on arrival of "private" chalets etc but it felt like we had our own children with instead of adults only getaway.
Overall, the owners attempted warm hospitality with a fresh loaf of bread on arrival & made us a lovely warm bed on our second nights stay but really we thought this was very over priced for what we thought was going to be a superior accommodation compared to the quality of numerous chalets throughout OZ which we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 51 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed just last weekend for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! My boyfriend planned it as a surprise getaway for my b'day, and I was impressed from the moment we arrived and were checked in with a homemade loaf of warm bread. The setting is so beautiful & tranquil and a welcome escape from the busy world. Loved the hot tub on the balcony, our own jetty over the lake, kayaking with the ducks, wandering the nature trails, evenings by the fireplace. The owners were exceptionally courteous and caring and Karri Valley Resort is just 10mins down the road for a lovely meal out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Heron Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stunning place. Owners certainly make sure you are well looked after. No skimping on the meals they provide. Everything is clean. Well positioned to heaps of other attractions nearby. Spa is fantastic. Sounds of peacefullness. Lovely walks and the dogs are beautiful. Make sure you spend more than two nights here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonyfindsya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My partner and I just returned from a beautiful 3 night trip to Donnelly Lake Chalets (we had Heron chalet). We enjoyed the experience completely. The log fire - so warm, the lake - so tranquil, the spa - oo la la, the cabin - comfortable (even our little guest marsupial (not a rat) who enjoyed a bite of this and that, especially the cheese & bacon balls with a little bit of butter to go with it, hahaha, was welcome), the surroundings - so quiet and peaceful, and their friendly guide dog shadow - guided us faithfully through the forest walk, and two friendly ducks (we named Jack and Jill, cause they came up the hill). It was a wonderful, quiet, relaxing three days, and I could have stayed a week or more. Yes, maybe it needs a bit of a touch up in spots, but who cares, you go to the forest for peace and harmony, no phone, no TV, and just each other's company. What better way to relax and destress. Loved it. ps, the warm bread on arrival, awesome.

Room Tip: Heron or Teal would be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed here in Oct 2011 for our second wedding anniversary. The websites sets this place up as five star luxury. I'd say in the real world, 3 stars at best.
Great location, lovely views, really nice food baskets. However as many other reviewers have stated the place is VERY badly in need of refurbishment. I saw no evidence at all of "extensive" works going on while I was there. On arrival, although clean, the room smelt very strongly of burnt wood, as did our clothes and belongings after we had been there the whole weekend.
The truffle restaurant in Manjimup is worth checking out.
Over priced for what it is, but hey, this is WA..............

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markphillips72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

"We had a great relaxing weekend - even had a trout rise on my line so that capped the day for me against the backdrop of a stunningly etched tree line against the sunset. We sunbathed and drank champagne on the gorgeous jetty - If you want a relaxing, romantic, peaceful, serene and inspiring location then this is spot on. "

thanks Robbie
xxx

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This place is truly amazing. From the moment you arrive ( not many places have warm home baked bread waiting). The hosts John and Lizzie were very helpful and friendly.My partner and i have just spent 5 nights in the "Teal" chalet. The chalet is very comfortable, clean and provides everything you need incuding all the extras. Their is no phone or television reception which was a major factor in making this trip so relaxing. We had our own spa on the balcony overlooking the lake, trees and wildlife plus our own Jetty and canoe. This is definatey the top place i have stayed at and well worth the money. Time realy does stop at Donnelly lakes, We will be back for sure!!
Amy & Shane

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
1.4 mi away
The Forest Lodge Resort
The Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pemberton Hotel
9.7 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pump Hill Farm Cottages
Pump Hill Farm Cottages
#4 of 28 in Pemberton
116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#2 of 28 in Pemberton
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beedelup House Cottages
Beedelup House Cottages
#13 of 28 in Pemberton
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnelly Lakes Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnelly Lakes Chalets

Address: Brockman St | PO Box 283, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range: $184 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Spacious, secluded, self-contained 2 and 3 bedroom lakeside chalets in a natural bush setting. All chalets are air-conditioned for summer, have log fires and outdoor heated spas overlooking the main lake. Fully equipped kitchens for self-catering, each chalet has its own barbecue as well as a canoe for paddling on the main lake. Donnelly Lakes is a 100 acre Land for Wildlife property with 1 km of Donnelly River frontage. Bushwalking, archery, canoeing and trout-fishing are just some of the possibilities. Mountain bikes and fishing gear available for hire.Please note that there is no mobile phone, internet or tv reception at Donnelly Lakes.Breakfast hampers and cheese platters can be ordered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing