We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss bubble”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemberton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Donnelly Lakes Chalets
Melbourbe
1 review
“Bliss bubble”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

"We had a great relaxing weekend - even had a trout rise on my line so that capped the day for me against the backdrop of a stunningly etched tree line against the sunset. We sunbathed and drank champagne on the gorgeous jetty - If you want a relaxing, romantic, peaceful, serene and inspiring location then this is spot on. "

thanks Robbie
xxx

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This place is truly amazing. From the moment you arrive ( not many places have warm home baked bread waiting). The hosts John and Lizzie were very helpful and friendly.My partner and i have just spent 5 nights in the "Teal" chalet. The chalet is very comfortable, clean and provides everything you need incuding all the extras. Their is no phone or television reception which was a major factor in making this trip so relaxing. We had our own spa on the balcony overlooking the lake, trees and wildlife plus our own Jetty and canoe. This is definatey the top place i have stayed at and well worth the money. Time realy does stop at Donnelly lakes, We will be back for sure!!
Amy & Shane

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

A group of friends and i spent a lovely week in Spoonbill cabin. The cabins were spotless, very comfortable and the homemade bread was second to none! We spent our days walking, canoeing, relaxing on the porch or visiting nearby vineyards and similar tourist locations, all the while being completely surrounded by nature. Couldn't have picked a nicer spot, i wouldn’t have wanted to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Spoonbil cabin was nice and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Ever thing is in desperate need of care and an update. The rooms were comfortable and kitchen clean but after one night we had mice and rats. When we reported to the man at reception he disagreed with us saying that we were wrong. We woke the next morning to find droppings everywhere...what more can I say.

We also wanted to use the spa, were very much looking forward to it, only to open the sap and find it smelling of a revolting musty smell. When we queried it with the same man he proceeded to tell us how they use a certain type of chlorine which is more environmentally friendly and is green at times. Well the water was green and the walls of the spa very slimy! He would not clean it for us.

The we wanted to play volleyball only to find out that the entire court had extremely sharp ferns growing throughout it. We looked a little closer, realised we would slice our feet, and noticed he had just gone over them with lawnmower taking no pride in the sandy court.

Then we went down to the lake, very beautiful lake, we had our own jetty which seemed lovely. As my partner stood on the jetty he nearly sliced his foot on a series of broken nails sticking out of the wood of the jetty.

Definitely not a safe place for children and more stress than it was worth.

We left feeling so disappointed. We have trouble getting away and this was meant to be a wonderful relaxing trip something we were in desperate need of. In the end we just had to spend our whole time elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnellyOwner, Owner at Donnelly Lakes Chalets, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We were very distressed to read this review, especially as it is so much at odds with the feedback we get from so many of our guests in our visitor books in the chalets. Since we bought the property in 2007, we have embarked on a (much-needed) continuous program of care and maintenance, including electrical re-wiring and replacement of spas, painting inside and outside the chalets, re-flooring and re-carpeting, new light fittings, new soft furnishings, replacement of solar lights, installation of archery field, and more.
The spa mentioned had been emptied and refilled on the afternoon before the guests arrival, so to suggest it was not clean is quite incorrect.
We have had a constant battle with bracken growing on the volley ball court. The poisons required to kill the bracken are quite toxic so we have tried to avoid using them where possible, and to be honest, as the volley ball court has only been used twice in the 4 years we have been here, it is a low priority.
The jetty repairs are taking place now and should be completed over the next 2 or 3 weeks.
Donnelly Lakes is not brand new so perhaps our "look" is a little old-fashioned - and our maintenance program is limited somewhat by our very high occupancy rates, which includes a very high proportion of repeat visitors and word of mouth recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in the Teal Chalet with friends of ours from the UK. The chalet was spacious, two comfy sofas, a full kitchen, and really spacious comfy bedrooms each with its own en-suite. The beds were large and comfortable enough.
We awoke to bird song each day, with fairy wrens and ducks checking on us frequently! The proximity to the lake was fabulous; we took the kayak out onto pristine waters and felt so alive at at one with nature.
The walks are spectacular too. We saw kangaroos, possums and many, many different bird species.
Close to Pemberton and Manjimup, it's easy to get hold of food provisions, but the nicest thing to chomp your teeth into would be the lovely bread made by the very generous Elisabeth (co-owner of Donnelly Lakes).
The previous reviews who stated that the chalets are not clean, because they found cobwebs, may not have stayed in chalets surrounded by natural bush before - the only spiders we saw in the chalet were 'daddy long legs'. These large but harmless spiders are easily brushed away and a broom is provided!
We loved our stay here, and thank John and Elisabeth for a lovely week. We will be back and have recommended Donnelly Lakes to our friends.

Room Tip: Be prepared - there is no TV signal, no mobile phone signal, and no internet access until Pemberton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

What a fantastic get away and beautiful part of the world, thoroughly recommend staying here... wonderful location, bird life of all kinds abounds - especially splendid wrens, they were even flitting around our feet on the patio of our chalet... the chalets were well appointed with everything you need to be comfortable and the service and advice we received from our hosts was very helpful and appreciated... loved it and would definitely go again... Suzie & Mario - Perth, WA

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthSuzieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The description on the website sounded great, and this place could be wonderful as the setting is so good. However the cabins desperately need an update and a good clean behind the beds! We went to plug in our charger and encountered years of dust. The wood fire didn't work properly and resulted in the cabin filling with smoke so all our clothes stank. The view of the lake was almost completely obstructed by undergrowth. Just a little clearing would have added so much to the view and ambiance. The home baked bread was great, as was the breakfast basket. We felt we were mislead by the website - it's outdated and doesn't give a true picture of it's current state. The owners are pleasant people, but they need to update the place badly. Website should also state that there is no TV or mobile phone coverage there AT ALL, and that it's a long way from any shops. If we'd know we would have come more prepared.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MaryO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnellyOwner, Owner at Donnelly Lakes Chalets, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. The pot belly stove was actually working very well but some people do have trouble lighting fires, which is why we always offer to light them for you should you require assistance. Our offer of assistance in this case was refused - but nobody was forced to have the stove door open, which obviously would result in smoke through the chalet.

The lack of mobile /tv is widely publicised on our web site and confirmaton information - it is out of our control sadly, but most for most people it is one of the main attractions of Donnelly Lakes.

As to the dust, we can only apologise for the oversight. It would have been a maximum of 2 weeks - but during very busy periods these things can happen. We are tightening up our cleaning regime to make sure it does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
1.4 mi away
The Forest Lodge Resort
The Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
178 reviews
9.7 mi away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beedelup House Cottages
Beedelup House Cottages
#11 of 27 in Pemberton
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Trail Chalets
Rainbow Trail Chalets
#3 of 27 in Pemberton
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karri Forest Motel
Karri Forest Motel
#4 of 6 in Pemberton
207 reviews
10.6 mi away
Scarlet Woods Chalets
Scarlet Woods Chalets
#5 of 27 in Pemberton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnelly Lakes Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnelly Lakes Chalets

Property: Donnelly Lakes Chalets
Address: Brockman St | PO Box 283, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Spacious, secluded, self-contained 2 and 3 bedroom lakeside chalets in a natural bush setting. All chalets are air-conditioned for summer, have log fires and outdoor heated spas overlooking the main lake. Fully equipped kitchens for self-catering, each chalet has its own barbecue as well as a canoe for paddling on the main lake. Donnelly Lakes is a 100 acre Land for Wildlife property with 1 km of Donnelly River frontage. Bushwalking, archery, canoeing and trout-fishing are just some of the possibilities. Mountain bikes and fishing gear available for hire.Please note that there is no mobile phone, internet or tv reception at Donnelly Lakes.Breakfast hampers and cheese platters can be ordered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing